Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for tips
This book is great for teaching you the tips that most people would either ignore or give you extremely lengthy explanations for. Helps to give you a more solid drawing rather than a character you've drawn and it's floating in a blank page, my drawing now have a good scenery to them now rather than just the character. Keep up the good work mark crilley
Published 10 months ago by MARTYN

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mastering Manga 1.5
I should start off by saying that I am a fan of the content Mark Crilley delivers in general. From his long term involvement on You Tube([...] with its many freely available 'How to' demonstrations, his series of manga books (Miki Falls and Brady's Ghost), to his original Mastering Manga with Mark Crilley: 30 Drawing Lessons from the Creator of Akiko.

That said...
Published 12 months ago by Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mastering Manga 1.5, 3 Dec 2013
This review is from: Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley (Paperback)
I should start off by saying that I am a fan of the content Mark Crilley delivers in general. From his long term involvement on You Tube([...] with its many freely available 'How to' demonstrations, his series of manga books (Miki Falls and Brady's Ghost), to his original Mastering Manga with Mark Crilley: 30 Drawing Lessons from the Creator of Akiko.

That said I do feel a little let down by the content of this book. Having 'Level Up'in the title made me think much more would be made of the advanced content. Maybe even going as far to not reiterate the content of standard front/side face and full body poses found in all such 'How to books' and spend far more time on the elements that most find truly difficult to master such as perspective and foreshortening. Unfortunately this is not the case. While there is advanced content in the book it is sparse and limited and generates more of a sense of frustration that there are not more step-by-step guides of how to draw a particular perspective or foreshortening effect.

I think one of the disconnects comes from Mr Crilley's style of not drawing onto a sketched skeleton but going in freehand to a few guide lines. This is a significant jump in competency for most and usually requires an additional suitable source of material such as photographic references.

I understand that it is a teachers job to inspire a student to greater heights, but I feel that the content should be there that I am not then driven off to look in other books for a helping hand.

It was nice to see a little more detail regarding scenery and how important the basics of frame layout are to the impact of the artwork.

Overall I find 'Mastering Manga 2' disappointing compared with the high standard and variety of content delivered in 'Mastering Manga', however I am not upset with the purchase and hope the book sells well enough to justify a 'Mastering Manga 3'.

But, it is only an average book, not the outstanding one I had hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for tips, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley (Paperback)
This book is great for teaching you the tips that most people would either ignore or give you extremely lengthy explanations for. Helps to give you a more solid drawing rather than a character you've drawn and it's floating in a blank page, my drawing now have a good scenery to them now rather than just the character. Keep up the good work mark crilley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide for improving manga skills, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley (Paperback)
The book offers a bunch of details from "how to draw manga" to "how to design your manga story", the book 2 together with book 1 should be the best choice for those who love manga drawing. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic compliment to Mastering Manga 1, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley (Paperback)
I love this book as it does exactly as described. You level up with Mark Crilley, it's all right there on the cover. It's the second book and covers the next level of skills to help you develop.
It does have sections that beginners can follow, but it's aimed at helping others improve the skills they have already learned, plus some really cool new things too.
It has fantastic reference pages and pushes you to enhance your skills, the progression of examples (step by steps) are so easy to follow and really do show you a great way to draw, unlike other books that skip massive sections and leave you puzzled.

If you are a beginner or have not drawn manga before, I would advise book 1 first, only so that you can level up later with a strong base of skills.

One last thing that I have to "indicate" ;-) is that he has a YouTube channel, some of the things in the books covered on there, which is........FANTASTIC, not only have I got a book with it for reference, I can see him apply the techniques and talk about it on video.... what more do I need??? Its like having my own personal manga teacher...

Thank you Mark Crilley for all your books, they really helped me improve in a fun way ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived in good time, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley (Paperback)
Purchase for our 16 year old daughter as a present for Christmas, it is a clear well illustrated book. The goods arrived with 48 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what is says, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley (Paperback)
This book really helped me get better at drawing.
You really get some good hints, tips and instructions on how to "level up".
What I also really like is that Mark Crilley also goes more in depth on how to set up a manga from start to finish.
Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great instructive book with plenty of illustrations, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley (Paperback)
My daughter is manga crazy, she's only eight but found this book easy to follow with plenty of examples and instructions to practice with, she will spend hours drawing and copying this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great step-by-step approach, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought to help me learn to draw in this style as I need to create a children's book for university and like this style of illustration to accompany it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top tips made easy, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very nicely constructed set of lessons and guidelines. I love Mark Crilley's work.
I learnt a lot and now need to practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book full of techniques, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley (Paperback)
I was already fairly competent before reading this book, however after working through the examples I found ways to improve my craft. The sections on comic page layouts and frame composition I found especially interesting.

Would recommend to anyone with an interest in improving their drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley
Mastering Manga 2: Level Up with Mark Crilley by Mark Crilley (Paperback - 30 Nov 2013)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews