Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the books of the year
Not perhaps what I expected - less a tightly argued polemic than an occasionally argumentative memoir. Thankfully, like The Broken Compass, it happens to be some of the best biographical writing around today - much as Hitchens would probably disown such a judgement.

For all his image as a snarling conservative, Hitchens' written persona is a joy to spend time...
Published on 27 Mar 2010 by Paddington

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strong theme, needs more hard thinking
Peter Hitchens was pursued by his publisher to deliver this title, likely because it feeds off a brotherly rivalry with Christopher, notorious publicist for dubious ideas. I was attracted to Peter's book because I do feel that the decline of religious faith opens the door to all sorts of utopianism, of which PC is but the leading edge.

Peter divides his book...
Published on 23 May 2010 by DavidW.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the books of the year, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not perhaps what I expected - less a tightly argued polemic than an occasionally argumentative memoir. Thankfully, like The Broken Compass, it happens to be some of the best biographical writing around today - much as Hitchens would probably disown such a judgement.

For all his image as a snarling conservative, Hitchens' written persona is a joy to spend time with. Fiercely but properly original (his observations all have solid premises, rather than being cheap shocks), curmudgeonly but graceful, and with winning depths of earnestness and nostalgia; he is never boring, frequently compelling, and usually provocative and sympathetic in equal measure. The trouble is, there are so few people out there actually writing down proper thoughts in proper sentences anymore. Most writing today is just the wisdom of the age in the clichés of the time: dislocated, tedious and hollow. It's like reading through mental smog. So I'm sure those who do not agree with a drop of Hitchens' politics or religion would still find the sheer clarity and warmth of this book's prose engaging.

I think one or two of its points are so striking that a little more tracing out of their foundations and implications would have been enjoyable. The death of faith in England, and the likely conclusion of atheism, are perhaps the two most important subjects when looking at the past century and looking ahead in the present one. But the book's subtle approach to its subject is haunting and memorable even without this. And much of its message is perhaps more powerful for being unspoken.

Probably the best English political writer since Orwell. And certainly the least self-satisfied, most interesting autobiographer writing in England today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very personal book, 4 May 2010
By 
A very personal work this from Mr Hitchens. It is rooted in his own journey from childhood belief, through adolescent skepticism, and then to adult faith. Hitchens is now a Prayer Book and Authorised Version Anglican!

This book is also rooted in his disagreement with his atheist brother, Christopher.

In this book, Hitchens tackles the arguments usually put forward by atheists against (essentially) Christianity. He does a good job.

However, for me, his most interesting observation is why totalitarian/atheist states are so aggressive towards Christianity. The answer being is that Christians have a higher allegiance than simply to the state.

As militant atheism assumes greater political influence in the UK: the slide towards totalitarianism becomes much greater.

A timely book on the British scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, gentle and encouraging, 31 Aug 2010
By 
John Hardy (Redditch, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm about the same age as the author, so can very much relate to the lost world he describes. He writes well in any easy readable style. This isn't a high flown philosophical treatise, to be valued mainly for its powerful arguments. On the other hand it does give some insight into the motivations of the militant atheists whose anger and intolerance so mystify those who disagree with them.

I liked the epilogue best where the author describes the beginnings of a restored relationship with his brother despite their great differences
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Contribution to the God Debate, 23 Mar 2010
"The Rage Against God" isn't a conventional work of apologetics. There are already plenty of those out there. This book is less about theory than about practice. Why do people really reject or accept God? Why is their rejection of God often so very virulent? What part has religion played in recent English history? How important was atheism to the history of communism, and to the cultural revolution that swept through the Western world in the last few decades?

The first part of the book-- essentially a memoir of Peter Hitchens's changing attitudes to religion-- is the most readable. Hitchens is at his best when he's evoking the England of his childhood. (At one point he apologises for indulging this tendency. He shouldn't.) I relished his description of Evensong ("the very heart of English Christianity"), of his boyhood feelings of utter security while lying in bed and listening to the sirens of ocean liners in Portsmouth harbour, of the austere and stoical Remembrance Sunday ceremony ("No outsider could possibly have penetrated its English mystery, or imagined that we were in fact enjoying ourselves, But we were.".)

But the very particularity of this book, though it makes it a powerful memoir, somewhat limits its importance as a tract. Hitchens is writing primarily about English Christianity, and its long decline (which, he shows, long predated his own childhood). As an anglophile and an admirer of Hitchens's writing, I found it enthralling. As an Irish Catholic, I found it of limited relevance. Hitchens devotes a long section to criticising (affectionately and reverentially) the surrogate religion of English patriotism. He's also scathing about the modernising tendencies within the Church of England. One is led to wonder why he feels compelled to remain within a church that has disillusioned him so much, whether he is in fact letting his patriotism decide his denomination.

The book becomes less compelling, but of wider relevance, when he goes on to examine the role of atheism in the USSR and in the psychology of social liberalism (and Hitchens is surely justified in tracing a continuity between them). He gives the lie to the canard that atheism was somehow incidental to the Soviet regime, showing that it was absolutely central to the communist project. (How anybody can doubt this is mystifying.) As he points out, the USSR changed its policy on many subjects over the decades-- swinging from sexual liberalism to puritanism and back, tolerating private enterprise in the NEP era, and cultivating nationalism during the Great Patriotic War-- but its persecution of religion remained constant and unwavering. He shows, too, how successful this secularisation proved-- the predicted resurgence of Russian Orthodoxy when communism fell was a cosmetic phenomenon. A generation had been denied religious education, and the spiritual void has never been filled. Rather chillingly, he goes on to describe how Richard Dawkins and his sympathisers aim to inflict the very same materialist indoctrination on today's children.

I believe he is absolutely right, too, in his claim that atheism is at the very heart of the social liberal/cultural revolutionary project. (This was brought home to me with particular force when Channel 4 allowed the president of Iran to deliver its "alternative Christmas" message in 2008. Why would Channel 4 give a platform to the president of a country which discriminated against women and persecuted homosexuals? Didn't they care passionately about human rights? Apparently not; insulting Christianity always trumps other considerations. It appears to be the very essence of the social liberal project.)

The book is perhaps too short-- perhaps Hithens might have included some essays on a related theme to fatten it out. But altogether, it is a worthy, courageous and timely contribution to the most important subject there is. Hats off to Peter Hitchens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of Wisdom, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Roderick Blyth (Oxfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a short and interesting book in which Peter Hitchens looks at religion in a personal, social and political context. In fact, the personal element is confined to demonstrating how Mr Hitchens moved from the outright rejection of Christianity fairly typical to the clever boys of his generation to a position in which Christianity has become for him the ultimate guarantee of truth, decency and humanity in a corrupt, debased and increasingly intolerant world.

This personal perspective, is, in some ways, the most interesting part of the book. To move from Trotsky to Jesus Christ in less than half a lifetime is something of a pilgrimage, though the misidentification between the two, and Che Guevara for that matter, is not as uncommon as you might think.

In fact, one sees in the Young Peter Hitchens (on whom Old Peter Hitchens is somewhat severe) a not uncommendable fury at the diet of lies and hypocrisy which his generation were invited to swallow about the system that presided over the second war and the system that tried to deny its true consequences for the nation. But that angry generation itself is now seen by Hitchens as having fallen for shallow, and self-indulgent alternatives posited on sexual licence, material selfishness and moral cowardice under the comfortable shelter of liberal righteousness.

For Mr Hitchens, as for the Psalmist 'the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom' (Psalm 111.10). The oppression and moral squalor which he later witnessed in 1990 in Moscow, and the terror and viciousness to which he almost fell victim two years lare in Mogadishu became a touchstone to test two views of humanity. Shortly afterwards, he was to come face to face in Beaune with the 'Last Judgment' by Roger van der Weyden, and in a moment of epiphany, saw that 'these people did not appear remote or from the ancient past; they were my own generation. Because they were naked, they were not imprisoned in their own age by time-bound fashions. On the contrary their hair, and, in an odd way, the set of their faces were entirely in the style of my own time.'

In short, the decisive moment for Mr Hitchens is the moment when he becomes aware of his own sinfulness, and the sinfulness of his generation. It is a revelation as old as John the Baptist and as modern as Malcolm Muggeridge.

Interestingly, however, Mr Hitchens does not lose sight of the fact that repentance, while redeeming the sinner, does not erase consequences. The Anglican Church to which he returns is a body which has been twisted out of true by the overwhelming influence of the secular world that surrounds it, and the assumptions that Mr Hitchens previously held are, in their general acceptance, seen as a growing threat to everything he has now come to value. It is this bitter realisation of the damage done that constitutes the most interesting passage of the book, though this reader was amused by the somewhat insular assertion that it is to Thomas Cranmer's 'skill' as a 'dramatist' that we owe the fact that 'the service of Holy Communion is a perpetual re-enactment of the night of the last supper' - there's over a thousand years of history missing there, isn't there?

Mr Hitchens deals rather more conventionally, but none the less ably, with the arguments tthat secular atheists have deployed with such anger against religion. The book makes a very significant point when it illustrates with judicious quotation, the persistent ignorance, folly, and moral blindness of the worldly wise. Virginia Woolf is shown sitting, like a cultural Caiaphas, in judgment on the conversion of T.S.Eliot (he 'may be called dead to us from this day forward'); Beatrice and Sidney Webb hail the advent of the kingdom of heaven on earth in Stalin's Russia; and Professor Richard Dawkins opines that the religious education of children by their parents is worse than child sex abuse - which is a good demonstration of the limits of unsupported 'rationalism'. In the end, says Mr.Hitchens, people will believe what they want to believe, usually because it suits them,personally. And while he admits that this applies equally to Christians, Mr Hitchens nevertheless suggests that there are such things as absolute standards, and that the objects of a man's illusions are often the best way of judging what sort of person he is. Here too, he says nothing new, for as Solomon put it -'Every way of a man is right in his own sight, but the Lord weigheth hearts (Proverbs 21.2).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 31 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I actually can't recommend this book enough. I read the book in a day, which is a testament to how brilliant Peter Hitchen's writing style is. The book was written in a captivating prose, and was thoroughly entertaining, whilst still educating.

The book starts out biographically and summaries why Peter turned to Atheism, and why he turned back to Theism. He then goes onto consider the argument that Atheism doesn't need God to decide what is right and wrong. Next he considers the myth that Atheist states are not evil. He refutes these arguments not through philosophy or science, but simply through his own experiences of Communist Russia. He looks at some of the ways that regime damaged humans lives, did acts that were simply horrendous and all in the name of the `common good'.

Finally, and this is the part of the book that left me with Goosebumps, was his comments on Dawkins' argument that raising children in a faith is equivalent to child abuse. It was horrifying to see how close such Atheist statements were to Russian propaganda (illustrations given in the book), and really made one consider what the future of our society held if we continue like this. Such a future most certainly includes the wilful limitation of rights in accordance with such Atheist manifestos.

Its harrowing to see how this was recently attempted by Harriet Harmans' Equality Bill, which wanted to dictate that one no longer had a choice on what they thought about homosexuality, or other personal beliefs they held. According to the Act if one discriminated against another they would be `criminally' liable (emphasis added). The limitation of such fundamental Human Rights as freedom of speech or thought should never be considered a good thing no matter what the crux issue used is to open this rift (in most cases it's now religion). It's also interesting to cross reference the corruption that is Harman Office against the corruption that was the Atheist state of Russia. Doing so tends to show us where our country is heading.

Having read Peter's book I have suddenly developed a new found love for CS Lewis' moral argument. I have to agree with Peter, as a lawyer it's obvious that our country is based on Christian morality. At the end of the day belief in God is a personal choice. God cannot be proved nor disproved on the basis that he is transcendent and beyond enquiry. Some would say that this argument is simply a cop-out, whilst others would not. However at the end of the day, like Peter, I have to be honest and say our society is better with its Christian morals and history than without. And so I wilfully believe in God and exult in our national religion, and the place it affords me in history. Knowing that I am part of a national identify that goes back over a thousand years is something I have missed for far too long.

I simply hope others will read this book and take away a similar message to me. As Peter suggests, it may already be too late to holt the destruction of our society being done here, but if we don't wake up soon the shock maybe even greater than we expect.

Enjoyed the book, and thoroughly recommend the same. It the eye opening factor itself was worth the money so much so that I have now moved onto reading Peter's Broken Compass book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rage Against God, 24 Jan 2013
A very interesting insight on how faith shapes and guides our societies ethics and values. The points put forward in this book are free from angst riddled codes of rhetoric. This book seemed to me to be a genuine account of a man's disillusion with philosophies posed by modern day free thinkers and the repercussions they have on a societies moral conscience. Overall I found that Peter Hitchens 'Rage Against God' provides a mature attitude towards faith in Christ , I also found his commentary on countries run without tolerance for faith very telling of humanities ambitions and where they can lead us. This is a very enjoyable read that explains a man's journey from atheism to finding faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still with all this I feel that I would like to thank Peter Hitchens for helping me make sense ..., 23 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Rage Against God (Paperback)
The identification I found with this book was quite remarkable. Peter Hitchens details very well the insensitivity and cruelty of his Godless generation. He relates to the 1960's hippy movement, socialism, and how the intellectual and sexual freedoms destroyed so many lives, which is still evident in so much of todays slightly older than me generation.

Seeing society very much the same way as Peter does, and yet my comprehensive postmodern schooling was far removed from Peters school where Christianity thrived. Still with all this I feel that I would like to thank Peter Hitchens for helping me make sense of it all, a kind of confirmation. Ultimately I find this in my Bible studies, but Peter has given here an account of how we could be dragged into a Godless place that has probably never been seen in the UK. Atheist see no further, or higher, than their own eyes, and this view is not deliberate, they just dont know, even with all that intellect they have managed to stray miles from the path that leads to peace. Great book, thanks. Graham t Harvey. theramblingbricklayer.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strong theme, needs more hard thinking, 23 May 2010
Peter Hitchens was pursued by his publisher to deliver this title, likely because it feeds off a brotherly rivalry with Christopher, notorious publicist for dubious ideas. I was attracted to Peter's book because I do feel that the decline of religious faith opens the door to all sorts of utopianism, of which PC is but the leading edge.

Peter divides his book into roughly two parts, one focusing on his personal story and relating it to his move away from, then back to, religion. Then he launches into a broad-horizon attack on the most noxious trends in modern history and society -- most of which he relates to the culture's move away from God.

The Soviet revolution gets most of the attention, mostly because of his experience in Moscow as a reporter. He found a dreadful society, slovenly and irresponsible in the fullest sense. He relates this to the downgrading of individual conscience and morality. He also criticizes his own and others' (hello, Christopher) foolish interest in monsters like Lenin and Trotsky, who set in motion this tragedy. Peter finds atheism at the root of the Soviet disaster and fervently reiterates that link.

Elsewhere, he sees steady moral decline, notably in Britain, whose specific history (WWI losses, decline of Empire, Suez, etc.) is apparently the root of British disaffection with churches. This is not too convincing, as other societies have experienced the effects of secularization, with no similar history.

Peter H. calls himself a graduate of the University of Fleet Street, and it shows. He is good with anecdotes and descriptive bits. But his reasoning and philosophical grounds for some judgements are pretty weak.

When he says that there can be no binding definition of the good or obligatory moral action without God, he cobbles together various arguments. At one point, I looked at the index for references to Immanuel Kant, arguably the greatest modern philosopher; he spent hundreds of pages reasoning this all out. No reference at all. Has this Fleet Street journalist read Kant? In truth, I dunno. No mention of Nietzsche either, and the figures of the Enlightenment only fleetingly.

And even on its own terms, Peter H.'s argument fails to address inconsistencies; for example, he cites Bertrand Russell as an outspoken agnostic/atheist, yet also a man of sturdy common sense. Russell met Lenin and Trotsky in 1920 and quickly sized them up as fanatics, and the latter as a dangerous crackpot with his hands on the secret police. Russell was not at all seduced by their utopianism. Why?

Really, more depth needed for a full discussion of religion and morality, although as a confession of a life gone wrong (Marxism), then redeemed (the Gospels), this book can be quite interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense Written Down, 26 April 2010
By 
Jonathan Green (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are already some good reviews here, so there's no need to duplicate the basic outline of this book.

"The Rage Against God" is a good general reposte to the "New Atheism" which seems to be getting too much attention these days.

It must have been somewhat more difficult to write in the context of Peter's relationship with his brother Christopher (who wrote the appalling book "God is Not Great").

The New Atheism is a completely failed philosophy - and Peter Hitchen's explains why. I heartily recommend his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rage Against God
The Rage Against God by Peter Hitchens (Paperback - 6 Feb 2011)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews