Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have read and beautifully written.
Wonderful informative book, if you're interested in popular music. Best book to read for a long time! Well worth the money!
Published 16 months ago by Valerie Hyams

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Skin Crawling Monologue
The problem with Clive Davis is that he's not an interesting person. Nor, despite his tiresome efforts to appear otherwise, is he artistic. Nor is he - ever - funny. When he isn't trying to talk up his A&R talents (em, basically Barry Manilow and Whitney Houston?) he's invariably name dropping in the most irritating, long-winded monologue. He's really a lawyer and in fact...
Published 23 months ago by Dave Tiger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Skin Crawling Monologue, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The problem with Clive Davis is that he's not an interesting person. Nor, despite his tiresome efforts to appear otherwise, is he artistic. Nor is he - ever - funny. When he isn't trying to talk up his A&R talents (em, basically Barry Manilow and Whitney Houston?) he's invariably name dropping in the most irritating, long-winded monologue. He's really a lawyer and in fact the best parts of this book are when he describes deals - the only field, in my opinion, where he's in command - convincing. This is a pig of a book. It's badly written and should have been liberally edited. The introduction is a comical turn off. All I could see as I struggled through it, was his ghost writer gritting his teeth and thinking of the money. I also imagined the publisher shaking his head thinking "oh jeez, hopefully his name will sell copies." Clive Davis doesn't engage in talking, he doesn't really appear interested in other people. He lectures. Everything comes back to him and how grateful some celeb was about some badly told incident.

Imagine a musically challenged, boring egotist talking about how important he was to the music business and you have an idea what this book is like. He's so obsessed with himself, his sense of historical perspective is warped. Just one example: he moans that his predecessor Goddard Lieberson dared to say (during the post Clive era in the mid seventies) that he, and not Clive, had first embraced rock music at Columbia. Which historically is true. Seminal Bob Dylan albums like Highway 61 and Blonde on Blonde happened on Lieberson's watch, 1965-66. But for some unknown reason, Clive Davis talks like he started counter culture - just because he attended Monterey in 1967 and poached Janis Joplin in 1968 - about two years after the whole hippie scene exploded in Los Angeles. Clive Davis was a successful business man of no cultural significance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Endless self serving boring list of artists Davis was involved with, 10 Mar. 2013
By 
John R. Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
500+ pages of self congratulations....total inability to put the record labels and artists he was involved with in any industry context. While rambling on about some unheard of artist, he omits any insight as to why ,for example the Beatles,Bowie, Beach Boys, Madonna,Michael Jackson,etc etc were all elsewhere.
A lawyer by training, specialising in artists contracts, with, his words, particular attention to detail, he orders up a $75,000 kitchen remodel(without an estimate??), does not query the bill with the supplier, asks a fellow employee to look into it, -and is surprised when Columbia fires him ,for expense fraud - the bill having been taken care of by them, apparently. Unbeknown to him. Failed to notice that he had not paid it .So unfair . Not his fault . Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfinishable, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
Nic Garnett (Menlo Park, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Empty and lifeless. Contains very little information that isn't widely available in the public domain. Relentlessly pushes a single, simple theme: nothing, nobody much happened in the last 40 years of pop music unless CD, with his unexplained genius, matched the right song to the right singer. Text is flat and uninteresting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have read and beautifully written., 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful informative book, if you're interested in popular music. Best book to read for a long time! Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing on Lisa Stansfield (one of his biggest worldwide stars in the 90's)??, 5 Mar. 2013
Clive Davis has definitely had an interesting career and lots of that is discussed here.. Interesting anecdotes on Whitney Houston, Alicia Keys, Taylor Dayne, Aretha Franklin, Diane Warren (songwriter) and others.. But I noticed he makes no mention of his relationship with Lisa Stansfield.. I have heard him in other places praise her as "one of my favorite artists" on his roster.. She sold millions of records (in the U.S. and worldwide), had international #1 hits for a decade and was nominated for two Grammy awards, but seemed to drop off after her second album "Real Love".. What fans really want to know is why her third album "So Natural" was never released in the United States.. Even though it was a hit elsewhere.. Sure it wasn't her strongest but it would have been nice to hear more about the rumors that Clive and Lisa strongly disagreed on appropriate material/direction for the artist.. She was able to make somewhat of a comeback with her self titled 1997 album, but once again her 5th album "Face Up" was not released here.. What gives?? Some info on that would have made the book complete.. Also wish he hadn't glossed over 70's star Phyllis Hyman and their reputed "personality clashes" and "creative differences"..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Soundtrack of My Life, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Fowokan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What do you expect from a Music Mogul...almost larger than life in the music industry.
A great read..Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clive Davis, The Soundtrack of my Life, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love this book. The product arrived on time and the content is wonderful.....finding it hard to put this book down. Would recommend to any ardent music lover. It is well written and I cannot find any spelling or grammatical mistakes. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Soundtrack of My Life
The Soundtrack of My Life by Dennis DeCurtis (Audio CD - 19 Feb. 2013)
£38.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews