Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars10
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
2
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 January 2015
A nice easy listen, with some excellent lessons, and moves at a good pace. A good introduction to the works and philosophy of Zig Ziglar.
Some reviewers have commented that the material is old, or outdated. I disagree. You have to see it in its original context, and update some of the references in your head as he's talking, but the concepts he touches on are as valid now as when he made the recordings. Similar to great works such as Think and Grow Rich, the material here has stood the test of time: it's not fly-by-night, trendy claptrap riding the wave of the latest trend of BS, it's the good, solid basics.
Other reviewers have also complained that Zig sees the world through the eyes of being a practicing Christian. Well, yes he does! That's who he was, that's what he talked about, and that's what he based his principles on. At least he's true to himself. If you don't like that sort of thing, he's not the man for you! Personally, I think he explains what he's saying very well. A reviewer has said that he preaches against the evils of rock music! But listen more deeply, and extract the principles from what he's saying and what he advises against, and you'll get the maximum value from the recordings.
Worth listening to for a second or third time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2011
Zig Ziglar at his usual inspiring best. Some old material - but if it was great the first time around then it is good to know the advice is worth listening to again.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Brilliant, really motivating as always.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
perfect gift for christmas
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Listened to it 20+ times now everyday I listen to track 3, So much inspiration and motivation on one CD... 1 Word.. BRILLIANT
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Very good!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
The ramblings of a Christian madman - one topic is about the evil of Rock music... I rest my case :D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
This is probably the strangest motivational CD I've ever bought.

Package is two CDs each lasting about 50 minutes. These are actually motivational talks given over 30-40 years ago, from the dates in the talks I'd say late 70's to early 80's and, unfortunately, they do come across as pretty dated.

The first CD is generally about self awareness and self valuation, the second primarily about goal setting.

Mr Ziglar was (he died in 2012) definitely a charming man, and talks with charisma and enthusiasm. Unfortunately his accent is a loud evangelical southern preacher drawl (think a hyper reverend Lovejoy from the Simpsons.. really). He's also devoutly religious, and when I say religious I mean full on bible thumping Christian; there is no acknowledgement given - apart from a few snide remarks about how hot it's going to get - to anybody of any other faith. To my heathen English ears this makes the CDs rather painful and awkward to listen to.

Incidentally they try to liven up this ancient material with a more recent initial conversation between himself and his son, who sounds unfortunately like Kermit the Frog. My mental picture was more interesting than the content during that bit.

With the age of the material there are also somewhat sexist attitudes that come across, e.g. don't those women just love those beauty salons? Also, some frankly just plain weird comments, such as rock music being one of the two greatest dangers to US life and how you should make sure your children don't listen to its secret language. My favourite warning was that if you let your kids smoke when they're 12 then they're much more likely to become drug users in later life.

As for actual use, well.. there is some quite nice methods of self appreciation and valuation, good common sense stuff about breaking tasks down and time management. Really, this may have been revolutionary 40 years ago, now not-so-much and done better by others. I'm not saying there aren't worthwhile points but you really have to do a lot of painful mining to get to those diamonds.

Overall, as a historical document this CD has some merit. For motivational uplift and for helpful advice, unless you happen to share Mr Ziglar's attitudes from five decades ago there is better and easier to consume information available elsewhere.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
I have read quite good recommendations about Zig Ziglar. But I was not very impressed with this audio CD. The information provided are overage - very well known to everybody who has spent some time on personal development. But what I found really distractive what the voice of Zig Ziglar - which I found on some places just annoying to listen.....Also he is using a tool 'repeating certain words' to make them stronger....but he just overusing it. Therefore to get a message from the voice which is really hard to listen to.....is not simple.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse