Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Fallen Angels" series book 2
Jim Heron, a man with a dubious and violent past is selected by both angelic and demonic forces to ultimately decide the outcome of the millennia old war waged between good and evil. Now a fallen angel, Jim has been chosen to influence the lives of seven people as each is tempted by one of the seven deadly sins; whilst their resulting actions will decide whether good or...
Published on 10 Oct 2010 by Book Addict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So hard to get into...
I am finding the Fallen Angles so difficult to ready. Slow going but always a good twist in the story line.
Published 8 months ago by Miss F E Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Fallen Angels" series book 2, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jim Heron, a man with a dubious and violent past is selected by both angelic and demonic forces to ultimately decide the outcome of the millennia old war waged between good and evil. Now a fallen angel, Jim has been chosen to influence the lives of seven people as each is tempted by one of the seven deadly sins; whilst their resulting actions will decide whether good or evil finally prevails.

In book 2 Jim's target is an ex secret Ops agent, a man as well trained and skilled as Jim and his angelic buddies when it comes to taking out an enemy. Yet Isaac Rothe wants to just walk away from the violent world he has inhabited for so long, his conscience no longer allowing him to continue on in the assassination business. Unfortunately his boss Matthias is determined that Rothe enter early retirement in a body bag.

Jim and his angelic posse Eddie and Adrian are again battling their demonic nemesis Devina; the latter not only cheating when she can (unlike the good guys who may not break the rules but can certainly bend them) but displaying an increasing personal interest in Jim. JRW's angels continue to be a wicked new breed of hero; they may be rather brash, blunt and violent, but they are handy to have around in a fight and can certainly kick demon a**in their quest to save humanity. The story line is punchy, action packed and a tad on the violent side, yet there are deeper layers as an unexpected romance unfolds between Rothe and his lawyer Grier Childe; a woman who proves able to look beyond Rothe's past and fall in love. There is also a clever twist towards the end of the story line, and although this scenario did briefly enter my mind when I began reading "Crave", the abundance of explosive action scenes blew it right out of my head.

Now my gripes with "Crave". I found Archangels Nigel and Colin (whatever happened to names such as Gabriel or Azriel?) rather off putting; their extreme upper crust Britishness at odds with the gritty, modern story line. There are no fiery swords of justice or the smiting of evil enemies in Nigel's agenda, instead he and his Archangel pals play croquet or appreciate a cup of Earl Grey as crises unfold. Nigel's holier than thou attitude about sticking to the rules becomes increasing aggravating rather than admirable and by the end of this book I began wondering if I should be rooting for Devina to win. Also despite the concept of saving selected souls, it felt more like Rothe had a "hit" put out on him rather than a battle taking place between supernatural entities to win his soul. Some fascinating snippets of Jim's burgeoning angelic abilities emerge but on the whole the supernatural elements which were such a strong part of book 1 "Covet" definitely take a back seat to Isaac's quest in keeping Grier safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crave - J R Ward, 23 Oct 2010
I didn't beleive J R Ward could create another super series but i was wrong. The Fallen angel books will sit well next to your Blackdagger Botherhood books.

I found this book better than the first book (Covet). You learn more about Jim and his friends and his task ahead. The battle between good and evil keeps you on the edge of your seat.

You can not help but fall in love with Issac who Jim believes he has to save. The book will keep gripped until the very end. Another addictive book!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seriously good Urban Fantasy, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
With the first novel having set the scene for JR's world, this title focuses more on character development alongside bringing a new breed of hero to the fight for the mortal world in the everlasting fight between good and evil. It's beautifully descriptive and with the heroes being more Angels with dirty faces who get into the muck to fight evil on its own terms, definitely allows the reader to keep guessing as to what will happen due to the unpredictable nature of the characters.

It's a seriously different type of Urban Fantasy to a lot of the ones already out there and a title that will entertain through the action and discoveries of the characters that will enchant the reader. JR really does have a great writing style which when packed with some great dialogue makes this a series that everyone can enjoy. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WAAAAY better than the first book, and more action from the start. 4.5*, 14 Oct 2010
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is what the official blurb says about this book: The battle between good and evil has left the future of humanity in the hands of a reluctant saviour and his band of fallen angels. Seven deadly sins that must be righted. Seven souls that must be saved. Fallen Angel Jim Heron has completed his first task: helping Vin Di Pietro to redeem his soul. Now he must identify and battle a demon that can take any form. Worse still, his old boss Matthias wants him to assassinate Isaac, a member of The Firm who's gone AWOL - and Jim's pretty sure he's supposed to save him. But before Jim can get to Isaac to warn him, Isaac's picked up by the police for illegal street fighting. It's soon clear that he is falling for his gorgeous public defender - will their love redeem his soul? Or has the demon Devina, who's determined to see Jim fail, set an elaborate trap?

I'm not going to tell you more about the story itself, other than the following: as the author took her time in setting her new 'world' in the first book, Covet, this one didn't need this and so it was pretty much all go, go, go from page 1.

The romantic leads in this tale, Grier, the classy, rich, priviledged female attorney assigned to southern gentleman/bad boy combo, Isaac, an ex-special ops soldier turned bare-knuckle fighter, were both far more likeable, far more decent and so much more believable and hotter than in Covet, and boy, the sex scenes were plentiful, graphic and smouldering, more along the likes of an Ellora's Cave/Aphrodisia type novel. The book picked up pretty much immediately after Covet finished, and though this is only the second tale, it takes place just 4 days after Jim Heron, Fallen Angel, died, and whilst his body still resides in the morgue. I found myself liking his side-kicks Ad and Eddie more and more, as we learn more about them, their tortured past, their loyalty towards each other and their commitment to their task of providing back-up to Jim, and I'm hoping that they, along with Jim, of course, get their HEA at the end of the series.

At times, this book was very reminiscent of the old weepie movie Ghost, with Grier's late (to tell too much about his death would be a major spoiler) younger brother Daniel appearing to her, warning her of dangers and also to trust Isaac, and when he eventually went 'into the light', complete with a last conversation with Grier, I felt myself welling up.

Overall, this was a great read, and I am firmly into the series now, more so than the BDB series which seems to have veered too much away from the original 'brothers' and so has lost my interest. At the end of this tale, we get a glimpse into Manny's tale in the BDB series, which from the looks of it promises to be hot, but still, that didn't make me want to resume reading the series. The only thing that loses Crave a 0.5* for me, is the author's continued use and and over-use of Urban American English language slang, which is, IMHO, for Brits a tad more confusing and had me puzzled on more than one occasion, but hey, that's what The Warden has become symbolic of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tinyshires, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow another great book Jim Herron I love You and hope u have Sabina dangle on your string and ruin her game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little darker than expected, but I still want to read more., 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There was some real character development with Adrian, Colin, Dog, Jim (obviously) and even Devina. The storyline is more and more intriguing. There were a couple of unexpected twists and yet more confusion for me but yet I'm strangely drawn to this series. I can highly recommend this series and the BDB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So hard to get into..., 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am finding the Fallen Angles so difficult to ready. Slow going but always a good twist in the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jr Ward great read enjoying the series looking forward to the next just waiting for price to go down hopefully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crave (Fallen Angels Novels)
Crave (Fallen Angels Novels) by J. R. Ward (Audio CD - 5 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: 10.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews