Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye for the strange and wonderful
Howse is the sort of travelling companion who always notices the things in the corner of the picture that you would otherwise miss, who recommends the nondescript bodega you would otherwise walk past, and who gently fills in the gaps in your knowledge of a city's backstory without making you feel a complete clot. I'm just back from Granada and when I read his chapter on...
Published 13 months ago by BW

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not lightweight!
A lot heavier than I expected, probably not the best to read at bedtime unless you are having trouble with insomnia! Well written, but more a document than a book.
Published 1 month ago by Engelberg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye for the strange and wonderful, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Train in Spain (Hardcover)
Howse is the sort of travelling companion who always notices the things in the corner of the picture that you would otherwise miss, who recommends the nondescript bodega you would otherwise walk past, and who gently fills in the gaps in your knowledge of a city's backstory without making you feel a complete clot. I'm just back from Granada and when I read his chapter on the Alhambra I realised I had spent the day there with my eyes shut. I'll just have to go again - this time with a copy of the wonderful The Train in Spain in my knapsack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Nov 2013
By 
A. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Train in Spain (Hardcover)
This is the Telegraph writer Christopher Howse's second book on Spain and if anything it is even better than the last one (A Pilgrim in Spain). It is simply structured in 10 chapters each describing a train journey (with the occasional bus, where a line has been closed) and the stops on the way - Zamora to Zafra, Cuenca to Valencia, Guadix to Chinchilla, and so on. Not the usual tourist routes. As Howse says, it is a book about Spain, not about trains - about its language, food, landscapes, trees, art, religion, history and people. There's a lot about food, actually, and even some recipes ("first, collect your acorns..."). The author stays discreetly in the background - humane and gently ironic - but he makes you see. The section on Spanish ways of being drunk is superb. All in all, a great pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight., 8 Nov 2013
By 
David J. Glazier (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Train in Spain (Hardcover)
I am an avid reader of the author's regular articles in the Daily Telegraph and immensely enjoyed his previous book "A Pilgrim in Spain". He takes us on journeys to Spain which would not occur to most visitors and his observations and information whet one's appetite to visit the places he goes to. This is a wonderful travelogue - his descriptions of his travels and the places he visits are spot on. Enhorabuena, Mr Howse! I can't wait for your next trip to Spain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 10 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: The Train in Spain (Hardcover)
Christopher Howse's writing is in a league of its own - erudite, expansive, generous, witty. I'm an avid reader of all his Telegraph columns, whether the Sacred Mysteries series or his sideways takes on modern mores and language. It's wonderful to see him given the space to stretch his pen. This is an excellent travel companion to places both familiar and unknown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Spain, 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Train in Spain (Hardcover)
Don't bother with this book if you wish to learn about the best place to neck sangria in Barcelona. Howse is inquisitive, erudite, and often very funny. This is not a book about trains, and it's not really a travel book. But it's a brilliant portrait of the parts of Spain few of us ever bother to explore. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not lightweight!, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot heavier than I expected, probably not the best to read at bedtime unless you are having trouble with insomnia! Well written, but more a document than a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take the train if you can find one!, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Train in Spain (Hardcover)
Interesting, individual and quirky recollections of travels in Spain. It is a great shame that some sections of those wonderful railway lines are now reduced or closed but he does capture the pleasure of journeys in unusual regions whether by train or bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars more like historical, boring and did not finish, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No story, more like historical, boring and did not finish reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Train in Spain (Hardcover)
Don't know whether it's Howse or me. I read him in the Daily Telegraph quite regularly and enjoy his columns, but this book left me cold and didn't excite me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no no no no no, 31 Jan 2014
By 
brianthelion "brianthelion" (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Train in Spain (Hardcover)
Difficult to read, as I can normally polish off most books in one or two days but not this one. Dreary, dull and lifeless writing left me less likely to visit many of these places. Over long descriptions disappearing into rambling at times. You win some and lose some and this for me is a loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Train in Spain
The Train in Spain by Christopher Howse (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2013)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews