Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes a Certain Kind
This book gives us a sense of the dedication, the work ethic and the extraordinary skills required to become a Seal Team member, it also highlights the constant struggle to remain an intricate part of an Elite group.

It starts with Mr. Wasdin story on how he grew up to become the top sniper in the military's most elite and respected group. His father was a...
Published 23 months ago by Toni Osborne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Nice story which has a lot of twist and turns.
Action packed with suspense during his SEAL team 6 days
Published 9 months ago by Daniel Comfort


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes a Certain Kind, 28 July 2012
This book gives us a sense of the dedication, the work ethic and the extraordinary skills required to become a Seal Team member, it also highlights the constant struggle to remain an intricate part of an Elite group.

It starts with Mr. Wasdin story on how he grew up to become the top sniper in the military's most elite and respected group. His father was a disciplinarian who was especially hard on him and demanded perfection. This tough sometime cruel upbringing laid the ground work for the extreme tests the rest of his life had in store for him.

In his military training he describes the grueling selection process, Hell Week, boot camp and later on Sniper School where he was thought that the more you train, the less chance you will bleed in war. All through the pages he often describes his childhood memories and the lessons he has learned. In retrospect he has become a well discipline perfectionist who embraces his vocation extremely seriously.

As a Team Six member he took part in Operation Desert Strom and on another mission the team took on a rebellious and out of control village, their objective was to capture or kill Somalia warlord Mohamed Farrah Aidid. It is during this mission we learn how important intense training can affect results. When taken by surprise they still preformed a heroic rescue of downed pilots even though some including Mr. Wasdin received life threatening wounds. He was later awarded the Silver Star for his actions.

Skilled surgeons saved his leg and with extensive rehabilitation he returned to active duty but it soon became clear to him his performance was compromised so he eventually took medical retirement and went back to school to become a Chiropractic Doctor.

This is an exciting book that kept my attention to the last page. Mr. Wasdin tells his memoirs with a deeply poignant perspective and an honest point of view from his painful troubled childhood, his demanding career in the navy right up to his present day life as a Doctor. I read this book after watching TV programs relating to Seal Team training and exploits, the background helped me visualise and understand the black and white text in a more intense manner.

I was pumped reading the words of Mr. Wasdin and I can only imagine what it is like for these Elite Groups: endless training and living life on the edge....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading on a deeply interesting topic, 20 July 2011
Prior to purchasing this book, I was skeptical of picking it up. Ever since post-Iraq and Afghanistan invasion, there's been a flood of military related literature into the market. There's been some good accounts, and some pretty bad efforts. When I saw this I thought of the latter category. However after taking a chance and after racing through it, I'm pleasantly surprised and Seal Team Six has entered the realm of some of my favourite reads.

The book is well written. There is little error in grammar and punctuation, and many of the historical facts seem nailed down -- although with the caveat, I haven't done research into them. The type face is well set out and the use of contents make re-reading accessible. Wasdin and Templin's style of writing is engrossing. You want to continue to read and read. The language is broken down well, and newcomers will be welcome to the book. There's even a glossary at the front of the book to assist you in some of the book's more difficult to understand phrases.

As well as first hand information that Wasdin provides, there is also a bibliography to be mentioned. Although it is short, it displays that Wasdin took care to reinforce his points and facts, and secondly that he is encouraging you to read more about the elite fighting force. This is a positive for me.

Wasdin's work ranges from when he was an abused child, up to enlisting in the Navy and then onto the SEALs. From the damaging, dangerous and violent battle of Mogadishu we get to the end where he discusses life outside of the SEALs. It's a truly remarkable story. The punishment he suffered as a child, up to the searing reports on the streets of war-torn Somalia hits you with different emotions and combine to make excellent reading.

There are many other positives in the book. The SEALs demanding training, BUD/S is a hell-like ordeal and reading it makes you want to get up and about. His descriptions of weapons he uses and spending thousands of rounds on the range are informative. The sniper school he attends shows the grueling hard work of the job. I also found little things like SEALs relationship with Delta force interesting, along with the stories of past exploits of SEAL heroes.

However, despite its many good points, it has a couple of faults. The chapter on the Safe House in Mogadishu read like a diary, and break up the tone of the book. Furthermore, the use of past/present gets conflicted. As well as this, the book acts as a baseplate for Wasdin's criticisms of the Clinton administration over their handling of the Somalia mission. Also, his references to God and sometimes the over-patriotic tone of the book can be a little annoying. I've nothing hugely against what he's saying (as an Irish man, I'm inclined to agree with his comments on the Clinton/Somalia disasters), but for me, they distort the book's message. After all, it is an auto-biography, and these are to be expected.

I deeply enjoyed this book, it further reinforces the quality of the US armed forces, and in particular, the efforts and dedication of the Special Forces, a subject I'm enormously interested in. I've tried to recommend this book and will continue to strive to do until someone reads it! I would go so far to admit it could be used among scholarly research for a student wishing to do research on the SEALs, special forces or Operation Gothic Serpent, and the Battle of Mogadishu.

I'm going to give this four stars, despite the fact I loved it, but it isn't absolutley perfect - although it comes close. I find it difficult to give five stars. This is highly recommended, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable but a bit flat in spots, 27 Jan 2013
By 
This is as book about life as a sniper. It is not written by a top selling author. It is written by an army sniper. Now retired!

I give it 4 stars because although not professionally written (many of the criticisms are valid) but it was a book that I enjoyed and will pass on to others. It does lack flow, does not build suspense, and does not have the twists and turns we have comes to expect of we'll written novels, and does not have any insight into Bin Laden's capture, but it is enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book might appeal to insiders. Very technical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Factual,no nonsense account, like the author one imagines.
An inspirational book in many ways.
For a man who has lived at the extremes to find fulfilment in civilian life is also a relief to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably one of the best books ever written ..awesome absolutely awesome very very detailed and depicting true stories . BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice story which has a lot of twist and turns.
Action packed with suspense during his SEAL team 6 days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An honest, sometimes humorous account of his time as a SEAL. A good book, worth reading, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Brave men doing a sometimes thankless job, but the camaraderie holds them together. Thank you for the insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not dynamic, 15 Sep 2013
Not dynamic
I was pleased to have a signed copy and could wait to get stuck in. However of the way through, as much as I tried, it didn't keep my interest and I shelved it. The book has got some good bits in but it mostly explains the extremely hard training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what I was expecting as I had already read "No easy day" the book about the OBL take down but still a good book. I like the way he identifies his past and what made him become what he is. He doesn't try to be all gung ho as some of these guys do.
An honest book that kept me interested from start to finish. These guys deserve respect as does anyone who has served with any special forces regiment in the world. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seal Team Six: Memoirs of an Elite Navy Seal Sniper
Seal Team Six: Memoirs of an Elite Navy Seal Sniper by Stephen Templin (MP3 CD - 5 May 2011)
17.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews