Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2014
I picked this book because I thought it would help with keeping a sketchbook. However, it turned out to be much more and I would recommend it to anyone trying to improve their artistic skills. It is equally suitable for absolute beginners to seasoned artists.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Great book...full of great ideas and inspiration...would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking about art journaling, scrapbooking and sketchbooking...It is full of beautiful illustrations giving examples of some of the many different techniques you could use and subjects too!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Really happy with this book. If you are looking for creative inspiration, this book may well be the push you are looking for. Full of useful information and encouragement.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
A really well presented book, a lot of ideas to take from there. Some really good projects and illustrations. Nice to read and read all over again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Loving this so far. Before now my sketch books where all drawn on biro or pencil or other black pens, i wanted to venture in to useing colour with my art and this book is full of amazing tips, im now trying out watercolour and loving it and plan to do even more. I would highly recomend this book

Update : i have just finnished the book and its one i cant recomend enough. if you love to draw i would say this book and danny gregorys book creative licence is a must
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
Just what I wanted to inspire and create good journal pages. Just need the time to get going and do some.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Great book with ideas and inspiration. I always felt very frustrated the I wasn't able to find the time to draw and paint (working full time, keeping house, kids and pets - the usual distractions). I had managed to make time to write in my journal, this book has shown me how to swap lined paper for a plain and combine my thoughts and musings with paint and pictures...early days but love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
An excellent, well-presented, practical book - it does what it says in the title. If you are interested in art jounral, this is areally good starting off point - and there are plenty of blogs and facebook groups to support this type of activity. It is, in the context of UK readers, US based.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Love this book, it's so packed with good ideas and I'm constantly re looking at all the styles of drawing/ painting. I try to go out each week and try something new. If you fancy trying something different with your art, this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
This book feels a bit like a school 'show and tell' rather than a useful resource for the US-led idea of visual journalling. The chapters are a series of very rudimentary demonstrations along the lines of 'I did this , you could do it too' and while Cathy Johnson herself offers many good tips on materials and techniques, other artists' contributions are more superficial. The chief defect of this book is that it doesn't actually offer any methods for making your own journals, - it gives half a page to a list of commercially produced sketchbooks, and refers to a separately available dvd. Surely the whole point of the book is to encourage readers to be as creative as possible - so I didn't find it of much use !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)