Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great guide with advice from published names, 27 Aug. 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
If there's any genre that's guaranteed to have readers thinking "I can write that!!!!" it's the sci-fi/fantasy genre. However the truth is, it's harder than it looks. Firstly you have to build your world, people it, add flora and fauna and devise your magic/science system not including inventing names, establishing your culture and giving it a history.

However, help is at hand. This title not only helps you work on all of that, but also gives great advice and whilst a certain amount of the advice in the title may seem elementary, its amazing how often certain parts are overlooked leaving the author wondering where the hell their world collapsed. Add to the mix tips from established names in the genre, examples of advice backed up with excerpt examples and its pretty damn useful. A great tool and one that can be adapted for Urban Fantasy just as easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars especially good if used along with other books, 16 Sept. 2011
By 
K. Williams "Book Freak" (Malvern, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
I bought this along with the Orson Scott Card book, and also 'Myths & Magic, The Complete Fantasy Reference'. I think it works best when alongside these, however if I had to choose one and leave the rest, this one would prevail. Part 1 gives a quick overview of just what the genres constitute (helpful if you're not sure), and then part 2 gets down to the nitty gritty of how to put a book together. Part 3 is probably the least useful for the sort of people who are going to be buying this book (ie mostly wannabe writers), as the nuts and bolts of the business side is probably a long way off for most of us! I could have done without part 3, as there are plenty of other ways to find out about this stuff, assuming you ever get to that stage! BUT the book is definitely worth the cover price for parts 1 & 2, so don't be put off by that.

In short, if you want a quick but pretty thorough overview of the genres then buy this book - if you want a bit more depth then get the other 2 I mentioned too, along with maybe the Sarah LeFanu book for a slightly different slant on things. If you're anything like me, as a writer/dreamer you can never have too many how-to texts!! Good luck, and see you at the conventions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Useful!, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
Really really really useful book. It made me really develop my characters and was extremely helpful in world building! It is also useful for many other subjects in writing a book, but those particularly were where I lacked, so if you need help with these and are just beginning to create a world, this could be the book for you! I thought it wouldn't have much in because it was short, but it is such a useful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 15 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
A great introduction into the factors you should consider when starting out as a writer. Does lack some indepth step-by-step advice, which you could find like I did, by buying this along with The COmplete Guide to writing fantasy: volume 1. These two books together really gave me a great start.

For the price and the content, this is definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book to get, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
It's a great and very helpful book, easy to read and very interesting. Some of the ideas in it are repeated elsewhere, but this book goes into details I've not seen in others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful advice on world building and characterisation, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
very useful advice on world building and characterisation. The best, most helpful book I've ever read about writing science fiction and fantasy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
A gift for a budding writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to help a first time novel writter, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
This book was full of things i hadnt evan considered, i loved its brilliant wisdom. Evan though it could be a little to harsh in some parts, i think it was a massive eye opener. With massive loads of imformation that can help you take your novel from an ideal day dream to a written master peice ready to go. Some parts were a little difficult to understand, since the auther has maybe tried a little to hard to keep it interesting rather than a source of much needed info, but overal i would recommend this book for anyone who, like me, is stuck with lots of ideas but no understanding of putting them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction: 6 Steps to Writing and Publishing Your Bestseller (Paperback)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really really helpful and insightful, definitely worth a read if you love reading and writing fantasy and sci do fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews