Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of NYC
So I know nothing about the era or the place where Television lived and made their music. For me, therefore, its great that this book was written about, for what is for most people, an obscure album. I love Marquee Moon of course. I liked this book. Easy to read, and takes you deep into the micro-cosm out of which such magic emerged.
Published 5 months ago by Hud

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Boring
The book is very well documented, but it gives not so much an insight of Television's music as an insight on the contest in which Marquee Moon was born.

At times sound a bit redundant in its being so thorough, the author did his homework indeed which is good, but can be a bit boring sometimes.

Almost no juicy anectodtes on song composing, nor studio...
Published 18 months ago by Jacopo Ghioldi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Boring, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Television's Marquee Moon (33 1/3) (Paperback)
The book is very well documented, but it gives not so much an insight of Television's music as an insight on the contest in which Marquee Moon was born.

At times sound a bit redundant in its being so thorough, the author did his homework indeed which is good, but can be a bit boring sometimes.

Almost no juicy anectodtes on song composing, nor studio trickery and all that: in case you like these sort of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Disappointing, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Television's Marquee Moon (33 1/3) (Paperback)
I would suggest that Mr Waterman should read John Perry's excellent entry in to this series on Hendrix's Electric Ladyland to see how a book like this should be done. At £6 for less than 200 pages, it's fairly shocking that the album in question doesn't get a look in until over three quarters of the way through the book, and even then each song is given a cursory 2 or 3 page "analysis"
What's worse is the thinness of the analysis. I admit i had set ny bar high expecting something along the lines of Ian MacDonald's mighty "Revolution in the Head" or Simon Goddards equally exhaustive tome on the Smiths.
Instead we get 150 pages of second or third hand gossip. And 30 year old gossip at that. If i wanted a who's who of the CBGB scene i's have read Clinton Heylin. Oh wait. i have read Clinton Heylin. And Love goes to buildings on fire. And the hundreds of interviews, articles and essays that are miles better than this.
I wanted a book about "Marquee Moon" the album, not another "and richard said to Tom, and Tom said to Patti and Patti said to Debbi" account from someone who was 12 at the time and living in Nowhere, Idaho.
AND THEN when we finally get to the album, what does our Bryan have to say? What does he latch his insight to, when analyzing an album that set the sonic template for the next 30 years, that featured not One but TWO of the best guitarist of their era? The LYRICS!!!! Even with lyrical Titans like Dylan or Waits, the words are only half the story. With a songwriter as oblique as Verlaine, your on a long ride to nowhere there my friend. Especially when you get the words wrong. (it's fly a Phantom, not fly a fountain. Try reading the sleeve next time)
My advice. Borrow a copy off this off anyone who's got it. Read the bibliography, and then go and read them. Don't waste your time with this dreck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of NYC, 19 Oct. 2014
By 
So I know nothing about the era or the place where Television lived and made their music. For me, therefore, its great that this book was written about, for what is for most people, an obscure album. I love Marquee Moon of course. I liked this book. Easy to read, and takes you deep into the micro-cosm out of which such magic emerged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a MUST HAVE for Television fans, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Television's Marquee Moon (33 1/3) (Paperback)
I'll make this bried, if you're a fan of Television then you need this book. So little has been written about this amazing and influential New York punk band that if you're interested, you need to read this to fill in the gaps on what you may aready know. If that wasnt enough its a well written little tome that sheds light onto the early days of punk. My only gripe is that the authr didnt track down Tom Verlaine but we all know that Tom Verlaine is a difficult man to track down and a reluctant interviewee. A well written and essential book for all fans of Television, Tom Verlaine and New York punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything i wanted and much more, 28 July 2012
This review is from: Television's Marquee Moon (33 1/3) (Paperback)
A great little book, that gets in all the biographical details, description of studio time and analysis of the songs that I expected. It also functions as the most interesting analysis of the roots of the CBGBs scene I've come across, examining the continuity with previous NY scenes and the creation of the founding myths of punk, and what truth those myths actually contain. Waterman applies an academic standard but avoids fustiness and pretention. Slows down a little toward the end but on the whole brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Television's Marquee Moon (33 1/3) (Paperback)
this is one of the best books about music I've ever read. it's engrossing, detailed and meticulously-researched. I'd maybe have liked a bit more about the influence of the album - and the worst bits of the book are those which talk about the songs (but this is a recurring issue with 33 1/3 books). if you have the album - or if not - this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Television's Marquee Moon (33 1/3)
Television's Marquee Moon (33 1/3) by Bryan Waterman (Paperback - 11 Aug. 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews