Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Extra Mile
First heard about this book on Good Morning Sunday on Radio 2. An excellent read, well written and includes many fascinating pieces about such places as Lindisfarne, Iona and Glastonbury which were new to me even after having visited the places. A book which should appeal to a wide cross-section of people including those inreested in Christianity, history, new-age and...
Published on 8 April 2010 by Rev. D. G. Wakefield

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing
I did enjoy this book, over all, but Mr. Stanford's flipant views, based on short visits and not allowing himself to be a part of a place or be touched by what was happening, particularly the sections about Walsingham (New Dawn is a great experience if you have an open mind and stay for the whole week) and also Lindisfarne (I come from the North East) rather spoilt this...
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Extra Mile, 8 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First heard about this book on Good Morning Sunday on Radio 2. An excellent read, well written and includes many fascinating pieces about such places as Lindisfarne, Iona and Glastonbury which were new to me even after having visited the places. A book which should appeal to a wide cross-section of people including those inreested in Christianity, history, new-age and visiting places in England, Scotland and Wales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The extra Mile, 12 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the perfect way for the reader to get a little of the experience of visiting one of the many Holy places in this country. As someone who has visited a couple I can assure you they give a perfect feel for the places. I have no doubt the rest will too. I will be trying a few more. You do not need to be religious for this book just someone who would like to experience a calming influence.The Extra Mile: A 21st Century Pilgrimage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable!, 20 Mar 2010
I bought this yesterday & started it at 4am today - it's irresistable. The easy style, chatty but crammed with info, is both humorous & erudite - it's a combo that only comes to the experienced writer. That Peter Stanford certainly is. He has several books to his credit and a career in newspapers. In The Extra Mile he visits eight shrines or sacred spaces in different parts of Britain, among them Stonehenge,Glastonbury, Lindisfarne and Bardsey. And I wanted to rush off and see them all beginning with the dressed wells in Derbyshire. Of course religion, ALL sorts of religions come into the book but lightly, and often with an unusual twist.The biggest surprise for me was the increase in the number of pilgrims visiting these places: one would have thought that in this post-christian-secular age such practises would have died out. Far from it as Peter Stanford goes to show in this delightful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing, 15 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Extra Mile: A 21st Century Pilgrimage (Paperback)
I did enjoy this book, over all, but Mr. Stanford's flipant views, based on short visits and not allowing himself to be a part of a place or be touched by what was happening, particularly the sections about Walsingham (New Dawn is a great experience if you have an open mind and stay for the whole week) and also Lindisfarne (I come from the North East) rather spoilt this book. Give yourself more time to soak in all the places you visit, Mr. Stanford and try and lose some of the journalist in you with all the preconceptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of pilgrim sites in the UK, 11 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Stanford decided to spend a year visiting various sites of pilgrimage in the UK. It is not limited to Christian sites, but due to our history nearly all the sites are old Catholic sites connected with saints or devotions that used to be popular. Stonehenge is the obvious exception and there are a couple of others. I found it interesting but a bit light weight. I'm not quite sure what I had expected as I purchased it based on a couple of reviews in Catholic papers that I read. There are small groups of believers (whose beliefs vary widely) that still find these sites important but I mostly got the impression of forgotten places and believers who were definitely in the minority of the general population. If you are interested in that sort of thing, you will like the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Extra Mile: A 21st Century Pilgrimage
The Extra Mile: A 21st Century Pilgrimage by Peter Stanford (Paperback - 1 April 2011)
10.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews