Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody hell Bennett!
To say this book makes me laugh out loud then suddenly sober up as I realise the serious point Tom has just made afterwards is to admit that Atilla the Hun was not the most diplomatic of hairy horse-borne Mongolians. This book gives you advice. chuckles and a bloody good insight into the world of teaching and how to survive it. Time and again I said to myself, seen this,...
Published on 16 July 2012 by DAVID

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Guide
This is... a difficult book to review. It it presented and marketed as a practical guide... but it is not. The first 2/3 of the book are all about virtue ethics and the history and philosophy of education. Only at the very end do we get any helpful tips for what to do in the classroom rather than how to improve our character. As a philosophy of education book, it is good...
Published 12 months ago by Daniel Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody hell Bennett!, 16 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching (Paperback)
To say this book makes me laugh out loud then suddenly sober up as I realise the serious point Tom has just made afterwards is to admit that Atilla the Hun was not the most diplomatic of hairy horse-borne Mongolians. This book gives you advice. chuckles and a bloody good insight into the world of teaching and how to survive it. Time and again I said to myself, seen this, done that and got the T shirt for THAT lesson! Tom's advice is sound and sprinkled with little gems of pixie dust but ends by saying "By now you should realize one simple truth about becoming a better teacher: Teacher training goes on forever." This book will help with that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All teachers please read..., 2 July 2012
This review is from: Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching (Paperback)
All PGCE students should read this book. It will give them the opportunity to think through their preconceptions about teaching that usually arise from their own school experience. This book does not just give help on how to a 'good' teacher but will help think about who do you want to be as a teacher. The chapters on the history of teaching and how policy is made are excellent to help understand where we find ourselves today in context.
Importantly, this book is not just for students. All teachers will benefit from 'The Workout' chapters. So many of us teachers find ourselves in the situation where we consider why we do this job. Tom Bennett gives us a checklist of tasks that will self-challenge and rediscover why we do this job. And he does it hilariously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Guide, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching (Paperback)
This is... a difficult book to review. It it presented and marketed as a practical guide... but it is not. The first 2/3 of the book are all about virtue ethics and the history and philosophy of education. Only at the very end do we get any helpful tips for what to do in the classroom rather than how to improve our character. As a philosophy of education book, it is good. But as a guide to help you "master the art and craft of teaching?" Not so good. If that is what you are after, Bennet's other book "The Behaviour Guru" far surpasses this one, alternatively, Phil Beadle's "How to Teach" is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring and down to earth read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will help you to be a better teacher whilst daunting you along the way, a test of steel maybe. This is a book that will make you proud to fly the colours of being a 'teacher' and reveal some ideas you won't have thought of I'm sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Bennett *so far*, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A contemporary commentator on Education, Tom's voice is informed, quirky and laced with wit. Worthwhile reading at any stage in your career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching (Paperback)
After enjoying Tom Bennett's 'Behaviour Guru' blog with his laugh out loud insights and observations, that only just remain on the the right side of the line, I was very much looking forward to his new book. It did not disappoint. Tom's knowledge surrounding the teaching profession offers a deeper understanding of what it means to be a teacher, written in an accessible, entertaining way.

His love of the profession is infectious, as is his enthusiasm to motivate others to be the best teacher possible. That said, the book is from the perspective of a real live teacher who acknowledges that everyday won't be apples and Dead Poets. You don't have to agree with every strategy he suggests or position he takes in order to get great value from reading this book. Can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mentor/colleague that you wish you had, 16 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching (Paperback)
Tom Bennett's new book is the best two hundred pages on the subject that I've ever read. In its pages you will find wisdom, humour, anecdotes and above all the optimism necessary to survive in our profession. Reading it I was gratified to find validation for things that I do, reminders of things that I have forgotten and ideas that I have never thought of in twenty years of teaching. This old dog just learned some new tricks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last...someone who cuts through the proverbial!, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching (Paperback)
This is a great read. Interesting and amusing, I've been a teacher for sixteen years and it made me think about what I'm doing more carefully. I've already recommended it to my mentees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Bennett at his genius best!, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching (Paperback)
Toms writing style is laugh out loud funny and highly addictive. You will not want to put this book down! The practical advice of mastering the minefield that is teaching is invaluable. A must buy for newbies but it could also teach any old dogs out there a few tricks. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self-help for teachers, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching (Paperback)
Funny, opinionated, thoughtful and thought-provoking. Everything we have come to expect from Tom Bennett's writing. Teachers - whether prospective, newly-qualified or grizzled ancients like Tom - should read this book. You may not agree with everything he says, but he will make you think. And he will make you a better teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching
Teacher: Mastering the Art and Craft of Teaching by Tom Bennett (Paperback - 31 May 2012)
16.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews