Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Journey: Inspiration from the Private Art Journals of Traveling Artists, Illustrators and Designers (Paperback)
This is another offering from the same stable as illustrated life and was eagerly awaited. Whilst this book is still an interesting collection of work it somehow has a more manufactured feel to it which was not present in the first. This is perhaps because the style of drawings are all very similar and there seems to be a lot of vibrant energetic sketches and very few quieter more delicate works. There is a lot of written explanations from the artists about their thoughts and working processes which I really find interesting and adds depth to the book. All in all this is a good book, not a great book like the first, but still a million times better than most books which are supposed to inspire. If you enjoy looking at other artists work or perhaps want some inspiration to start drawing again then this is a value for money book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sketches have the charm, 8 Oct 2014
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: An Illustrated Journey: Inspiration from the Private Art Journals of Traveling Artists, Illustrators and Designers (Paperback)
Length:: 1:25 Mins

An Illustrated Journey is a delightful collection of travel sketches from 40 contributors all over the world. They draw on location, they record their thoughts, and they share their stories in this book. The presentation style is similar to Danny Gregory's previous book An Illustrated Life, a book that I still refer to regularly.

This book is somewhat similar to The Art of Urban Sketching. The sketches are all done on location. In this book however, the focus is on the contributors themselves and their thoughts on places and sketching while traveling. The writeup is longer with more depth and you really get to feel their love for sketching.

I really enjoy looking at the beautiful sketches and reading the scribbled notes on the pages. Sketches have the charm and personalities that can't be found from photographs. I guess that's why I love sketchbooks so much.

This is an inspiring sketchbook for travel and art lovers. It's definitely one of my favourite books for 2013.

Highly recommended.

The artists featured are:
Ken Avidor
Roberta Avidor
Chris Buchholz
Suzanne Cabrera
Lisa Cheney-Jorgensen
Fabio Consoli
Jean-Christophe Defline
Benedetta Dossi
Bob Fisher
Enrique Flores
Will Freeborn
Carol Gillott
Virginia Hein
Miguel "Freekhand" Herranz
Hannah Hinchman
Kathrin Jebsen-Marwedel
Nina Johansson
Cathy Johnson
Andrea Joseph
Tommy Kane
Stephane Kardos
Amanda Kavanagh
Ch'ng Kiah Kiean
Kirk Kolby
Olivier Kugler
Lapin
Veronica Lawlor
Don Low
Prashant Miranda
Steven B. Reddy
Melaine Reim
Lucinda Rogers
Felix Scheinberger
Pete Scully
Richard Sheppard
Suhita Shirodkar
Ian Sidaway
Liz Steel
Roz Stendahl
Brenda Swenson
Asnee Tasnaruangrong
Earnest Ward
Bryce Wymer

-

I wanted to recommend a few more travel related sketchbooks but realize that there are too many. So instead, I'll post a link to the list on my blog in the comments section below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass(es)!, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Journey: Inspiration from the Private Art Journals of Traveling Artists, Illustrators and Designers (Paperback)
Imagine a book that makes you explode with enthusiasm: here it is! The sheer delight of every section and page. I'll be dipping into this one for years to come. Couldn't wait to get my sketchbook and colours out after racing through a few chapters. There isn't enough space here to tell you about the magic of turning each and every page to reveal yet another unique and individual style. Beautifully presented. Such rich treasures within. A tour de force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 30 Oct 2014
Borrowed this book via Kindle Unlimited - it's not a book that I would have ordinarily paid for, and I'd have missed out - I enjoyed spending several hours with it. It's quite text-heavy with each artist writing about their own experiences and preferences, but as each section is short, it's a good book to dip into. (I showed it to my artistic 5 year old who loved flicking through the pictures, and seeing the different drawing styles too.)

Although there is a lot of text, it is better to read this on a tablet - the images would be completely wasted on a Kindle reader but are great on my iPad.

As one of the artists put it, "travel journaling" needn't be about documenting physical travels, it can be a way of recording the interesting parts of life, of your own journey. Whichever you're interested in, this is an interesting read with lots of inspiring words and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. It is inspiring for someone experimenting with keeping a sketchbook. It's lovely to read different perspectives from the variety of artists who took part. I read it on the ipad, and wished that the images were higher resolution so that I could zoom in a bit more, but it was still a very satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Illustrated Journey, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Journey: Inspiration from the Private Art Journals of Traveling Artists, Illustrators and Designers (Paperback)
This is a great book to browse and also for study: gives ideas and a wide range of styles. Encourages one to experiment and try new things. Is specific and provides reader with good tips. A brilliant book for both student and accomplished artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Journey: Inspiration from the Private Art Journals of Traveling Artists, Illustrators and Designers (Paperback)
This book is not only ideal because of the interesting sketches but also because of the information set out by each artists with tips on the materials they use and a bit of their background and history. Very enjoyable read. I like the blend of commercial artist and artists who just draw for fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just loved it, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Journey: Inspiration from the Private Art Journals of Traveling Artists, Illustrators and Designers (Paperback)
For me, it's one of the most inspirational books I've ever had. It's varied, the pictures are awesome and provides a good advice from many and different authors. I'd recommend it to those who need a boost of inspiration and are maybe looking for their own style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to drool over, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Journey: Inspiration from the Private Art Journals of Traveling Artists, Illustrators and Designers (Paperback)
Danny Gregory is single-handedly responsible for getting me back into drawing every day. This is a wonderful and inspiring book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Oct 2014
By 
Marjorie Allan (Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Journey: Inspiration from the Private Art Journals of Traveling Artists, Illustrators and Designers (Paperback)
Love dipping in and out of this book, supposed to give me inspiration to do my own drawing but spend too much time just looking through these journals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews