Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Fallen Angels" series book 2
Jim Heron, a man with a dubious and violent past is selected by both angelic and demonic forces to ultimately decide the outcome of the millennia old war waged between good and evil. Now a fallen angel, Jim has been chosen to influence the lives of seven people as each is tempted by one of the seven deadly sins; whilst their resulting actions will decide whether good or...
Published on 10 Oct. 2010 by Book Addict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Crave by J.R.Ward
OK story. I found it hard to read at times, kept putting it down. I didn't really like the story, if you like supernatural or shifters, fairies and other supernatural beings I'd telll you to give it a go.
Published on 22 Mar. 2013 by SAT 18


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Fallen Angels" series book 2, 10 Oct. 2010
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jim Heron, a man with a dubious and violent past is selected by both angelic and demonic forces to ultimately decide the outcome of the millennia old war waged between good and evil. Now a fallen angel, Jim has been chosen to influence the lives of seven people as each is tempted by one of the seven deadly sins; whilst their resulting actions will decide whether good or evil finally prevails.

In book 2 Jim's target is an ex secret Ops agent, a man as well trained and skilled as Jim and his angelic buddies when it comes to taking out an enemy. Yet Isaac Rothe wants to just walk away from the violent world he has inhabited for so long, his conscience no longer allowing him to continue on in the assassination business. Unfortunately his boss Matthias is determined that Rothe enter early retirement in a body bag.

Jim and his angelic posse Eddie and Adrian are again battling their demonic nemesis Devina; the latter not only cheating when she can (unlike the good guys who may not break the rules but can certainly bend them) but displaying an increasing personal interest in Jim. JRW's angels continue to be a wicked new breed of hero; they may be rather brash, blunt and violent, but they are handy to have around in a fight and can certainly kick demon a**in their quest to save humanity. The story line is punchy, action packed and a tad on the violent side, yet there are deeper layers as an unexpected romance unfolds between Rothe and his lawyer Grier Childe; a woman who proves able to look beyond Rothe's past and fall in love. There is also a clever twist towards the end of the story line, and although this scenario did briefly enter my mind when I began reading "Crave", the abundance of explosive action scenes blew it right out of my head.

Now my gripes with "Crave". I found Archangels Nigel and Colin (whatever happened to names such as Gabriel or Azriel?) rather off putting; their extreme upper crust Britishness at odds with the gritty, modern story line. There are no fiery swords of justice or the smiting of evil enemies in Nigel's agenda, instead he and his Archangel pals play croquet or appreciate a cup of Earl Grey as crises unfold. Nigel's holier than thou attitude about sticking to the rules becomes increasing aggravating rather than admirable and by the end of this book I began wondering if I should be rooting for Devina to win. Also despite the concept of saving selected souls, it felt more like Rothe had a "hit" put out on him rather than a battle taking place between supernatural entities to win his soul. Some fascinating snippets of Jim's burgeoning angelic abilities emerge but on the whole the supernatural elements which were such a strong part of book 1 "Covet" definitely take a back seat to Isaac's quest in keeping Grier safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crave - J R Ward, 23 Oct. 2010
I didn't beleive J R Ward could create another super series but i was wrong. The Fallen angel books will sit well next to your Blackdagger Botherhood books.

I found this book better than the first book (Covet). You learn more about Jim and his friends and his task ahead. The battle between good and evil keeps you on the edge of your seat.

You can not help but fall in love with Issac who Jim believes he has to save. The book will keep gripped until the very end. Another addictive book!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seriously good Urban Fantasy, 4 Nov. 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
With the first novel having set the scene for JR's world, this title focuses more on character development alongside bringing a new breed of hero to the fight for the mortal world in the everlasting fight between good and evil. It's beautifully descriptive and with the heroes being more Angels with dirty faces who get into the muck to fight evil on its own terms, definitely allows the reader to keep guessing as to what will happen due to the unpredictable nature of the characters.

It's a seriously different type of Urban Fantasy to a lot of the ones already out there and a title that will entertain through the action and discoveries of the characters that will enchant the reader. JR really does have a great writing style which when packed with some great dialogue makes this a series that everyone can enjoy. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WAAAAY better than the first book, and more action from the start. 4.5*, 14 Oct. 2010
By 
Roroblu's Mum "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is what the official blurb says about this book: The battle between good and evil has left the future of humanity in the hands of a reluctant saviour and his band of fallen angels. Seven deadly sins that must be righted. Seven souls that must be saved. Fallen Angel Jim Heron has completed his first task: helping Vin Di Pietro to redeem his soul. Now he must identify and battle a demon that can take any form. Worse still, his old boss Matthias wants him to assassinate Isaac, a member of The Firm who's gone AWOL - and Jim's pretty sure he's supposed to save him. But before Jim can get to Isaac to warn him, Isaac's picked up by the police for illegal street fighting. It's soon clear that he is falling for his gorgeous public defender - will their love redeem his soul? Or has the demon Devina, who's determined to see Jim fail, set an elaborate trap?

I'm not going to tell you more about the story itself, other than the following: as the author took her time in setting her new 'world' in the first book, Covet, this one didn't need this and so it was pretty much all go, go, go from page 1.

The romantic leads in this tale, Grier, the classy, rich, priviledged female attorney assigned to southern gentleman/bad boy combo, Isaac, an ex-special ops soldier turned bare-knuckle fighter, were both far more likeable, far more decent and so much more believable and hotter than in Covet, and boy, the sex scenes were plentiful, graphic and smouldering, more along the likes of an Ellora's Cave/Aphrodisia type novel. The book picked up pretty much immediately after Covet finished, and though this is only the second tale, it takes place just 4 days after Jim Heron, Fallen Angel, died, and whilst his body still resides in the morgue. I found myself liking his side-kicks Ad and Eddie more and more, as we learn more about them, their tortured past, their loyalty towards each other and their commitment to their task of providing back-up to Jim, and I'm hoping that they, along with Jim, of course, get their HEA at the end of the series.

At times, this book was very reminiscent of the old weepie movie Ghost, with Grier's late (to tell too much about his death would be a major spoiler) younger brother Daniel appearing to her, warning her of dangers and also to trust Isaac, and when he eventually went 'into the light', complete with a last conversation with Grier, I felt myself welling up.

Overall, this was a great read, and I am firmly into the series now, more so than the BDB series which seems to have veered too much away from the original 'brothers' and so has lost my interest. At the end of this tale, we get a glimpse into Manny's tale in the BDB series, which from the looks of it promises to be hot, but still, that didn't make me want to resume reading the series. The only thing that loses Crave a 0.5* for me, is the author's continued use and and over-use of Urban American English language slang, which is, IMHO, for Brits a tad more confusing and had me puzzled on more than one occasion, but hey, that's what The Warden has become symbolic of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent..., 9 Dec. 2011
By 
L. Sears "Redlorry" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second instalment in JR Ward's Fallen Angel series. Jim Heron is a man on a mission. Agreed by both Heaven and Hell as a suitable pawn in their never ending game, Jim has seven chances to save humanity for one side or the other.

Round one (Covet) went to the good guys and left them buoyed up and raring for challenge number two, where Jim and his wingmen Adrian and Eddy must try to work out what Devina, their evil, demon nemesis is up to and shut down her plans.

Last time Devina was caught unawares, not knowing that Jim was the opposition. But this time she's ready to engage him and his fellow angels in a deadly game. And it seems it's the soul of one of Jim's old XOps colleagues which is the prize at stake

Isaac Rothe is a wanted man, an XOps operative that desperately wants out from a career choice he never really made. But his attempts to break away land him in more hot water and his file ends up on the desk of the hot young lawyer, Grier Childe. The chemistry between the Grier and Isaac soon starts to bubble its way toward boiling point as she seeks to learn more about him, to help him and he desperately fights to keep her out of his sinister and dangerous world.

But Isaac's soul isn't the only one at stake. As the XOps boss turns up the heat and closes in with the intention of destroying Isaac, Jim and his boys realise they might not have been focused on saving the right soul.

This is another amazing story from, in my opinion, the best paranormal romance writer out there today. This lethal game of cat and mouse between heaven and hell leaves you unable to trust anyone and always looking round the corner for the next big surprise. Completely engaging and compelling... can't wait to read the next instalment, Envy.
Covet: v. 1: A Novel of the Fallen Angels (Novel of the Fallen Angels 1)
Envy: A Novel of the Fallen Angels: 3 (Novels of the Fallen Angels)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still great ... but some aspects are becoming irritating, 16 Jun. 2011
I am giving this 4 stars because Ms Ward is still my favourite author du jour and, like the majority of readers, I loved the BDB series and devoured all 9. I then read Covet and Crave.

On the whole, I think this is a good concept of good versus evil and I can see how the series will continue - Jim, Ad and Eddie will continue to turn individuals' lives around and to take the righteous path, fight against Devina and the "target' they help in each book will find his or her love interest and, after much drama, ride off happily into the sunset and Jim and Co (and Dog) will get their next assignment.

All well and good, but I am having a problem with the stereotypical 4 British archangels - Nigel, Colin, Byron (and the other one - sorry forgot his name already!) and the Irish Wolfhound. There are so many cliches thrown into those four, i.e., the overly British toff language (whatever is the e'er, instead of ever all about?), the clothes, the croquet, the Earl Grey tea drunk out of the proverbial Bone China cups, the thinly sliced afternoon tea sandwiches and even the Irish Wolfhound (and here I was actually glad JRW had not gone the full hog and made the dog a British Bulldog) that I felt it was like she had been watching old episodes of Jeeves and Wooster and actually believed the British upper class spoke and behaved this way. I half expected to see a load of guys in cricket whites playing a match in the background or perhaps the Trooping of the Colour - or a line along the like of "I say, old man, would you mind frightfully passing some more of that splendid Earl Grey and make it spiffy, there's a good Chap". LOL. And Nigel and Colin seemed to be the only ones with any action of the four. The other two seem like fillers somehow.

Then there is all the Urban American slang that JRW always uses. I am getting just a bit tired of it now. There is a line, along with many which require someone from England to wonder what she is on about half the time, e.g. where Isaac is thinking that this relationship with Grier was never going to be "a lifemovie set in RL". I wondered what US State abbreviation RL stood for before realising she must have meant "real life". If you mean real life why not just say it, and why capitalise the abbreviation? It is irritating and frustrating when you are enjoying a book to suddenly stop and wonder what the author is trying to say.

The above is just a rather tame example off the top of my head, but there are many phraseologies in her books that are simply so obscure you wonder if you have been left living in the past and simply not keeping up with a hip new Urban world full of new jargon.

I thought this was just something lost in translation, but I have now read reviews at Amazon.com and a lot of American readers are also baffled and annoyed at this. They say she is trying to be ubercool and hyper hip. And there is also a marked lack of question marks after questions, which is strange.

I also found Grier to be such a weird name that I actually looked it up to see if it did exist. It does, but it's not popular. No surprise there.

If I was really nitpicking, I also wondered what the title of the book actually had to do with the contents and who actually craved what? The eventual target only craved getting out of that line of work and either dying or making a new life. Since that can only be the right path to take at his crossroads, he could not have been craving more killing etc. It was a disappointment to find out who actually did the "Craving" right at the end, and only in 3 words.

Also, what happens to the 3 angels' wings when they are not in use? Do they somehow shrink back into the guys' backs or do they become the tattoo we see depicted on the cover of the book? I find the image of these 3 hulking big guys with huge feathery wings on their backs flapping around Caldwell and Boston quite strange. Vampires dematerialising I can deal with. That's rather cool and manly for such alpha males, but massive wings? I am struggling, although, of course, as angels they are supposed to have them. It just seems rather comical somehow.

Finally, if this is the Creator playing a deadly game with, presumably, his biggest adversary, why is Devina the only operative on the evil side and where is HER boss? Unless, of course, Devina IS the boss of the great down below. I am thinking Devi-na = Devi-l?.

Ah well, I will continue with this series and hope that it will get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J R Ward does it again!!, 18 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of J R Ward, her BDB books rank highly amongst my very favourites..so looking forward to Lover Unleashed..I didn't think she could anywhere near match them with a new series, so I read Covet with a little trepidation but yep you guessed it..really really liked it and couldn't wait for the second one in the series Crave and it was so worth waiting for LOVED IT! (Shame we have to wait until later on next year for the third one Envy!) What I liked about the book is that not only do we get to know Jim more..wish he was my guardian angel..you can't help but love him..but I like that other characters like Adrian and Eddie have come to life, and I hope that as the series progresses not only do they still feature strongly in the books, but that we also get to know Nigel and Colin and the rest alot more. Isaac Rothe is such a fantastic character in this book..a gentle giant of a man..and how nice not to have Grier his lover come across as a women, all not gung ho the type that can take on the world and doesn't need a man to help her! The love 'scenes' are sexy just what you expect from J R Ward..so if like me you are unsure whether to read this newer series of hers for fear of not liking them as much, as BDB is such a hard act to follow DON'T..Promise you will love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent read, 14 July 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Crave is the second book in the Fallen Angels series by American author, J.R.Ward. The events in this book take place two days after Covet, and much of the action is in Boston. It is certainly advisable to have read Covet, as much essential knowledge pertaining to this book is covered in that book. Chosen to influence seven souls in the fight of good against evil, former X-Ops soldier, Jim Heron decides his next assignment is to save X-Ops buddy, Isaac Rothe from certain death at the hands of their boss, Matthias. Arrested for cage-fighting, Rothe is assigned public defender, the breathtakingly beautiful Grier Childe. The attraction is immediate, but Rothe knows he is way out of her league, and Grier has her own baggage, some of which even she is unaware. Ward slowly and carefully feeds the reader information about the world she has created for this series. She further develops the main characters and gives the reader an original plot with a great twist at the end. As with the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, the banter between the angels and the archangels is fun. One surprise is that Jim has more weapons than just crystal guns and knives at his disposal. This is another excellent read and fans will look forward to the third book in the series, Envy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another hit!, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As J R Ward set the scene so well in Covet book 1 in this series, we jump straight into to the action pretty much from the get go.
I found Isaac who is a ex- special ops soldier turned bare knuckle fighter to be very likable from the start, he has the whole bad boy southern gentleman charm going for him, hes a gentle giant of a man, even though he is rough around the edges.

The heroine Grier, is very privileged, classy lady she is the attorney assigned to Isaac. She is beautiful, but carries her own baggage and loss with her.

The chemistry between Isaac and Grier is almost at boiling point and the sex scenes were hotter than hot and so very well written, they smolder off the pages.

We get a better look into the characters in this book as we learn more about them, we learn more of a understanding of what made Jim the person he is.

Devina is one of the best evil characters ever! she is the perfect balance of evil to Jim's good.

The humor is still present throughout this book as in the previous, Eddie, Jim and Adrain compliment each other well in the humor department.

You will be chomping at the bit for the next book in the Fallen angels series after reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very challenging, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The challenge in this book was just as dark as the first one with Davina always interfering in the background. Jim the Fallen Angel and his two companions had more hurdles to jump to be able to win this challenge to allow Jim to save the endangered soul.

Although unusual, it was a fascinating concept and the whole story was unpredictable. I found all the characters interesting too and now look forward to face the next challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crave (Fallen Angels Novels (J. R. Ward))
Crave (Fallen Angels Novels (J. R. Ward)) by J. R. Ward (Audio CD - 5 Oct. 2010)
Used & New from: £4.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews