Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guidance is Internal, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration) (Paperback)
I was 13 when men first walked on the moon and, surrounded by Airfix models of the Saturn V and Apollo spacecraft, and every book I could find on the subject, I followed each mission avidly.

Now aged 56 (and still surrounded by models and books!), I have not lost my interest in what was probably the greatest human adventure and technical achievement of all time. The sheer audacity in attempting such a feat using 1960s technology may be lost on some of today's blasé younger generation, for whom it is `just' history or, for the ludicrously ignorant, even a hoax.

W. David Woods's book is a tour de force on the subject and absolutely essential reading for any Apollo enthusiast, taking you through every sequential step of a mission, in great detail, from pre-launch to recovery. It explains the technicalities and jargon clearly for the layman, with numerous illustrations and diagrams, so that by the end of the book you almost feel as if you have flown it yourself.

In his Foreword to the book, David R. Scott (Commander of Apollo 15) describes it as 'This exceptional book'. Enough said.

It is the best book I have read (and I have read many) on the `nuts and bolts' of Apollo and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walk on the Moon...yourself, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration) (Paperback)
I have read this book and immediately became very sad. The reason was that book has ended while I wish I could continue the challenge together with all these brave and brilliant people who was part of this miracle project.
I mean it - this book makes it very easy for you to imagine how you would feel in astronaut's shoes. The book has a great effect of presence and participation in the action.
Strongly recommended for all fans of space technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Scott wrote the Forward ........(Apollo 15 Commander), 21 Dec 2011
By 
andrew bateman (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration) (Paperback)
Because these `independent' reviews are so useful I thought I'd do mine.

`How Apollo Flew to the Moon' is given instant credibility because Apollo astronaut David Scott wrote the Forward and for space fans do you need to know anything else? It follows a complete Apollo mission and is written like a text book in that the Chapters contain lots and lots of `sub' Chapters which enables you to read a bit, put it down for a while and then easily pick up the story up again. I can get lost and bored with some books but this is immensely readable.

It is an excellent book if you like all the Technical and Engineering information about all the hardware and has lots of sketches photographs and photos astronauts took on the moon. But don't be put off by that because there are loads and loads of the conversations between the astronauts as well!

Something I've always wondered about is how from blasting off the moon the Lander was able to find the Service Module? Well all the information about navigation trajectory and burns is here. There are even two pages of definitions for all the LM computer programs.

Most importantly there are loads of new facts, like I never knew they carried a radioactive cylinder which was taken off the outside of the LM on the moon and then placed in the ALSEP so providing its electricity.

Finally and most importantly if you ever have those tiny (2.am and in bed) nagging doubts like "did we really go to the moon?" then this emphatically answers the question. America DID put a man on the moon, who walked about its surface and then came home safely........not for the idiots who think it was all a hoax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 11 Sep 2012
By 
Daniel H. Clapham (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. It does suffer from a lot of acronyms but that is no reason to be put off. The voyage to the moon is amazing considering the technology that was available in the 1960s. At times you feel that you are actually with the astronauts in the Apollo spacecraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technically Amazing, 6 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration) (Paperback)
What a great read. As the author states, by far the majority of books about space missions look at them from the exploration or astronaut point of view.
Having a text that examines the technical requirements and innovations made to enable man to walk on the Moon in one book make a refreshing change.
As a military aircraft engineer living in the UK, where engineering is under appreciated, its great to see the engineer rightly indentified as the individuals who made the Moon Landings possible.
Well done W. David Woods and Springer Praxis Publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 Oct 2011
This review is from: How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration) (Paperback)
How can such an excellent book become even better? Have Dave Woods write a second edition! Just received my copy, and, having read the first one (which I'm still rating one of the best books ever written on Apollo), I'm really amazed about the improvements that come with the second edition: more detail, more facts, more colour, and still easy to understand and a fun read. Congratulations!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There and back again, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration) (Paperback)
Travel to the Moon and return to Earth with this informative book which serves as an insightful guide into the technology, procedures, imagination and know-how that made it possible for humans to explore the lunar surface in the late 60s and early 70s.
All crucial aspects of those remarkable voyages are explained in concise detail, along with a plethora of incidental nuggets that many will not have heard about before.
It should be noted that, from time to time, the text does delve into technical "nuts-and-bolts" complexity, and this may leave the layperson (me) scratching his or her head wondering: "Am I really understanding this?..." - But on the whole this is a user-friendly and educational sourcebook about Earth-to-Moon spaceflight and the amazing accomplishments and discoveries of Project Apollo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine book ., 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration) (Paperback)
A fine book and very worthy addition to the Apollo library, written with great enthusiasm for the subject. Easily understandable text and this new edition has a better sprinkling of illustrations and diagrams.superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Apollo Flew to the Moon (Springer Praxis Books / Space Exploration)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews