Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An edition to be treasured -- exquisite!
A large, hardback edition of this classic story, Cooper Evans' "Peter Pan" includes the most exquisite, original illustrations, in marvellous Deco/nouveau styles. These illustrations are a selection of contemporary ones, from the original stage production flyers, to the early, classic editions of the story itself in 1911.
The book itself is a treasurable edition,...
Published on 14 April 2003 by tobe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wish I had not bought it
Bought this traditional english tale for my 6 year old granddaughter. Unfortunately it is an American version with American spelling, grammar and phrases.
Not what I expected. Shall not be buying any more in this series. Customers should be advised accordingly
Published 10 months ago by Mrs. M. Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An edition to be treasured -- exquisite!, 14 April 2003
By 
tobe (Slough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A large, hardback edition of this classic story, Cooper Evans' "Peter Pan" includes the most exquisite, original illustrations, in marvellous Deco/nouveau styles. These illustrations are a selection of contemporary ones, from the original stage production flyers, to the early, classic editions of the story itself in 1911.
The book itself is a treasurable edition, itself well-produced and glossy.
In addition, the text faithfully reproduces the author's first-edition grammar, story and spellings, and splits it into the original chapters.
This books is perfect for someone who wants to give this wonderful title as a gift, to recapture the magic and avoid Disney-style illustrations. It's not a book for toddlers, however, as the story is too complex & wordy, and the book too pretty for jam fingers. Children from around 5 or 6 years of age will appreciate it, right through to adults.
One thing that this republishing of original text highlights is just how witty and sharp the writing is, and what sophisticated stories we used to share with our children.
(If you do buy it, have a look at the fabulous, glamorous, Diva-esque depiction of Tinkerbell on page 32!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escapism at it's BEST!!, 8 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
J.M.Barrie creates a vivid world, that is appealing to anyone with a love of adventure. His playful use of language and charming wit transport you to the most fantastical fantasy world ever; Neverland, complete with Indians, mermaids and pirates. Contrasting with the real world of the Darlings, bound with the issues of society and reputation, and a belief that all children must grow up. Fans of the new peter pan movie will be further pleased with eight wonderful colour pages of photographs.
This enchanting book is sure to captivate any reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great edition, 17 April 2012
This was the first 'grown up' book with chapters I read to my 3 year old and he loved it. It's simplified without losing the magic. Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bedtime stories, 24 Feb. 2012
By 
Mrs. P. Rogers "Instruction seeker" (Cambridgeshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 5 year old Grandson very much enjoyed this mini classic. So much easier to read and much more entertaining for a small boy into pirates. We have now read it to him twice.A wonderful way to get children enthralled with books and into the classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what i wanted... and even more ., 10 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
I always new that there are many versions to "PETER PAN " I also new that a lot of this This versions are not exactly as the original story by JM BARRIE some of them are short, some of them are pop out books , some of them are for little kids , (some of them are Disney ) exe... I also new that some of them contains wonderful illustrations inside...and some are not .
When I attended to the amazon.co.uk I was asking for PETER PAN In the original version of JM BARRIE with magical illustrations inside . I had got exactly what I wanted...and even more ..
In this book you will find the version of peter pan as it was published in 1911. You can see here the original story of the boy who never grew up with very exiting descriptions and full of imagination by JM BARRIE .
And this story is full of illustrations that where taken from a lot of early editions of PETER PAN . from the beginning of the 20 century and they are not gust magical . They are full of life . it looks like they are going to move every minute and come real. And they are all deferent . you can see there illustrations of MABEL LUCIE ATWEL ,ALICE WOODWARD , FD BADFORD and some of the illustrations were made by unknown artist .
This book is very special to me and it is a grate pleasure reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last the full story - again!, 28 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Pan (Hardcover)
For those who have never read J. M. Barrie's long, quirky & involved story of a boy who can fly, loses his shadow & talks with fairies & the girl who befriends him & learns to fly too. It's all there & I was surprised at how long it is. It could take a month of daily reading to your children to finish it!
This complete & unabridged original tale of Neverland(no, it was not ever Never Never Land!) is rich in Victorian/Edwardian England's sense of humor & propriety; of starched strangers getting to know each other across social barriers; of precious parents torn with guilt & passionate dogs bereft of duty. Of cocky young boys & mean-spirited pirates; of exotic redskins & luring mermaids & that dreadful ticking crocodile! Certainly not for the politically correct!
It is also rich in an entirely new way for Raquel Jaramillo has set Barrie's story to photographs in an immediate, fantastically textured, dreamy & magical way. This illustrator has refreshed the images to this oft-abbreviated story & revived its delightful & scary philosophies.
Psychology & political correctness aside, Raquel Jaramillo has done well with this master storyteller's greatest tale. Adults & children alike will be able to identify with the whole cast & once again become immersed in the magic.
"Second to the right & then straight on until morning..." how many nights did I slip into sleep, murmuring that phrase & dreaming I was on my way to Neverland where the Lost Boys made their homes(after all, girls were much too clever ever to fall out of their prams & get lost!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wish I had not bought it, 30 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this traditional english tale for my 6 year old granddaughter. Unfortunately it is an American version with American spelling, grammar and phrases.
Not what I expected. Shall not be buying any more in this series. Customers should be advised accordingly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "It is only the gay and innocent and heartless who can fly.", 22 Feb. 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Pan (Paperback)
Everybody knows and loves Peter Pan -- the immortal, flying imp who lives in a floating otherworld, battles pirates, and never has to grow up.

And J.M. Barrie's classic tale "Peter Pan" really hasn't lost any of its charm, although those who have only seen the Disney movie may be shocked at how dark it can be at times. It's a strange, whimsical little story with a bittersweet edge, but it also reminds you about the allure of never growing up... even if it is necessary.

Young Wendy Darling is woken by a strange boy in her room, who has lost his shadow. That boy is Peter Pan, a flying boy from Neverland who regularly eavesdrops at her house because he likes the bedtime stories her mother tells. Since Wendy ALSO knows bedtime stories (and can potentially "make pockets"), Peter whisks Wendy and her brothers Michael and John off to Neverland.

However, Neverland is not a place devoid of dangers -- there is a pirate ship there (don't as me how; if it's explained, I don't remember), led by the villainous Captain Hook. Hook is constantly trying to kill Peter and his Lost Boys, and it doesn't take long for Wendy and the other boys to be captured. Can Peter save them from his archnemesis?

Children are "innocent and heartless" by nature, and it feels like "Peter Pan" was a homage to that -- it's a childish romp in a fantasyland, where kids can fly, fight pirates and have strange little adventures. Nobody really thinks about the families that are undoubtedly freaking out, or the lives they'll miss out on.

And really, that's part of its charm. It's a fluffy little fantasy story that could have been transcribed out of any child's imagination, with a colorful array of characters who could have been taken out of a Victorian kid's imaginary games (mermaids I understand, but why are there American Indians here? HOW did they get there?).

And Barrie spins out this story in the slightly twee style of Victorian kids' fiction, with lots of details and some charming scenes (the Lost Boys actually build a house AROUND WENDY). It gets a little cutesy at times (fairies are generated by.... baby laughter?) and the handling of the Indians is just horrible, but otherwise it's a fairly charming book.

But it's also darker than you would expect -- Tinkerbell tricks the Lost Boys into trying to kill Wendy, and at first it looks like she's managed. And Peter almost DIES. For real. Not to mention the final chapter, which is a giant lump of bittersweet.

Peter himself is a strangely enchanting figure -- he's almost like a lost Greek god, with a capricious ever-changing nature. And no matter what, you can never catch him or pin him down. As such, most of the other characters don't quite stand out as much, but they're all pleasantly handled -- particularly the three "normal" kids who are all too happy to go to Neverland, until they feel like going home again.

"Peter Pan" takes you briefly back into the experience of being a small child, when you can easily imagine yourself going anywhere at all while still staying "innocent and heartless." It has some flaws, but is charming nonetheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware - this book is not as it seems !!!, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Paperback)
I did not realise that this book is a special edition when I ordered it . It is printed sideways, but not back to front which makes it very difficult to read . Because of the cover I assumed it was normal . !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But buy the book the right way round..., 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Paperback)
I've wanted to read the book since I was little, falling in love with the characters in both Disney movies, and recently decided to buy it when I found this great offer.
The story has of course been no disappointment and I absolutely adore it, I will be re-reading it as soon as possible. However I found the "Bed Book Landscape" reading format more of a hindrance than a help and would suggest to just sticking with the usual format.
Still gets 3 stars as it was still readable and was a brilliant story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Pan
Peter Pan by James Matthew Barrie (MP3 CD - Jan. 2010)
£15.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews