Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Presence Sister Wendy on the Earlist Icons
I found the book profound and sincere. Sister Wendy's simple and sincere approach to her work is refreshing. The print was clear and the reproductions good. She writes as she speaks and I could hear her voice in my mind. I enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone wishing to understand the meaning of Icons and indeed early Christianinty. This is a book for the...
Published on 24 Jan 2011 by Lizzy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Generally OK, but not quite what I was expecting
Published 2 months ago by KTS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Presence Sister Wendy on the Earlist Icons, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: Real Presence (Hardcover)
I found the book profound and sincere. Sister Wendy's simple and sincere approach to her work is refreshing. The print was clear and the reproductions good. She writes as she speaks and I could hear her voice in my mind. I enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone wishing to understand the meaning of Icons and indeed early Christianinty. This is a book for the 'searcher' as well as the historically interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and Contemplative, 4 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Presence (Hardcover)
A beautiful presented and written book. A great book to escape to and contemplate the wonders and mystery of iconography and the meanings behind them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REAL PRESENCE IN SEARCH OF THE EARLIEST ICONS SISTER WENDY BECKETT, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Ms B. Peters "BP" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Presence (Hardcover)
SISTER WENDY RESUMES THE JOURNEY SHE MADE IN "ENCOUNTERS WITH GOD"
TRAVELLING TO REMOTE CHURCHES AND MONASTERIES TO SEEK AND FIND THE EARLIEST ICONS THAT HAVE SURVIVED THE DESTRUCTION OF THE EARLY 8TH CENTURY
PRAYERFUL AND HEARTFELT SINCERITY -A REALLY ENLIGHTENING BOOK
AS ALWAYS FROM DEAR SISTER WENDY BECKETT
THE READER SHARES IN A VERY EXCITING SPIRITUAL JOURNEY OF HAPPINESS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Presence (Hardcover)
A Christmas present to be read sneakily before being wrapped up....she's such a thoughtful critic, it makes looking at icons a whole new experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Presence (Hardcover)
A lovely book, which has interesting and beautiful icons from early medieval times, some from monasteries including St Catherines,
it has a chapter of Christ icons and also of Mary among others, it has a lot of information and descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Presence (Hardcover)
Lovely and informative. Quietly informing us of ancient viewing of Christianity,. Recommended to anyone who wants to learn about early Christian devotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Presence (Hardcover)
informative and helpful and great artistic inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Real Presence (Hardcover)
Generally OK, but not quite what I was expecting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Real Presence
Real Presence by Sister Wendy Beckett (Hardcover - 6 Mar 2008)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews