Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, but with some interesting additions
Courageous is the third book in the Lost Fleet series, preceded by Dauntless and Fearless, and as such you're not going to be getting a stand alone here - this series is one big story. I've really enjoyed the first two books and was very much looking forward to get stuck into Courageous to see where it took the story and just what else could be thrown up for Geary and the...
Published on 29 Mar 2011 by Mark Chitty

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the fleet flies on
third in a series of science fiction novels about the lost fleet. There's an interstellar war on between two human groupings of worlds, the alliance and the syndic. the alliance space fleet are trapped behind enemy lines, and only their chance discovery of captain geary, an alliance hero of years before who was stuck in suspended animation for ages till the fleet found...
Published on 25 Mar 2008 by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the fleet flies on, 25 Mar 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
third in a series of science fiction novels about the lost fleet. There's an interstellar war on between two human groupings of worlds, the alliance and the syndic. the alliance space fleet are trapped behind enemy lines, and only their chance discovery of captain geary, an alliance hero of years before who was stuck in suspended animation for ages till the fleet found him, could save the day.

Can geary get the fleet home? and can he live up to the legend he's become in the meantime?

all these books run for three hundred pages. and whilst not being great literature are quite decent prose and characterisation wise.

For the first hundred pages this looked like having mid book in series syndrome, in that not much happens and things continue much as before.

However the remaining two hundred pages were really rather entertaining, as the space battles carry on in earnest, and the alliance fleet really struggle to survive. this was entertaining and engrossing reading, and the book ends on a cliffhanger that was really quite rousing and makes me desperate to know what will happen next.

I'll be back for more. the aliens promised on the back of the book are only hinted at late on. Doubtless we'll see more of them in future volumes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, but with some interesting additions, 29 Mar 2011
By 
Mark Chitty (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Courageous is the third book in the Lost Fleet series, preceded by Dauntless and Fearless, and as such you're not going to be getting a stand alone here - this series is one big story. I've really enjoyed the first two books and was very much looking forward to get stuck into Courageous to see where it took the story and just what else could be thrown up for Geary and the fleet to deal with. While Jack Campbell sticks to a formula that has proven successful in the previous instalments, he does introduce some new aspects that help increase the tension and raise plenty of questions about the bigger picture.

As the Alliance fleet travel from system to system through Syndic space on their way home they are constantly overcoming the odds and surviving battle after battle, inflicting heavy losses on the Syndics each time. While this is the more traditional battlefield that Geary is used to, another is always present - the political and argumentative fleet conferences that take place with all Alliance fleet ship commanders. These conferences are the bane of Geary's command and it is during these that those who oppose him manipulate others to raise issues. On top of this Geary's relationship with Rionne is not what it used to be, she appears cold and distant, and rumours are spreading about the fleet of improper conduct between him and Desjani, the captain of his flagship. And then there is the discovery that humanity may not be alone in this section of the galaxy after all as evidence of mysterious foes builds and builds.

Other than the unravelling mystery of non-human intelligences that Geary and his close confidants are slowly discovering, there is a distinct feeling that Geary is playing things a little too well when it comes to avoiding the Syndic forces. He's managed to guess their actions with enough accuracy to date that the Alliance fleet has not been in too much danger, but his decisions are slowly pushing the fleet into a corner where they will have to face a significant Syndic force before too long. I liked the way this came about, and when the action finally hits it's done extremely well, but I've come to expect that from Campbell - he can write some pretty epic space battles with all sorts of twists and turns.

Once again I find myself totally drawn into the setting that Jack Campbell has created. I find the premise a good one for a military SF story, the characters are still enjoyable to read and the precision of the space battles are terrific. In short, Courageous delivers just what I wanted, but it doesn't deliver too much more than Dauntless and Fearless. Because of this it's difficult to review this book without going into too much detail or without repeating myself with what I've said in my previous reviews. If you've read and enjoyed the books to date then this should certainly be on your reading pile, and if not I strongly suggest picking them up and starting the story from scratch.

Courageous ends in such a way that Valiant, the fourth book, is going to be an immediate read. Saying that there is a cliffhanger of sorts is not giving anything away, but it also makes you realise once again that Campbell is in this series for the long haul. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unpretentious, 14 Sep 2008
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I once saw a company report which had pictures of employees and managers throughout. Oddly, only the managers seemed to have names. Courageous is a bit like that. The principle characters all have identities, but everyone else is a cipher. For example, the bridge crew of Dauntless are interchangeable 'watch standers'. The losses of the ships and their casualties appear unreal. That said, the story is a good yarn which does not pretend to real psychology. It does keep you interested, although the battles can become a bit alike. I think it is the concept of mystery being slowly revealed (very slowly), that keep readers coming back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better end soon, 18 Jan 2008
The original idea was good of a fleet stranded deep in enemy space, of a commander trying to think one step ahead of an enemy who has the advantage of semi-instantaneous travel through "gates", of a possible intervention of an alien race with its own agenda...
I have heard that Campbell has already signed for the sixth book of the series and I don't think I will wait that long expecting another time-warped space battle, another narrow escape and the end of the psychological agonies of people torn between memories of lost ones, honour and love.
I'll stop at the next one. There is only so much we can expect from a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic adventure, 17 Jan 2008
By 
Dr. J. A. Hiscox "Dr Jules" (Leeds, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books are fantastic reads and hard to put down. Don't expect in depth literature, instead expect high adventure. The latest instalment follows Captain Jack as he attempts to avoid the main Syndic battle force and instil a sense of moral discipline and leadership into his command. Sweeping battles there are, and I always like the way the author takes into account time dilation and yet more hints are provided that there may be a worse enemy than the Syndics. I can't wait for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a lot happens, 28 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I guess if you read book four when it comes out never having read this book (book 3)you would not even notice. Where are these aliens then? A great disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Enjoying This Series...... Just, 16 Sep 2013
By 
M. Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find these books enjoyable and easy to read. Though I'm hoping the author will use a bit more imagination with the story line in the next books. The same old 'fleet escapes into new system, encounters the enemy fleet, fights/ escapes into new system' and repeat is becoming a little repetitive and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stretching A Bit Far, 18 May 2013
For me, this is now beginning to stretch out a theme to breaking point.

Most of this book continues in the same vein as the previous two - far too much similarity. This book basically follows the same formula of arrive in a system, beat the living daylights out of the opposition, take some losses, then jump again.

The series needs something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please stop telling me about the s***ing lights in hyperspace!, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Peter Harding (Leeds, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this series of books a lot, great characters and a good plot that's original enough to keep me wondering what's going to happen next or how the characters are going to get out of the fix they're in.

BUT!
These books and Mr Campbell have one great failing in my eyes, and that's the constant repetition of certain stock phrases and descriptions. These can be overcome for the most part with just a little gentle cursing and swearing while skipping to the next paragraph, but by the time i got to third book it had all just got too much and i very nearly abandoned the entire series. Instead after a week away from being told again and again about the sodding lights in hyperspace and what people thought they represented, i picked these books up again and ploughed on.

Three more books in and i'm glad i persisted, because the story does continue to develop nicely, and i have thoroughly enjoyed them.. . And it might be my imagination but it does seem like the repetition of those stock phrases is getting a bit less, a tiny, tiny bit less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book continues to drag you deeper and deeper, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book continues to enthral me and keep me engaged with the story of this fleet. This book digs deeper into the relationships of Geary and his crew while they continue to fight the various challenges that meet them on their journey back home. Just as you think the fleet have reached the bottom of the barrel even more challenges meet them. The lost fleet continues to keep me gripped with its simple but addictive good old space drama. Another great read , thank you Jack Campbell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Courageous (Lost Fleet)
Courageous (Lost Fleet) by Jack Campbell (Audio CD - 5 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: £10.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews