Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book
Just come back from New York and found this book a dream to use. The separate titles with corresponding maps were great to use. We wouldn't have discovered Eileen's Cheesecake Shop without this book
Published 6 months ago by Julie Corcoran

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars compact book, maps work on kindle, not the most comprehensive
Got this on my Kindle along with a hard copy of the lonely planet so that my partner and I could have a guide book each to prevent fights.
In truth the lonely planet is far superior.
Reasonable summary of New York
Nice historical annecdotes
Could be organised better
Maps work fine on kindle
Does not cover Harlem
Published 11 months ago by amysar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Book of New York, 2014 Edition (Hardcover)
Just come back from New York and found this book a dream to use. The separate titles with corresponding maps were great to use. We wouldn't have discovered Eileen's Cheesecake Shop without this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great buy: ) was small enough to carry round ..., 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Little Black Book of New York, 2014 Edition (Hardcover)
a great buy :) was small enough to carry round in my shoulder bag, and the pull out maps were great as you could just pinpoint certain areas to visit and then you just had to look at a small section of the map rather than opening out a big one. also the subway map at the back was really useful. some great ideas for shops and restaurants which we tried. great as something to help get you around but just has key info about things so if you want to know more you would need to supplement it with another book / internet search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well laid out and so easy to read and quickly plan a visit to New ..., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Book of New York, 2014 Edition (Hardcover)
Well laid out and so easy to read and quickly plan a visit to New York. Good clear maps. Small enough to be taken with you and well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love NYC!, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anything relating to New York City and I love it.!!! This is ideal for travelling with, & hopefully I can use it this year. Very informative, so just as good if just reading it at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A BETTER BITE OF THE APPLE, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Book of New York, 2014 Edition (Hardcover)
I would liken this book to a scaled down version of the DK New York guide.Both are very good and this one gives you everthing you need to know in a more condensed form and lighter more pocket friendly size.
Slightly samaller than a filafax and with a useful elasticated page saver.
The stick on book title can also be removed with ease and leaves no marks.After visiting New York a number of times for holidays I would advise anyone to plan each days itenary ahead so you get the best out of the experience simply because you wont waste time searching for where you want to go.Plan ahead use this book and the DK guide and
you'll get the best value and enjoyment from your holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to carry with you as a tourist, 24 Jan 2010
By 
J. Clements - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We purchased this book from the Guggenheim Museum shop and it was invaluble throughout our stay. Some great reccomendations of places to eat and visit. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New York guide, 7 Aug 2014
By 
P Findlay (sothwest scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Book of New York, 2014 Edition (Hardcover)
Lovely compact guide, well presented very tactile and fits into pocket or bag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars compact book, maps work on kindle, not the most comprehensive, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this on my Kindle along with a hard copy of the lonely planet so that my partner and I could have a guide book each to prevent fights.
In truth the lonely planet is far superior.
Reasonable summary of New York
Nice historical annecdotes
Could be organised better
Maps work fine on kindle
Does not cover Harlem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York Guide, 16 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It arrived in good time and in good packaging. Just started to dip my toes into it but it seems to be a very comprehensive guide to the city and appears to offer really good background on the various areas and such! It is small as is described I was surprised that it is a ring binder inside which there is nothing wrong with that but I didn't expect that (which doesn't mean to say that that is a bad thing and possibly it said so in the description and i'd forgotten) Anyway it is small and will fit very easily into pockets and small bags for easy access while traveling around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Black Book of New York, 2014 Edition (Hardcover)
was a present and my daughter was very pleased off to new York very soon so hopefully will be very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Black Book of New York, 2014 Edition
The Little Black Book of New York, 2014 Edition by Ben Gibberd (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2013)
£6.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews