Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afghanistan
I have just read this book whilst serving in Afghanistan and I must say it is an excellent read! It covers all the major historical events as advertised and gives an interesting account of the horrors faced by the British during their 1840 campaign. Although advertised as a history book, it is very easy to read, I could not put it down. Highly recommended!
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by M. Frankel

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting and informative
Bought this book to get a better understanding of afghanistan and it's complex history. The book's fairly well written and reads easily,Not to the standard of something like Anthony Beevors Stalingrad but still a very readable book.Loads of interesting information and well worth a read.
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afghanistan, 2 Feb 2009
By 
M. Frankel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just read this book whilst serving in Afghanistan and I must say it is an excellent read! It covers all the major historical events as advertised and gives an interesting account of the horrors faced by the British during their 1840 campaign. Although advertised as a history book, it is very easy to read, I could not put it down. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very thorough book!, 2 Nov 2010
By 
N. Parish (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having lived in that general region for a number of years, this was likely to be a book that interested me. However, I couldn't bring myself to read it cover to cover. The older history simply didn't grab me. That said, the book itself is surely a pretty comprehensive account of the history (from a military perspective) of Afghanistan.
I suppose it would interest those with an interest in history, particularly military history. It would also be a very useful read for anyone going to Afghanistan (not just with the military!). It sheds light on the people as well as their history, and for this it should be commended.
This version has an updated chapter on 'Pashtunistan', which is also of great interest. The author concludes with a very interesting concept of encouraging a Swiss-style of governance in the country, drawing many parallels between the two nations.
Generally, a fascinating read for all those with any interest either in history or in that part of the world. Obviously some, like me, might choose to skip a couple of chapters, but I'd recommend it nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afghanistan: A Military History from Alexander The Great to The Fall of The Taliban, 23 Nov 2009
Students of history both political and military would do well to read this book. Stephen Tanner has caught the essence of this wild country perfectly. This book should be compulsory reading for every military commander BEFORE he goes to Afghanistan. More importantly, the Government would do well to note what has happened to those who have tried to occupy this country and what the outcome was over the centuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent choice, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Vasileios S. Karavidas (Tirnavos, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book, prior my deployment to Afghanistan. I believe that everyone in the military deploying in this country should have a knowledge of its history (primarily) and the language and habits of the people.
In that (learning the history) the author makes a superb job, by giving a brief but thorough history of Afghanistan throughout the centuries.
Starting from the Persian Empire and the war of Alexander the Great, he shows how the native people of this country have fought or accepted any intruder. The book covers all the fighting till the Taliban era and in some cases you will find the reasons for the unstable character of the region in nowadays.
Informing, precise, humorous sometimes, I believe its a must read for anyone who wants to learn the history of this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting and informative, 6 Nov 2011
Bought this book to get a better understanding of afghanistan and it's complex history. The book's fairly well written and reads easily,Not to the standard of something like Anthony Beevors Stalingrad but still a very readable book.Loads of interesting information and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what it say on the tin!, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having no knowledge of Afghanistan but an interest in military history I found this to be an excellent primer. Fair enough there is little coverage of the culture, geography or tribal politics but this does exactly what it says on the tin giving a broad stroke military history covering a huge swathe of time.
One reviewer found it difficult to read but I think anyone who has read a couple of military books will find it a breeze although if "Lt T A Souter had wrapped the 44th's colours around his person" leaves you befuddled then best leave alone.
Another reviewer comments on the lack of detailed maps and this is a fair point but true for many other books. I do recommend an atlas or even google earth to get the best out of it but even without its still a fine read. I have never been to Afghanistan and can only observe it's history and battles from my arm chair but for anyone going I think it would make an interesting companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great thorough book of Afghanistan, 21 April 2010
By 
Great book covering thousands of years of military history in Afghanistan, as the title suggests there isn't much on the actual people or culture of Afghanistan but every major battle is covered in great detail. Would have been nice to have a timeline showing exactly who "reigned" over which periods but that's a minor gripe, I'd thoroughly recommend for anyone who wants to read up the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panjshir Afghanistan, 7 Mar 2010
By 
A. T. Tellaiy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Interesting to read about Afghan history and the loin of Panjshir. the book was in good condition, thanks for Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book with lots of information about Afghan War!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good back ground information, 17 May 2014
By 
P. Markus (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book provides good and thoroughly researched background information on this war torn country. For those interested in this part of the world a must read. This area of the world will stay at the centre of conflicts for years to come and knowing the historical background helps understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Afghanistan (Playaway Adult Nonfiction)
Afghanistan (Playaway Adult Nonfiction) (Preloaded Digital Audio Player)
Used & New from: 60.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews