Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Einstein is a true Genius
I too have read quite a few Biographies and what I consider to be the most important quality for one to be successful, is that the work resonates the character of the subject. Reading quotes from the many critics listed, you too will be of those complimenting the amazing work of the Author.

This has to be one of the most intelligently written works I have read...
Published on 7 July 2009 by Mr. M. Hassan

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The right book if you are looking to understand the man behind the myth.
An interesting biography of a very complex man. I found it very difficult to follow all the discussions around relativity, time, space and physics in general, nonetheless I'm sure Isaacson made a great job of describing Einstein's break-throughs in this field.
Easier to read and somehow more valuable are the parts about the private Einstein, the one who never got...
Published on 24 April 2012 by Giovanni Anchois


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the outstanding book! To my understanding most of the brilliant minds, have disturbed family life, why is that I don,t know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The life of a Genius, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Walter Isaacson the President of the Aspen Institute and autor of Steve Job's Biography didn't disaponted me once more. This is another great book and we can call it a Travel through Einstein's Life. It's a real plasure to meet Einstein my fellow public servant and Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The right book if you are looking to understand the man behind the myth., 24 April 2012
By 
Giovanni Anchois (Milan, ITALY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An interesting biography of a very complex man. I found it very difficult to follow all the discussions around relativity, time, space and physics in general, nonetheless I'm sure Isaacson made a great job of describing Einstein's break-throughs in this field.
Easier to read and somehow more valuable are the parts about the private Einstein, the one who never got around to visit his very sick son and that only in later age managed to establish a reasonable relationship with his elder son. What comes out from this lengthy biography is the picture of a difficult man, aloof from every day's practical priorities and bent to to find a mathematical demonstration of his theories. A man fundamentally incapable for most of his life to show love and affection for anybody, not even his closest relatives, yet incredibly sharp in appreciating and postulating formidably difficult problems. Extremely well documented, this book manages to correct some of the myths associated with Einstein - such as his role in the development of the nuclear bomb or his controversial relationship with the Jews and the state of Israel. Isaacson does a great job to provide insights into less known happenings in Einstein's life, like his love for publicity hidden behind a not completely genuine - and much stereotyped -behavior of the wild haired genius who prefers to work alone in his attic studio. Some readers will be disappointed, but I think Isaacson does justice to the man, to detriment of the myth. At over 700 pages, a long and at times tiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 27 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Buy this book. Incredibly well written and researched. Everyone should read about Einstein, out of all the books that I have read, this is by far the best. Apart from his own works. Looked forward to going to bed with Einstein every night. Inspiring, wonderful man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and informative, but too opinionated, 4 Jan 2011
If you want to learn about Einstein's science and aren't afraid to get technical, then "Subtle Is the Lord" by Abraham Pais is far superior. That being said, I really enjoyed Isaacson's contribution, because it does an unpalleled job of putting you in the role of spectator of Einstein's personal life, not just his scientific career. From reading this book I became so familiar with Einstein's singular personality that by the end I almost felt as if I had lost a good friend.

This was a thrilling read, and is a superb database of Einstein quotations, but I'm rating it four stars instead of five as punishment for Isaacson's obnoxious habit of assuming that he knows better about physics than the 20th century's greatest physicist. This becomes most annoying when Isaacson turns to the subject of quantum mechanics. He simply does not do justice to the sheer depth and complexity of Einstein's views on quantum mechanics. Many physicists studying foundational problems in quantum mechanics believe that Einstein was almost the only voice of reason amid the confused and confusing babble of Copenhagen obscurantism. (See John Bell and Peter Holland if you want examples of such physicists.) Isaacson writes off the old Einstein as basically stubborn and reactionary. This could hardly be further from the truth given the exotic ideas that Einstein routinely played with in seeking his unified field theory. (For instance, he tried to account for wave-particle duality in terms of point-like solutions of field equations. This isn't evidence of a man eternally wed to naively outdated conceptions of physics.)

As a supposed example of Einstein's reactionary philosophy of physics, Isaacson cites Einstein's belief that physics ought to be simple. Einstein has been proved wrong, says Isaacson, by the large taxonomy of particles, many of which were discovered after Einstein's death. Actually, it's Isaacson who is mistaken, because simplicity of principles is one of the central attractions of quantum field theory, the subject which underlies the Standard Model. The messy jungle of seemingly arbitrary particles is only a superficial, incidental manifestation of the deeper amd much simpler truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and Enlightening, 17 Nov 2007
By 
Alojz Kajinic (Carnegie, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Walter Isaacson did an excellent job writing this well-researched, inspiring, and enlightening biography of Albert Einstein. The book was a great joy to read.

I was very pleased with the way how relevant concepts, theories, principles, notions, and experiments were introduced and explained in the book (e.g., the equivalence principle, relativity of simultaneity, the Michelson-Morley experiment, Newtonian notions of absolute space and time, etc) as well as the amount of space that was given to other physicists whose work had an impact and influence on Einstein's own work (e.g., Plank, Bohr, Lorentz, Minkowski, etc).

The importance of independent thinking and imagination, and having the courage to abandon the conventional wisdom when necessary, was illustrated with many great examples throughout the book (e.g., Newtonian notions of space and time). Einstein was even greater genius than he is thought to be. His ability to come up with such ingenious thought experiments and see their many far-reaching implications on physical reality was truly astonishing.

To my delight, the book is also full of great stories illustrating Einstein's sense of humor. My favorite story was the one that described his response to Women Patriots after they had petitioned for denying him a visa to enter the United States. His evocation of the geese that once saved Rome gave me the biggest laugh of all.

This book is well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived in time and well protected, 26 Jun 2014
It arrived in time and it was well protected. I had some troubles in december with other orders, but this one didn't disappoint me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The human side of a genius, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading this I really feel that understand Einstein as a person. Not only does it give insight into what contributed to his genius and willingness to challenge conventional wisdom, you also meet the man as a colleague, son, husband, father, friend and perhaps adversary. You understand where the caricature of the absent-minded professor originates, but you also see him in the role of willing celebrity and campaigner for human rights and free speech. The book is long but written in a very engaging style. I can commend it to anyone who wants to understand more about Einstein as a person, not just the guy who unlocked the key to the universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars einstein, 9 April 2014
By 
Mr. Moshe Elias (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
walter isaacson is the epitome of biography writers. marvelous prose and lucid insights into the life of a most remarkable man. even the difficult aspects of relativity are made clear for the uninitiated reader. not easy to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well-sourced and authoritative biography of Einstein, 13 July 2013
By 
Roger (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This proved to be an interesting and very complete biography of Einstein, with sources listed for all key facts. Perhaps it was a trifle too long in parts, resulting in me skimming some sections, but it provides a remarkable insight into the life and the times of this great physicist. Whilst I had prior knowledge of Einstein's scientific work, I had not appreciated other aspects of his life, including his troubled relationships with his first wife and his children from that marriage, nor had I understood the extent of the anti-semitism to which he had been subjected, nor his celebrity status, whereby the press hung on to his every word. As well as detailing Einstein's life, Walter Isaacson also does a sound job of explaining, in simplified terms, the background to much of Einstein's scientific endeavours, including quantum physics, relativity, and his unsuccessful search for a unified field theory to unite gravitation with electromagnetism. I learned a lot about Einstein from this book and Isaacson brought him alive in terms of his personality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Einstein: His Life and Universe
Einstein: His Life and Universe by Walter Isaacson (Audio CD - 8 Nov 2011)
10.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews