Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend..!
An all round fantastic read. Don't be put off by the fact that co-writers are involved as you would never know they were, it appears that they have just compiled Old's notes and writings into a gripping story of his life, all in a seamless text.
Not only did Robin Olds distinguish himself as a WW2 ace and a Vietnam Wolfpack legend, he was also a born leader of...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by CD

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not modest enougth
Top pilot and a courageous man, but I did not warm to the writer.

I felt that I was being told that the writer was right and not being told a story for me to make my own mind up about,

I found the pilots heaven bit at the end of the book almost embarrassing to read.
Published 5 months ago by David Cotton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He was certainly a character...!!, 8 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
It might be a sweeping generalisation, but so many 'Fighter Pilot' biographies/autobiographies can be very formulaic. Robin Olds story is genuinely enjoyable and generally well written and as an account of a career in service is probably better than average. The individual concerned was obviously a colourful character and enjoyed remarkable success, especially in Vietnam when theoretically he should have been past his 'sell by date'....!!
For an airman to have been so on top of his game over 20 years after the end of the Second World War (the first conflict that he enlisted to first fly and fight in) is a testament to his leadership, flying and fighting skills.
Although not the best account that I've read and scant on detail in areas that would interest me most, this deserves a read and this reader recommends it..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend..!, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
An all round fantastic read. Don't be put off by the fact that co-writers are involved as you would never know they were, it appears that they have just compiled Old's notes and writings into a gripping story of his life, all in a seamless text.
Not only did Robin Olds distinguish himself as a WW2 ace and a Vietnam Wolfpack legend, he was also a born leader of men.
This was one of those books that I could not stop reading, full of smaller stories of events that keep you turning pages, I really cannot praise this book enough, especially at the Amazon price. If you are at all interested in military aviators, this book is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P51s to F4s, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
If you are going to get any book today get this one. What a great story, from fighting the Luftwaffe over France and Germany to Migs over Vietnam. Painful ground tours flying a desk, fighting with the system and senior officers and the gradual break down of a marriage running in the background.
Olds was a no nonsense fighter pilot who knew how to let off steam and run a fighter Sqn and win a war, but wasn't good with diplomacy, and did not suffer any fools regardless of rank.

A great book up there with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighter Pilot, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
I have just finished this fantastic book. I enjoyed every page! If you have any thoughts about this being a "hodge podge" of second hand recollections stitched together by the co-authors well, you'd be wrong. The authentic voice of Brig. Gen. Olds jumps from the page, on every page. I'm only sorry that I cannot give this book 6 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighter Pilot, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
Excellent service from Amazon in getting me the book prior to me going on holiday. I've wanted this book for a while now and was very pleased when it arrived 2 days after i ordered it from Amazon on-line. It's the ultimate fighter jock book,all you'll ever need to read about a living legend Col. John Olds. It's a book that you will not want to put down and i found it hard to not want to just sit and read non-stop. A true American hero,although Col.Olds will probably shy away from the fact but he was loved by all that served with him and under him. A book that you will not be sorry you bought,it definately opens your eyes to the complicated orders that the pilots had to fight with and the shear waste of tactical losses the pilots had to watch and not act upon,which could of made more actions available at the beginning of the conflict thus enabling a shorter war with alot fewer casualties! The book also shows the problems Col Olds had to endure and fight,not only the enemy but his own Air Force superiors at home and abroad. You can also get to understand why he was so admired by his men. He always had thier concerns and welfare at the front of his mind. he wanted the best from his men but also wanted to make sure they got what they needed to get the job done! Reading from his very first beginning of flying to his experiences in the second world war,his love of Great Britain and his deep understanding of the British Bulldog spirit. He loved his first posting in the UK flying the P38 Lightning then onto the P51 Mustang. He also describes his longing to get into combat in the Korean War instaed being in a desk job! Then not wanting to miss out again in the Vietnam War he got himself out and into theatre,this being a great story in itself. The only problem i found with the book was that it had to end....i never wanted to put it down or for it to end. I will keep this book and will read it again one day in the near future. An absolute must-read for anyone and everyone. A true hero and a real gentleman. I only wish i had the pleasure of meeting him!
You must get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait!, 8 Dec 2010
By 
K. J. Long (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
As someone who is interested in the Vietnam war, I have been waiting for this title for a long time. The book is a fantastic read and would also be enjoyable for people who aren't interested in flying. His paragraph on leadership is a lesson to all leaders everywhere whatever their trade.

Trully a candidate for title of World's Greatest Fighter Pilot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ron McGuffie, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
One of the best of 15 books that I have read from Amazon. His writing skills are the best his descriptions on his flyig take the book reader inside his Cockpit, and tales of Government interference are great, Vietnam was a mess controlled from Washington by persons who never flew sending Pilots like Robin Olds to extremely dangerous more than necessary to get political results. Robin had a great life and many escapes in his flying the best book since forever flying by Bob Hoover an excellent account of stunt flying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not modest enougth, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Top pilot and a courageous man, but I did not warm to the writer.

I felt that I was being told that the writer was right and not being told a story for me to make my own mind up about,

I found the pilots heaven bit at the end of the book almost embarrassing to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Olds, "Fighter Pilot"., 28 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
Fantastic book.Well written and informative.
Couldn't put it down so now I need something else to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Fighter Pilot, 16 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighter Pilot (Hardcover)
I first saw him on History Channel DogFights in episode Air Ambush. I had read a lot of pilot books their experience and life in the air. Brig Gen Robin Olds is different, He is a true leader a legend, and what a Fighter Pilot should be. One of my favorite part of the book is when He is trying to aviod getting promoted to General and wanting to see action in South East Asia. He is the man who always wants actions. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighter Pilot: The Memoirs of Legendary Ace Robin Olds
Fighter Pilot: The Memoirs of Legendary Ace Robin Olds by Robin Olds (MP3 CD - 13 April 2010)
Used & New from: 23.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews