Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely present
Jema Hewitt's whimsically humorous style is always a joy to read, even if you can't make jewellery.
At first sight I thought the things were going to be right out of my class, but I still loved the stories and pictures in this beautifully designed and presented book. On looking more carefully I saw that there was a range of items illustrated and described and that...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Roseday

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Quite a good price, and the idea of presenting the ideas in the book in a story format is mildly entertaining.
Although I probably won't make many (if any) of the things in it, it does give a few ideas.
Probably a much better book for someone bordering on being a teenager.
Published 23 months ago by Phil M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely present, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Steampunk Emporium: Creating Fantastical Jewelry, Devices and Oddments from Assorted Cogs, Gears and Curios (Paperback)
Jema Hewitt's whimsically humorous style is always a joy to read, even if you can't make jewellery.
At first sight I thought the things were going to be right out of my class, but I still loved the stories and pictures in this beautifully designed and presented book. On looking more carefully I saw that there was a range of items illustrated and described and that some were easy enough for me to get started on.
The photographs are good, the instructions clear.
This would make a great gift for an artistic friend. Although described as "paperback" it is sturdy and handles easily.
Imaginative, fun - and a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly unique and inspirational book., 4 July 2011
This review is from: Steampunk Emporium: Creating Fantastical Jewelry, Devices and Oddments from Assorted Cogs, Gears and Curios (Paperback)
Steampunk Emporium utterly captured my imagination as the author's alter ego Emilly Ladybird regaled us with anecdotes from her Victorian space adventures presenting the most intriguing characters such as the spirited Airship Pirate Andromeda Darkstorm and the Dashing explorer Lord Barham.

Meanwhile Jema herself takes us through step by step, beautifully illustrated, guides on how to create their rather exquisite accessories.
Each project introduces new techniques and includes sources lists, tricks and tips. Worth it for the art work alone this book is both a fantastical escape and unconventional approach to jewellery making.

I am both hoping for a sequel and that Ms Ladybird will be releasing her journals to the populous enabling us to live vicariously through her and the rather exuberant Mr Woppit.

Meanwhile I will have to make do with the lovely steampunk sparkles this book has shown me how to make. A must for all enthusiast of the clockworks crinoline and brass tech genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book., 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: Steampunk Emporium: Creating Fantastical Jewelry, Devices and Oddments from Assorted Cogs, Gears and Curios (Paperback)
Upon receiving this book I sat down and read it cover to cover. I love the characters' and story lines that go with each collection. I've never seen a project but with this detail, it makes it fun and captures the imagination. All the pages are beautifully laid out.
But what I love about this book mostly are the projects. With each project the author has shared many techniques and a full colour photo step by step guide for making each component for each piece. The techniques can be mixed and matched to develop your own fantastic ideas.
This book will defiantly be well thumbed through and dog-eared from much use as it's so full of knowledge and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Enlightening for Ladies and Gents, 3 May 2012
This review is from: Steampunk Emporium: Creating Fantastical Jewelry, Devices and Oddments from Assorted Cogs, Gears and Curios (Paperback)
It is nice to stumble upon any book in a craft shop that draws your eye. Too often you see books that the projects look so poorly presented in you cant even imagine wanting to make them.
Jema's book does not do that at all and it almost looks like a coffee table art book than a craft book, something your happy to leave out for others to pick up.
Now i'm a terrible buy a "how to book" and then never do, kind of guy.So it's really nice to actually be able to read the unfolding story of Emilly Ladybirds adventures within. knowing if you never actually get around to making the projects your money isnt wasted as the story within stands a good head and shoulders above many of the steampunk stories on the market.

Having said that the book is so well laid out as a craft book your never in any wonder as to how to do anything. There is even an extra how to section at the back, inspiring your own creativity to rise.

Its really an all round nice book and although only one project section appears aimed at Gentlemen "like myself" the womens projects are incredibly adaptable. The well dressed and unique steampunk needs to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful "how to" that helps unlock some secrets!, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Steampunk Emporium: Creating Fantastical Jewelry, Devices and Oddments from Assorted Cogs, Gears and Curios (Paperback)
I have some simple requirements when it comes to a book of instructions. It has to present the subject matter in a clear and concise fashion, without confusing the reader, it has to make the reader believe they can take on the projects and actually complete them and it also has to educate and entertain the reader! Very simple requirements that are beautifully fulfilled in this book! Jema has created a fantasticly visual and entertaining book that delights the senses and excites the reader! I love it! The projects included are punctuated with wonderful comments from Emilly Ladybird which helps to set the mind whirring! Apt really when you think about all the cogs involved in steampunk!

This book is a great introduction to playing with polymer clay, embossing, shrinkies and so on. A beginner to any of those mediums could pick it up and manage to create something fun. You could then easily take the techniques learned and go on to create your own designs.

The only issue I have with this book is that it leads to a whole new purchasing experience as you gather together everything you feel you need! One wise bit of advice from Jema is to choose one medium (polymer clay or shrink plastic etc) and master that, before you then move onto the next medium!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun with arts and crafts, 12 Mar 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Steampunk Emporium: Creating Fantastical Jewelry, Devices and Oddments from Assorted Cogs, Gears and Curios (Paperback)
Whilst there's been roleplayers for years dressing as fantasy Barbarians or otherworldly creatures such as Orcs, Goblins or even skeletons, one of the more recent trends has been the addition of Steampunk, where the elegance of Victoriana meets cog work science. It's quirky, there's plenty of things that can be done and theres even some wonderful PC's out there that allow you to have that special elegance within your own home.

This title by Jema, will help you create some additional fashionable creations for your character or a little something quirky to help you stand out in a crowd. It's fun, it has tips and tricks and the sheer volume of projects within will allow you to get a full flavour of the scene, enough to create your own pieces. Its inspirational, it has something for everyone and the sheer availability of a lot of the key pieces will have you wondering round junk shops for ages. All in a great piece of fun and definitely something that I know a lot of people will have fun with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the perfect page-turner, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, imaginative writing, extensive instructions, variable designs...

This is the most interesting tutorial book in any genre I have ever read. Definitely well more than worth the price. Gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely magical!, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most wonderful books I have ever had the pleasure of reading! Fans of steampunk and jewellery makers new to the style will both adore this book! Each project is accompanied by a short story recounting one of Emily Ladybird's adventures and the instructions are very clear, as are the photographs.

I would recommend at least a little jewellery making or general craft knowledge if you wish to make these projects, but the results are nothing less than stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and fun, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Gillian A. Bingham "Witchazel" (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steampunk Emporium: Creating Fantastical Jewelry, Devices and Oddments from Assorted Cogs, Gears and Curios (Paperback)
Love this book, it spurs you on to be more daring in your craft creations. A great fall back when inspiration dies and you need a kick start to your creativity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steampunk Emporium: Creating Fantastical Jewelry, Devices and Oddments from Assorted Cogs, Gears and Curios (Paperback)
I was very dissapointed with this book. I found the designs uninspiring and the characters down right silly
I was looking for new ideas for jewellery but I didnt find it here
The instructions were very extensive but I didnt find anything I wanted to make
A waste of money Im afraid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews