Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The widening gap between Britain's politicians and Britain's people is killing British democracy
If you are familiar with Hitchens' writing you'll know what is happening. A liberal-Left 'consensus' has seized the commanding heights of power in Britain. It controls politics, the media and most of public life. It is using lies, coercion and political correctness to impose its lunatic Utopian dreams on the British people. The will of the electorate has been subverted by...
Published on 6 April 2010 by Lance Grundy

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good rant
I would have enjoyed it more if his publisher wasn't having him plug is other bloody books every other paragraph!
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Patrick Fleischer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The widening gap between Britain's politicians and Britain's people is killing British democracy, 6 April 2010
By 
Lance Grundy (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
If you are familiar with Hitchens' writing you'll know what is happening. A liberal-Left 'consensus' has seized the commanding heights of power in Britain. It controls politics, the media and most of public life. It is using lies, coercion and political correctness to impose its lunatic Utopian dreams on the British people. The will of the electorate has been subverted by these powerful forces as all three major political parties in Britain now subscribe to the same Fabian socialist ideology and the voters have no choice but to vote for one or other of the New Left Marxoid clones being imposed on their constituencies by the party leaderships. Effectively, in modern Britain, democracy has already been abolished.

How did it come to this? What happened to the old ideas of 'Left' and 'Right'? Why are the supposed 'left-wing' Labour Party in agreement with the supposed 'right-wing' Tory Party about almost every single issue you care to name and why does the so-called 'centre party' - the Liberal Democrats - agree with them both on nearly everything? Why has Britain's political compass become stuck pointing towards an authoritarian, socialist future? In this book Hitchens makes a heroic attempt to explain what has gone wrong with Britain's political compass, its political and media class and the kind of future we're headed for if we don't change direction soon.

The book covers some very interesting ground. In Part One "The New Permanent Government of Britain" he provides an insider's guide to the world of political journalism, exposing how it operates and how the media has become nothing more than a channel for state propaganda. He also explains how opinion polls are used to manipulate public opinion rather than reflect it. In Part Two "The Left Escapes to the West" he takes us on a fascinating journey through 1970s and 1980s communist Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union where he spent years living and working under 'real existing socialism' - a depressing, yet eye-opening, experience that converted him from a student revolutionary Marxist into one of Britain's foremost social, cultural and moral conservatives. He recalls with horror that on returning to Britain after years of working overseas he found that the very same socialism he had just witnessed being overthrown in the East had now taken root in the West. Part Three "Britain through the Looking Glass" is a harsh polemic against the kind of poisonous, Gramscian political correctness and radical anti-family, anti-Christian ideology he feels is being used to deconstruct British society.

Throughout this book Hitchens' loathing of New Labour and his hatred of the Tories is plain for all to see. Even the title of the book "The Cameron Delusion" [the hardback version was published as "The Broken Compass"] is a deliberate attempt to do as much damage as possible to the Tory's election prospects between now and the General Election. The Tory Party, he suggests, are power-mad, bereft of ideas, politically naïve, traitorous and utterly unprincipled in their pursuit of office. They are as beholden to big business, the anti-democratic EU and outdated Fabian claptrap as New Labour. According to Hitchens, a Tory government under David Cameron's leadership offers the country five more years of the same kind of worn-out and discredited policies that have already done so much damage to the country.

Hitchens' free-thinking opinions are now so counter-orthodoxy that he is one of most radical journalist commentators around. If you can find the time to read this book between now and the election then I'd recommend you do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful critique of modern conservatism, 25 Oct 2010
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
In this exciting book, journalist Peter Hitchens examines the modern Conservative party. He attacks the `thought-free, obsolete idea of Left and Right' and notes that our MPs now represent the state to the people, not the people to the state.
He denounces NATO as `the military arm of the new interventionist idealism' and exposes the `New Cold War' lie - "the invented threat abroad is used to justify a stronger state at home." He opposes the war on Iraq and the `war against Terror', which, like the Cold War, is a permanent war supposedly justifying a permanent state of emergency.
Hitchens attacks the Tories wrecking of our railways and our locomotive and carriage works industry. He points out that the Tories asked for the Beeching report and implemented it and that, decades later, they chose `a particularly damaging form of privatisation of the railways'. He notes that the EU `imposed the privatisation everyone decries as wrong'.
He comments, "The Left are right to put part of the blame for the current riot of selfishness on the shoulders of Lady Thatcher. ... they are right to perceive a moral emptiness in her government, which showed no interest in moral or cultural issues ..." He writes, "I couldn't identify with the car-obsessed, pinstriped, market-worshipping, greedy supporters she attracted."
He reminds us that the Tory party "enthusiastically took Britain into the Common Market, negotiated the Single Market and the Single European Act and the Treaty of Maastricht, repeatedly giving away vetoes, fishing grounds and chunks of independence. It is the party which, after two years posing as `sceptical' and dishonestly promising a referendum on the issue, last November accepted the European Constitution as a fait accompli. ... his [Cameron's] promises of safeguards against further EU advances were meaningless and politically illiterate."
All three parties, and the `left', insult the British people when they deride as xenophobes those who want to leave the EU and those who oppose mass immigration: 47 percent of the British public want us to leave the EU and 70 per cent oppose mass immigration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of the Hitchslap, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
I first cottoned onto the journalism of Hitchens from Question Time. His article in the Mail on Sunday is always the common sense perspective and this book does not disappoint on that front. You may not agree with it all but in general he speaks the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for citizens of UK, 25 Oct 2013
By 
J. Knott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
This book is written with a light touch, for such a serious range of topics. It is reasonable, not hectoring, and offers the political insights which are so elusive to members of the public, in a readable and informative manner.

The thoughts are those of a mature observer, who has been in the front line.

Everyone who feels any warmth for their country should read it, and maybe everyone who can vote should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid despite the new crowd pleasing title, 15 July 2010
By 
Chris (Selby, Nth Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
This is a very enjoyable read. There are many issues I disagree with Peter on, notably on foreign policy and religion but I think anyone who doesn't read this as a persuasive argument for a more classically conservative government is doing themselves a disservice. It is worth pointing out though, that typically Peter makes no effort to mince his words and does sometimes sound like the over-the-top paranoid 'Red under the Bed' conservative that he is often accused of being. This is isn't necessarily a bad thing, but many readers who aren't die-hard Christians for instance may feel at times alienated from some of his arguments.

The book was originally entitled the Broken Compass, which I think was a better title as the new one seems to imply a more populist polemic on the idiot David Cameron rather than a study of the wider forces at play in British politics. On that point one would think this would focus on the history of the conservative party. As it happens the book is structured by laying out what mostly left-wing governments have done since the second world war, while highlighting the failures of the Conservatives to do anything about it before or after such changes has taken place.

It also worth noting that the book is less of a narrative history, but reads more like a collection of essays with chapters broken down into topics such as education and privatisation etc. It is further worth emphasising here that despite the 200 page description the book is written with much larger print than a normal book this size, and was devoured by myself in a matter of hours. This didn't detract from the book, but is something that future purchasers might wish to know.

In particular it is worth noting the passionate and excellent chapter on education, but I also found it surprising how little immigration was touched upon in this book. Finally I often see it mentioned on Amazon reviews that readers have noticed poor editing, and am always surprised as someone who never sees errors in published books. This was one of the first times that I read a book where a good handful of grammatical errors were missed that popped up at me.

In conclusion even if you aren't a die-hard Hitchens fan like the reviewer below, and you are willing to push through some of the over the top dialogue in the introduction you will find some brilliant and persuasive arguments that should at least make you reconsider some of the mainstream political opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of they most important books of our time, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. T. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
I recently read "The Abolition of Britain" and I began to understand why my life was not like my parents life. "The Cameron Delusion" added greatly to my understanding.
I for one and delighted there is a person like Peter Hitchens capable of writing such a magnificent book.
I tell everyone I know to buy both books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly readable and informative but found wanting, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
Peter Hitchens is a good writer and "The Cameron Delusion" is highly readable, informative and adds to our understanding of the direction our society has taken while giving us an inkling of what awaits us if we carry on on the current elite-prescribed course.

The book is particularly critical of Fabianism which the author correctly identifies as the origin of New Labour's dogma and I fully agree with his view that non-Fabian (non-socialist) parties like the Conservatives must either oppose the Fabian dogma in thought and deed, in which case they will need to be dogmatic about what they prefer to it, or they must accept the arguments of their opponents - which, unfortunately, is precisely what they have chosen to do.

I am also with Hitchens on most of the facts he points out, like the "similarity between Communists using power and Fabians seeking it". And this is why I can't avoid the feeling that he could have expanded on the role played by the Fabian Society in all this, as well as on its links to key figures in the Labour Party and elsewhere.

The Fabian Society is only mentioned in connection with its refusal to publish a pamphlet by Labourite Stephen Pollard. Blair's connections to the Fabian Society are overlooked and New Labour architect Peter Mandelson is described as a member of the Young Communist League but not of the Young Fabians, the Fabian Society's under-31s section that grooms Fabians to become Labour MPs.

Another key piece of information that is missing is the leaders of international finance (e.g., the Rothschilds and the Rockefellers) and their support for Fabian projects like the London School of Economics (LSE) without which Fabianism wouldn't be in the position of influence and power it commands. Mandelson's connections to the Rothschilds and Blair's connections to the Rockefellers are neither accidental nor inconsequential.

In 1993, Blair (a long-time Fabian Society member) joined the Global Leaders of Tomorrow group whose members pledged themselves to advance the agenda of the World Economic Forum - an outfit controlled by the Rockefellers and associated oil and banking giants - and later became chairman of the Rockefellers' J P Morgan International Council, all of which would go a long way in explaining his behaviour both in and out of office.

On the Conservative side, a classic example of successful leftist infiltration in operation may be found in Oliver Letwin, a former Fabian Society member who served as Rothschild director as well as adviser to the Conservative Party since the days of Thatcher.

Any narrative that ignores the strong links between the system's Fabian-engineered leftward progression and subversive money interests (as if the Fabian project was financed by Santa Claus) must get bogged down in generalities while failing to address the central issue.

For reasons only known to himself, Hitchens isn't any more forthcoming in his online blogs on the Fabian Society or, for that matter, any of his other writings.

While "The Cameron Delusion" may be recommendable on its own merits, those who wish to take their study of the topic further - and I strongly believe that Fabianism should be made the subject of serious critical study - should read Ioan Ratiu's "The Milner-Fabian Conspiracy" and Rose Martin's "Fabian Freeway".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone with a growing interest in uk politics, 29 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
Disclaimer: This review is essentially for "The Broken Compass" which I'm led to believe is the same book bar 1 additional chapter.

This book is one of the most eye opening books I have read. Peter Hitchens writes with superb clarity, intelligence and wisdom, arguing how the mainstream political parties have grown farther away from there core voters beliefs and affiliations to such an extent that they represent them in name only. He delves into the collaborations with the media and politicians, the erosion of education in the fall of meritocracy, and even gives an autobiographical entry of his time as a foreign correspondent in the last days of the soviet union and his time spent working as a socialist industrial journalist, plus how he gradually changed his mind to the views he held back in the 60s/70s to what he holds today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely Entertaining, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Cameron Delusion (Paperback)
It is with some trepidation that I venture to review this book given that at least one reviewer has had the pleasure of comments direct from the author.

I read this because I simply don't think that David Cameron is up to the job and I wanted to see what a very experienced political journalist with, presumably, close access to Mr Cameron had to say on the subject. Well the Cameron Delusion as the "updated" edition of the Broken Compass is called is a bit of a delusion. There's not much of this book about Mr Cameron. (hence only 4 stars).

Instead we are treated to a marvellously entertaining rant about the ills of society today. The absence of a proper Conservative party is the root cause. Spanning a wide range of subjects (racism, marriage, homosexuality to name but three) the author explains how genuine concerns, which he shares, have been addressed but subsequently hijacked for purposes which go way beyond dealing with the original problem. All of this is very well argued and well written.

I don't really agree with any of it. For example the analysis that the privileges afforded to the state of marriage are being eroded by civil partnerships is predicated on a big assumption - which is that marriage is a good thing. Well as it happens I think it is a good thing but that's my judgment and although it is the author's too I recognise that it is an assumption and that a contrary view is quite legitimate.

But although I don't agree with any of it and I was disappointed at the sparsity of the material on Mr Cameron I still recommend it. Good books should entertain you, make you think and challenge you and this does all of those things. There are also quite a lot of laughs - again not a bad thing for a book to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars root causes of the UK's political and moral demise, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cameron Delusion (Kindle Edition)
Peter Hitchens (Mail on Sunday) brother of the late Christopher Hitchens (famous new atheist) gives a fascinating narrative of everything that has gone wrong politically and morally in the UK since the the first world war. Hitchens tackles issues as to why all the main political parties in the UK look very much the same today. An intriguing read! Hitchens is a sane man in this insane world.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cameron Delusion
The Cameron Delusion by Peter Hitchens (Paperback - 17 Mar 2010)
£7.69
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews