Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All theology should be like this
This is a beautiful book. It is intelligent, lucid, subtle, and very hard to put down. Ben Quash writes with great integrity and relevant personal reflections, on the meaning of 'abiding' in places, communities, relationships, and one's own mind and body. Quash is Professor of Christianity and the Arts at King's College London and each chapter employs examples from...
Published 23 months ago by CRR

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I have greatly enjoyed and learned from other work by this author so I was somewhat disappointed with this book.

For a Lent book, the chapters are overlong (even the epilogue) for group use and require some stamina for individual reading, especially if one is to meditate on their contents rather than merely reading them.

By far the most relevant...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. D. P. Jay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curates Egg, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much of this book is truly wonderful and will give the reader fresh insights into the joy of the Christian life. I personally didn't find all of the analogies helpful, but that comes down to personal taste and others may find some appealing to them that I found unhelpful e.g."The Dude" Highly recommended as a book to read and ponder at any time but particularly in Lent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very relevant book for our time., 14 Mar 2013
By 
Bryan Parsons "Living a Way" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abiding (Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book) (Paperback)
A great book, full of meaningful insights. An excellent understanding of what it means to live a Christian life in the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Abstract Lent book, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abiding (Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book) (Paperback)
Started out well, but very cerebral and abstract for an ancient grandmother. Recommendation by Archbishop Rowan should have told me it would not be easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Lent book, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book to which one will return after this Lent. A brilliant combination of art and faith - thanks to the author and Rowan Williams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Abiding, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abiding (Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book) (Paperback)
Some parts of the book touched me profoundly, but I felt a little contrived in some respects where practically every subject was drawn it. It gave it a rather patch work quilt effect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lent Book with a difference, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abiding (Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book) (Paperback)
This is a very thought provoking book for Christians to follow in a discussion group - not for reading without discussion. It provokes one to thought and action in your journey of faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More than a Lent Book, 29 April 2013
By 
Square Peg (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on the recommendation of the Archbishop - not personally, you understand! It is well written with the assumption that the reader can understand complex language and concepts. In my case, not always a safe assumption to make - but it's nice not to be talked down to. He makes some interesting connections with modern culture and labours to be 'relevant' - awful word. Perhaps the theme of 'abiding' becomes a little laboured itself at time, but it was a good, thought-provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christian Spirituality Abiding in a Nutshell, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are all familiar with the expression; `to settle down` in connection with a committed human relationship. In this oh so readable book; Ben Quash suggests that we should `settle down` with God - dwell with God - abide in God. He roots Christian spirituality in relationship, introduced and illustrated by delightful characters, traditions, church history, personal anecdotes, scripture and theology, that makes it delightful, profound, inspiring, exciting, convincing; and with that comfortableness that comes from a feeling of `rightness`.

A truly wonderful read; it should be in the `Adventure` section!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abiding (Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book) (Paperback)
I have chosen four books to read this Lent: this one is a great start to any reader's considered list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too cerebral, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abiding (Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book) (Paperback)
I ordered this book in eager anticipation having used previous 'Archbishop of Canterbury's studies for Lent'. However, I have found this one very disappointing - it is far too cerebral and theoretical - at times becoming almost incomprehensible - and at times becoming too a superficial review of literature. It is not grounded in everyday life and experiences. I have not found it therefore to be a helpful guide or companion to the Lenten disciplines of reflection and re-evaluation. Previous studies issued for Lent are much better.
Not reccommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abiding (Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book)
Abiding (Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book) by Ben Quash (Paperback - 22 Nov 2012)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews