Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to astrophotography
This book is an excellent introduction to astrophotography and shows just what amazing astro images you can take with very simple and cheap equipment. The author's own images of the moon are stunning and have all been taken with modest equipment. Step by step he shows you how to use standard digital cameras to take amazing images yourself. I would recommend this book to...
Published on 19 April 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Really sorry to offer lower rating than others
The series is great and I had high hopes for this positively-reviewed book, but unfortunately just cannot be that upbeat. The text is generally pretty solid, as long as you expect it be be positioned as a book for relative newcomers. I really liked the several points of encouragement to just get stuck in & enjoy, and not get hung up about complex equipment. I think too...
Published 9 months ago by G J C


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to astrophotography, 19 April 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Orpington, Kent, UK.) - See all my reviews
This book is an excellent introduction to astrophotography and shows just what amazing astro images you can take with very simple and cheap equipment. The author's own images of the moon are stunning and have all been taken with modest equipment. Step by step he shows you how to use standard digital cameras to take amazing images yourself. I would recommend this book to anyone looking to take astro images on a shoestring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to Photograph the Moon and Planets with your Digital Camera, 1 Nov 2006
This very practical volume, by amateur astronomer Dr Tony Buick, does all it says in the title - and much more. The reader is encouraged to snap away merrily, taking advantage of the Moon's wobbles, to capture unusual shots that would even have 'wowed' Galileo.

Useful extras are tips on image improvements, and summaries of the various theories of the origins of the Earth & Moon, and the moons of other planets. Regions & craters on the Moon are listed and superbly illustrated, as are lunar landings, transits & eclipses.Locals will be delighted at the inclusion of the Otford Planetary Model, which now extends around the World. Publication in paperback version is timely,

as the race for the Moon is renewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... As the Moon is seen from all parts of the world..., 26 April 2006
By 
Arthur (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
Regards from Russia. Great book for everyone! It gives not only the knowledge of how to photograph the Moon, but also attracts with its high quality photos that are available aplenty in the book. Photos are so detailed that could be used for deep investigation of the Moon. The manner of writing makes the book easy to read. As the Moon is seen from all parts of the world ;;))may be it would be good idea to translate the book to other languages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...excellent and very interesting book..., 6 April 2006
I live in Estonia and have just purchased this excellent and very interesting book. The author fascinatingly and simply introduces, step by step, a technique for photographing the Moon with a normal digital camera. The hundreds of pictures shown are wonderful and I hope to be able to use this technique to obtain the pictures for myself. I will now be buying this amazing book for my friends, as gifts, to encourage them also to take detailed photographs with their normal camera. This is a book for anyone, not just astronomers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good advice from starting from page 1, 22 April 2007
By 
What I really like about this book is that on the first night of picking it up I was able to take some good picture of the Moon and Venus (landscape type picture since they were close together). The other aspect is the detail of items to search for on the moon, this is good cause my telescope is only 80mm and really the moon is the only decent object to view (apologies to experts of imaging with webcams). So rather than be-moan the lack of technical equipment I can focus my efforts on something that is achievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for beginner's Lunar photography, 28 Mar 2006
Fascinating book with fantastic images! It's simple to follow and helps you obtain your own impressive pics. Makes it worthwhile standing outside in the cold night air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical,interesting,stunning visual aids, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
As a complete amateur as far as photography and the moon and planets are concerned, I found this book fascinating. It is written in language that one can understand and the visual aids carry one along to try out the suggestions for observing and photographing the moon in particular. I genuinely reccommend this book for young and old alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Really sorry to offer lower rating than others, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Photograph the Moon and Planets with Your Digital Camera (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
The series is great and I had high hopes for this positively-reviewed book, but unfortunately just cannot be that upbeat. The text is generally pretty solid, as long as you expect it be be positioned as a book for relative newcomers. I really liked the several points of encouragement to just get stuck in & enjoy, and not get hung up about complex equipment. I think too often books (and people) can focus on equipment, overshadowing what it should be used for.

Where this falls short is the photos. A few are in colour and yes, I know black and white dominants the night sky (hence the book). But for a book at this price, it is just poor to have so bad a resolution and magnification that quite a lot of the pictures (and hence book overall) has pictures where you struggle to see anything. This is not a concise, low-cost book, presumably in part due to the number of pages with ho-hum photos.

Hence my sorrow in not being more supportive in the great cause of getting people interested in astronomy. I believe the text has been updated in this addition, but overall, there are now better choices out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Photograph the Moon and Planets with Your Digital Camera (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
was bought as a present and he loved it, said it had everything he needed for a beginner. and to start experimenting :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My husband chose this..., 21 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Angela Hilton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Photograph the Moon and Planets with Your Digital Camera (The Patrick Moore Practical Astronomy Series) (Paperback)
I thought it looked quite heavy going but apparently it has everything you need to take photographs of the stars etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews