Customer Reviews


698 Reviews
5 star:
 (351)
4 star:
 (157)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (48)
1 star:
 (59)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angels and Demons
Everywhere there is suspicion of conspiracy. What might be offputting to some readers is the extravagence of the violence towards inncent victims, but then again it is no different to in the other books. This particular story finds demons emerging out of religion and inhabiting a select group of scientists, the Illuminati, a group supposedly long disbanded, but appearing...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Isaac-E

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Drivel
I started reading this book and thought to myself, I've been here before and indeed i had. This book feels like a poor replica of the Da Vinci code. It has almost the same plot. Professor and girl (who has had friend/relative murdered). They follow clues to the Vatican. Solve the clues. Professor goes in secret Vatican crypt where he has never been before, (yes he has in...
Published 16 months ago by Stuart Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angels and Demons, 14 Jun 2012
Everywhere there is suspicion of conspiracy. What might be offputting to some readers is the extravagence of the violence towards inncent victims, but then again it is no different to in the other books. This particular story finds demons emerging out of religion and inhabiting a select group of scientists, the Illuminati, a group supposedly long disbanded, but appearing in a very dangerous form. There is adventure, even impossible adventure, a hero and heroine, and even romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Da Vinci Code?, 9 Jan 2004
By 
d m may (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angels and Demons (Paperback)
It might be, but barely. The Da Vinci Code also gets a well deserved 5 stars, too.
A breathless adventure, a tour of Rome, some Science, some Art, some Religion, all meticulously pitted against each other. The reader learns some lessons about all three, learns how these things are so integral to the story, but is never patronised.
The best thing about Brown's books, especially the books with Robert Langdon, are that before you start the story he basically writes "this is true, that is true, all Art mentioned is fact, all technology mentioned exists, all the history is true, all I've done is made woven a story around FACT". Sure, Brown has his critics, maybe he is a bit of a drama queen at times, but prove to him, prove to the reader, that this story couldn't happen. You can't, and THAT's what makes it such a ride! Despite all the seemingly far-fetched goings on, there is always a niggle in the back of your mind saying "this is true, that is true (etc)...". Again, tell me why this story couldn't happen in real life?
Special mention goes out to what he does with the map of Rome. He makes a trail for Langdon to follow and the way he does it is genius, absolute genius. This trail is what makes the story for me; what he is describing (without revealing any of the story) are statues that Roman churches have, and how they relate to each other. It is quite incredible how he has managed to weave a 500 year old trail out of this but it is all believable because, like he says at the start, "everything described in this book is fact". The result of this trail is pure fiction - or is it? If you went to Rome today you could see the exact trail that Langdon took and follow it. You would see everything Brown describes, exactly as he describes it, it's unnerving. Magic!
The Da Vinci Code follows this book. I recommend it strongly, although would argue that Angels and Demons just pips it. Apparently Brown's third Langdon book is based in Washingon and is based on the Masons...Everybody get your dollar bills out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Drivel, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Stuart Barrett "chaderoonie" (herts england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started reading this book and thought to myself, I've been here before and indeed i had. This book feels like a poor replica of the Da Vinci code. It has almost the same plot. Professor and girl (who has had friend/relative murdered). They follow clues to the Vatican. Solve the clues. Professor goes in secret Vatican crypt where he has never been before, (yes he has in the Da Vnci code). mustn't remove anything but he does.(See Da Vinci Code) All too familiar plot weak characters and too obvious ending. A waste of Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE......................., 28 Jun 2009
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
This is the first book I have read of Dan Browns and I have to admit I found it entertaining.
The late Cardinal Hume wrote that science is not the enemy of the church. Wonder if DB knew this, because that is the book's plot.
It never ceases to amaze me how ubiquitous university lecturers such as Indiana Jones and Robert Langdon get into these fixes and come out squeakily unscathed at the other end.
On the negative side, it is far too long. 200 dry pages of physics before we get into the story for real. The idea of a scantily clad damselle physicist running around the Vatican made me cringe a bit. She must have been freezing in all those underground passages. And he did drag out the adventures of the Camarlengo, who was a wonderful character and who at one point moved me to sobs - the writing was so beautful. 100 pages before the end, I thought the book was finished, but no, he dragged it out a bit further.
In all fairness, Mr Brown does his research thoroughly, but then he changes it to suit himself. This of course necessitates endless debate and TV documentaries pointing out the true stories after the controversy Mr B. has created.
However, it is a good book and I am told the movie is brilliant - better than DVC.
At least in has convinced me that I must visit Rome some day. It will do wonders for tourism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter utter juvenile garbage!, 11 Dec 2004
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
It would be quite reasonable to believe that reviewers who rave about this book and this author have never read anything of merit. Otherwise why on Earth would they laud this juvenile twaddle to the skies? Okay, a casual glance at the advertising blurb suggests an interesting story line - so one buys the book: only to be thoroughly disappointed! The hero, if you believe he justifies the accolade, is a bumbling, uncharismatic, uninteresting, sexless incompetent, who, inconveniently, manages to remain alive through a series of increasingly unbelievable escapades: this, despite the best efforts of a dastardly villain, and his minnions and then only through the efforts of the heroine who, for some perverse reason does her best to entice the twerp into bed. The book ends at that point so we never find out whether or not she awakens the following morning to realize the dire mistake she has made.

A few pages in and it soon dawns that what the author actually had in mind when he perpetrated this offence to rational thinking was a film contract. He even has the temerity to suggest that his 'hero' resembles Harrison Ford! "Harrison, don't do it! You don't need the money and, in any case, Rowan Atkinson in Mr Bean mode would suit the part pefectly!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An air of questionality about this book, 9 Mar 2005
By 
Cookies (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
Well, the plot is great, the general framework of the book is fantastic. The storyline and the way it develops through the book has no flaws. And thats how the book earns its three star rating. Where the stars stop coming is the literature Brown uses during the book and the way the ending is brought about. After all the breath taking pulse rating action through the middle of the book, the ending is lax and quite unbelievable.
(....I'm going to spoil the book for you now....) A priest having a son would never happen, plus the camelengo to the pope having access to St. Peters tomb, when it is sealed and open only by the request of the pope. And finally a man of the church would know that killing is wrong so the death of the popes by a priest himself is just stupid.
This book let me down after such an incredible build up, your mind is literally wondering whats next and why and who is the behind the plot against the vatican. And then when you find out and the several pages of random dialogue that follow the revelations.
Buy this book for the storyline and the excitement then put it down about fifteen pages from the end.
Da Vinci is no way near this book. Buy that instead. Or read this book BEFORE the Da Vinci Code
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Angels and Demons - Dan Brown, 9 Feb 2006
I think the success of Angels and Demons as well as The Da Vinci Code relies on the amount of actual facts that Dan Brown collected, before putting a story together. However, having a religious background, I was able to amuse myself at some of the fact-twists, which didn't convince me in the least. The amazing thing is how the writer has managed to cause so much controversy amongst the masses through his style of writing. I actually liked Angels and Demons better than The Da Vinci Code, but I couldn't quite pinpoint why. Sometimes, is just better to keep things totally fictional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for fans of the Da Vinci code, 9 Jun 2005
By 
dbean104 (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
Most people reading this will have already read the authors more famous publication: the Da Vinci Code. From the moment you pick up this book the similarities are obvious, the same lead character, the same phone-call-in-the-night start etc. However, once you have read the first few chapters it is apparent that this book is completely different.
Anyone who was captivated by the puzzles and clues in the Da Vinci Code will be equally satisfied with Angels and Demons. Like the Da Vinci Code this is a particularly intellectual book and you will be educated while reading it, although this time not about the works of Da Vinci, but instead particle physics and Roman churches. Once again the level of research carried-out by the author in order for the book to contain as many facts as possible is astounding. My main criticism is that where the Da Vinci Code was believable in most places, the plot of this book becomes rather far-fetched, especially towards the end.
If you enjoyed the Da Vinci Code read this, if you have yet to encounter Dan Brown's books then this is also a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a lazy weekend, 14 Oct 2005
By 
Linda Oskam "dutch-traveller" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
Robert Langdon, the Harvard professor who is also the main character in The Da Vinci Code, is asked by the director of CERN, to help solve the murder of one of its scientists, an Italian priest annex physics wizard who is found dead with an eye missing and a mysterious symbol branded on his chest. At the same time a new technology that may lead to widespread destruction is stolen from CERN. Together with the adopted daughter of the priest Robert travels to Rome to try and solve the riddle that involves the infamous Illuminati brotherhood, a secret society seeking to destroy the Roman Catholic Church. Right at that moment the cardinals of the church are trying to elect a new pope and Robert and Vittoria chase the murderer around Rome in a race against the clock to prevent the annihilation of Vatican City. But all is not what it seems to be and the main danger comes from within Vatican City...

This book again contains the themes that made Dan Brown world famous: secret codes, ancient brotherhoods and a serious threat to mankind and its institutions. Not as good as the Da Vinci Code, but still a nice book to read that never gets dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the greatest mystery is why..., 28 Jun 2009
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
I read this book a number of years ago, and now that it's a movie (and possibly due to the fact that the Da Vinci code was on TV recently) I thought I should try and articulate my thoughts on this phenomenon.
In short, it can be summarised as follows, I just don't get it!
Angels and Demons (like the Da Vinci code, lets leave the others out of this discussion) has an interesting start and central story...a historical conflict between science and religion, (the Illuminati and the Roman Catholic Church).
Ok so far, where I do have issues with D. Brown books is their endings, which are examples of where the author seems to have got tired with his book and decided that anything will do.
This annoys me as a reader, as just when I get into a book, a naff ending ruins it (the prime example of this in my opinion is Hannibal).
So in short, this is not the worst book I've ever read, but please lets be realistic and put Dan Brown's novels in perspective. They are mediocre summer reading, nothing more.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angels & Demons
Angels & Demons by Dan Brown (Audio CD - 14 Sep 2010)
£11.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews