Customer Reviews


570 Reviews
5 star:
 (432)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In some ways a continuation, but mostly an alternative version of the first novel
‘Walking Disaster’ written by Jamie McGuire is in some ways a continuation, but mostly an alternative version of the first novel ‘Beautiful Disaster’ the author wrote.

In the shortest possible way it can be described as a retelling of previously published novel from Travis perspective, the other main character besides Abby that reader...
Published 9 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I live travis
I really enjoyed bein able t read travis' pov. Just wish the epilogue was a few chapters long to go into more detail because it felt rushed.
Published 19 months ago by LucyLu


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In some ways a continuation, but mostly an alternative version of the first novel, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
‘Walking Disaster’ written by Jamie McGuire is in some ways a continuation, but mostly an alternative version of the first novel ‘Beautiful Disaster’ the author wrote.

In the shortest possible way it can be described as a retelling of previously published novel from Travis perspective, the other main character besides Abby that reader had met on the pages of predecessor. Therefore the very first question is what the book offers new, whether you will like it if you loved the first and did it managed to bring (and how much) new things. And the answer is twofold: yes and no.

The only original and add-on thing compared to the original reader will find inside is ‘Epilogue’ which may seem a bit redundant and too sweet, but still it’s the new material. Also looking on the positive side the reader will be able to find more things about Travis background and his origins, what was happening during fighting in Vegas and how he felt after break-up.

Speaking about the not so good things the novel books for the most part transcribe actions, even the dialogues because of which reader will have a strong sense of déjà vu all the time. Thus is quite questionable how interested the audience will be for another side of the story, but since it was a masculine side and women always want to know how men think I believe that was the reason the author has made this challenging decision for the sequel. Although it must be recognized that this is an imaginative and bold move that is not encountered often.

For those who didn’t read the prequel Jamie McGuire wrote a romantic novel that will be loved by romance lovers, for its theme presenting a bit predictable teenage love but also providing lot of excitement for reader.

The two main characters are Abby who is a modest freshman that sees new school as an escape from the past and good looking, but arrogant Travis, a fighter in illegal fights and the desire of many girls. Abby will not be interested in Travis sweet words, what will increase his interest for her and when she lost the bet, Abby has a month to spend with Travis at his apartment. They two will gradually become good friends, and after some time from their friendship the love will grow…

The recommendation that was said for the original review can be repeated here – both novels can especially be recommended for Fifty Shades of Gray fans, and if you loved the original and start reading with realistic expectations that this sequel actually it is not a sequel, you'll probably also enjoy it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love that this is the same story as beautiful disaster but from his point of view you find your self connecting with both characters because you read both of thier stories i have read them twice and now think all writers should follow suit! i would recommend these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No 1 Alpha Male, 1 Feb 2014
By 
The story that started in Beautiful Disaster from Abby's POV is retold in Travis' POV. I think I preferred this book. It was nice to see what makes the bad boy tick, what floats his boat, what's going on in his head!!

Ms McGuire captured the very essence of Travis and all the dialogue and his thought processes were totally in his character. Not once did I ever think Oh no he wouldn't say or do that. Not many female authors can write a male POV but Jamie did it well.

Loved Travis even more, if that's possible!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth a read!
Took me 2 days to read, could not put the book down!
Read beautiful disaster as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WoW, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you loved Beautiful Disaster, you will love this! i found it awesome Being in Travis’s head was way better than Abby’s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed this book!, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read beautiful disaster last year and could wait for this book to come out and I wasn't dissapointed. Although you know what's going to happen it's still gripping reading it from Travis's point of view. Diff worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 29 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There betta be another one i love this book soo much i also loved the first one from abbys point of view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this within 2 days. Couldn't stop reading because I wanted to no more, very catchy. Easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved Travis POV, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved it. Read it just after I finished BD.
It is the same story, so of course it can sometimes feel like reading BD Again.
But it's from Travis point of view, and i found that a lot of questions got answered from reading it.
I could read this book (and BD) Again and Again.

Let's just say it like this, Jamie definantly got the "male POV" right. It was both funny and a Little sad in some ways.
LOVED IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 24 Jun 2013
By 
M. Arnold "Blue Ice" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first book is Beautiful Disaster, a lovely story that left you wanting more, so when I found out that Walking Disaster was a follow up I couldn't wait to read it. I would recommend it, but have tissues ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking Disaster
Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire (Audio CD - 2 April 2013)
£26.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews