Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the books of the year
Not perhaps what I expected - less a tightly argued polemic than an occasionally argumentative memoir. Thankfully, like The Broken Compass, it happens to be some of the best biographical writing around today - much as Hitchens would probably disown such a judgement.

For all his image as a snarling conservative, Hitchens' written persona is a joy to spend time...
Published on 27 Mar 2010 by Paddington

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strong theme, needs more hard thinking
Peter Hitchens was pursued by his publisher to deliver this title, likely because it feeds off a brotherly rivalry with Christopher, notorious publicist for dubious ideas. I was attracted to Peter's book because I do feel that the decline of religious faith opens the door to all sorts of utopianism, of which PC is but the leading edge.

Peter divides his book...
Published on 23 May 2010 by DavidW.


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rage Against God, 16 Jan 2013
By 
John King (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This will be of interest to anyone interested in the position of Christianity, or of any religious belief, in the modern world. Even if one may find his conclusions debatable, it is an important debate and the book is well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effectual Response as Intended, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finished Catch-22 and God is Not Great by C. Hitchens last month and must say that Rage was a very good balanced response to the 'other side'. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my other half..., 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rage Against God (Paperback)
He said it was extremely interesting.

I have not had time to read it yet - but anything Peter Hitchens writes is worth reading. Peter, along with Melanie Phillips should be leading this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choses the side of life., 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Hitchens is not ashamed of Christ and states the case clearly against human self-service salvation. To rage against God is futile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revealing insight into Hitchens' worldview, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rage Against God (Paperback)
This was the first of Hitchens' books that I have read. Previously I was only aware of him by reputation - which has not always been favourable. However, I found this book touching and thoughtful and read it quickly - which is often a good sign. Hitchens has a clarity to his thinking and writing that cuts to the heart of many topics without becoming distracted by the superficial confusions that the media often uses tp smother reality. His spirituality is developed and reflective but the one strand of his thinking which weakens the book is where he talks about Russia. Coming from such an Anglican perspective he misunderstands the nature of Orthodox spirituality and consequently does not reflect the reality of the the growth of the church in Russia. This is not really his fault, it is a common failing of protestants who imagine four hundred years to be quite some time" !
I have been impressed with Hitchens as a writer and as a commentator on the state of life in Britain. He uses his own experiences appropriately and maintains a personal connection even when describing the big picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Serial killer of straw men, 21 Mar 2011
By 
A. Shuttleworth "ali" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
His own personal journey may be interesting, but the three atheist arguments addressed are all irrelevant. I would concede all three in principle. Are conflicts fought in the name of religion religious? No. Is it possible to tell what's right or wrong without God? No - or with him/her/it/them for that matter. Are atheist states not actually atheist? Does this have any bearing on the question of the existence of deities? No. On the other hand it is extremely fortunate for our moral well being that religion does NOT provide us with our moral compass - read Dawkins' God Delusion instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bilious Spleen, 21 April 2010
By 
J. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The bilious rantings of a man who's lost touch with reality. To blame all the country's evils on lack of Christian faith is myopic to say the least. His one sided rambling book is worth a read only to give context to his brothers polemical work which, in my opinion, has far more depth and humanity than this fearful diatribe. The author fails to make a dent on Christopher Hitchens' detailed and layered arguments, and rather seems to bore the reader into some languid state of melancholy in order to hide the fact. At least it is a short book, even though reading it felt interminably dreary. If you are a hardened Daily Mail reader this will be right up your street. For the rest of the thinking world, it is a tawdry, frightened and deeply religious (though certainly not spiritual) hate book. 3 stars for style. Zero for content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 17 Aug 2010
This book is a waste of money and time.The author is not happy that his brother is a far better writer than he is.His brother is also more rational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rage Against God
The Rage Against God by Peter Hitchens (Paperback - 6 Feb 2011)
£10.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews