Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howling Success
A collection of fifteen new werewolf tales by some of the bestselling authors of the genre.

Charlaine Harris's, Sookie Stackhouse character is treated to a very special Christmas present thanks to a bit of meddling by her fairy prince of a great-grandfather in Gift Wrap.

Carrie Vaughn picks up the adventures of radio talkshow host Kitty as she runs...
Published on 26 Oct 2008 by shaz17

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolves, Vampires, Romance...
I rather enjoyed the short stories in this book, although-as ever-some were better than others. A particular favourite was Charlaine Harris's "Dracula" story and Karen Chance's story-well, it has Werewolves in it, but the central character is rather hard to explain. Lets just say she has Were blood and no love life. Essentially, a good read with entertaining stories all...
Published on 23 Jan 2010 by Jon Doe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howling Success, 26 Oct 2008
By 
shaz17 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A collection of fifteen new werewolf tales by some of the bestselling authors of the genre.

Charlaine Harris's, Sookie Stackhouse character is treated to a very special Christmas present thanks to a bit of meddling by her fairy prince of a great-grandfather in Gift Wrap.

Carrie Vaughn picks up the adventures of radio talkshow host Kitty as she runs into a terrified werewolf Christmas Eve at a Waffle Shack. The two team up to hunt a psycho in Il Est Ne while Kitty teaches David how to control his wolf nature enough to be able to live among humans again.

Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson series will enjoy The Star of David that pits an honorable werewolf against a vampire looking to exterminate an exceptional young man and in the process, heals an old rift with his daughter.

SA by J.A. Konrath that casts Santa and his helpers in a terrifying new role or Alan Gordon's Fresh Meat with a frightening Christmas tradition that could spell the end of a kind hearted werewolf.

The majority of this anthology are well written with fresh perspectives on the tried and true werewolf legends making them a treat to be enjoyed year `round.

Some of my favorite Authors in this books so well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolves, Vampires, Romance..., 23 Jan 2010
By 
I rather enjoyed the short stories in this book, although-as ever-some were better than others. A particular favourite was Charlaine Harris's "Dracula" story and Karen Chance's story-well, it has Werewolves in it, but the central character is rather hard to explain. Lets just say she has Were blood and no love life. Essentially, a good read with entertaining stories all around, great snippets from different worlds and characters. Read it if you want to get to know some of your favourite characters and their lives a little better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A title with plenty of Bite, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A series of short stories edited by one of the biggest names in the Urban Fantasy Genre which when backed with the sheer talent and scope of the authors within, make this title a must own. It's great for the holiday period and will get you in the festive mood and when backed with the fact that each short story is self-contained will definitely put a smile on many an Urban Fantasy Readers face.

Failing all else, the fact that within are a large number of the big names makes this a pretty good bet as a pleaser as well as allowing readers the chance to try some of the authors that they may not be quite as familiar with or just know the name in passing.

Finally, this title is definitely worth the outlay although make sure that the giftee (the reader) has all their creature comforts to hand as they'll pretty much be glued and possibly even snarl if their reading time is disturbed. With lycanthropy being a transferable disease through bite, making sure to their comfort or you may well find out how true this is. LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paranormal Christmases, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first bought this book for "another" e-reader a couple of years ago because I had recently discovered Charlaine Harris's "Southern Vampires" series, and was eager to discover more authors that I might enjoy in the paranormal genre. A book of short stories about werewolves seemed ideal, and given the other reviews I had read, I took the plunge. I was not disappointed! So much so that I later bought the kindle edition when I changed e-readers.

I don't think there was one story in this book I didn't enjoy, and I have re-read it a couple of times (usually in the lead up to the yuletide season) with equal enjoyment. It's nice to see that the editors (Charlaine Harris and Toni L.P. Kelner) approached some authors not usually known for venturing into the paranormal and I think this collection is a great example of how a good story is universal in its appeal no matter who (or in some cases, what!) the characters may be.

I found the characters and situations believable on a universal level and loved the different take that each author had on the theme of the collection.

If you're new to the paranormal, I heartily recommend this as an introduction. If you're a dedicated vampire reader, then try something a little different which is still set in the paranormal world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very pleased with both the book and the service. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes the supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only one good story by Charlaine Harris , the others are not good at all. Wish I hadn't ordered this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its an ok book, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great if you like a few stories, so really easy read as you can pick it up and put it down without loosing any story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WOLFSBANE AND MISTLETOE., 5 Jan 2013
A collection of festive werewolf tales from a total of 15 authors*, only four of whom (Keri Arthur, Charlaine Harris and Kat Richardson, Carrie Vaughn) I've read.

Not normally a fan of short stories, I put this collection on my Amazon wish list as I do like the occasional werewolf story and thought it perfect for the Christmas Spirit book challenge I was participating in.

Filled with plenty of fresh takes on both werewolf and Christmas legends, Wolfsbane And Mistletoe still wouldn't be my first choice of book for die-hard fans of were fiction (or Christmas books for that matter) and certainly wouldn't be one I'd recommend to those lacking in a certain sense of humour as some of these stories really are what can only be described as fun but silly.

A perfect showcase for these writers (all of whom are known to varying degrees amongst the 'supers'/ 'Urban fantasy' community), I was most impressed by Kat Richardson (author of the Greywalker series) whose story (her first werewolf tale), The Werewolf Before Christmas, was both funny, dark and somewhat twisted. Not so Charlaine Harris' Gift Wrap which was disappointing, extremely disappointing, nor Dana Cameron's The Night Things Changed which, surprisingly for a short story, I found over long and rather tedious.

All in all more of a hit than a miss, there really are some inventive stories in this anthology.

Wolfsbane and Mistletoe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall good supernatural story collection, 29 Dec 2011
By 
Curiosity Killed The Bookworm (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not usually a fan of these short story compilations but quite liked the idea of a werewolf themed festive read. Wolfsbane and Mistletoe contains 15 stories by fantasy authors that you may or may not know. The Werewolf Before Christmas by Kat Richardson was probably the best festive story, where a werewolf finds out that he's eaten Rudolph. Also good reads are the ones with alternate Santa myths however many of the stories just happened to be set around the holidays and could be read any time of year. It's always nice to read stories in the worlds created by Karen Chance, Carrie Vaughn and Patricia Briggs but these were the least Christmassy of the lot.

There are always some misses amongst the hits but at the very least lets you know to avoid the full length novels by the same authors. In The Night Things Changed by Dana Cameron, supernatural beasts are sickening do-gooders and vampires recharge in the sunlight. For me this is too far from the original mythology for my liking so I wouldn't hunt out the series.

For those of you attracted by Charlaine Harris' name on the cover, her contribution is Gift Wrap which is included in the Sookie short story collection, A Touch of Dead. Overall the collection is a cut above the rest providing you don't want a festive feel to every story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfsbane and Mistletoe novel, 5 July 2011
Another excellent book from Charlaine Harris. Wish she would increase her output of these brilliant stories as we cannot wait for the next one to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolfsbane and Mistletoe: Hair-Raising Holiday Tales
Wolfsbane and Mistletoe: Hair-Raising Holiday Tales by Charlaine Harris (MP3 CD - 2 Nov 2010)
Used & New from: £34.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews