Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surface Treatment Workbook
An excellent book with clear instructions and ideas for many ordinary products and some less common ones. The layout and examples are clear with many alternative experiments and ways to extend ideas. The gallery shots of artists work are inspirational. Generally a well laid out book with clear instruction and beutifully photographed examples; well worth the money
Published on 31 Aug 2011 by Sylvia

versus
62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice with some reservations
This book does indeed contain what it says on the tin, in that it shows quite a number of surface treatment techniques and a range of effects that you can get with each. One big advantage is that it indicates the archival properties of the techniques, the only such book I've come across that does this. I've so far been a bit reluctant to play with different chemical...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by Maz Kraut


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surface Treatment Workbook, 31 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
An excellent book with clear instructions and ideas for many ordinary products and some less common ones. The layout and examples are clear with many alternative experiments and ways to extend ideas. The gallery shots of artists work are inspirational. Generally a well laid out book with clear instruction and beutifully photographed examples; well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surface treatment heaven!, 22 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
If I coould only keep one of my (oh, so many...)painting books, THIS WOULD BE IT! It shows you all the techniques step by step, and also shows you a bunch of different ways to use every single technique, love it, love it, love it! Into mixed media? Go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice with some reservations, 29 Mar 2012
By 
Maz Kraut (Northwest England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
This book does indeed contain what it says on the tin, in that it shows quite a number of surface treatment techniques and a range of effects that you can get with each. One big advantage is that it indicates the archival properties of the techniques, the only such book I've come across that does this. I've so far been a bit reluctant to play with different chemical mixtures (such as soaps and foams) for this reason. A substantial disadvantage of this book is that a lot of the techniques require specific art products from specific manufacturers that may be easily available in the US, but aren't that ubiquitous (nor very cheap!) here. Also, what "fibre paste", "ceramic stucco", "Tyvek" or "Venetian plaster" exactly are is explained nowhere. It may be obvious for US readers, but it's not clear to me. Only some of these things have (American...) suppliers in the resources section. Having said that, there are also techniques using the widely available water, cooking salt, alcohol, etc...! All in all, it's a nice book that may inspire me to experiment with what could possibly be equivalents to these unknown American things. I have used salt, alcohol, etc. in my paintings before, and so it's not all new to me, but for someone who is entirely new to this kind of painting the instructions in the book are maybe a little bit on the short side. On the other hand, keeping the instructions short is probably in keeping with the experimental approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most helpful textiles book I've read, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
Extremley helpful step by step instructions that make it very easy to follow and even has tips for when a technique doesn't turn out quite right. A really useful book for all textile artists at every ability. For all those stuck for uk suppliers of some of the materials used try uk websites like - nid-noi.com and rainbowsilks.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surface treatment Workshop, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Arjay (Cheltenham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
This book is the best thing since sliced bread. Lots of ideas and techniques. All this lovely information in one publication. A delight for designers and artists alike. Such good value. The best book in my collection (Until I write mine of course) !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference book, 16 Sep 2012
By 
J. Hales (W Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
A very well laid out book full of ideas and suggestions. A little bit too American in places in relation to products, but still an excellent resource for any mixed medai artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Travel Problems, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
Looks attractive and techniques are well explained with great exemplar material but the probs for a Brit buyer/audience are the names of lots of the materials and stockists don't travel well - eg - they keep mentioning gel medium for the transfer of photos but what kind????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the cover, 27 Dec 2011
By 
S. Bailey (Leicester, Leicestershire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
This is one of those books for people who have the time or not to try all 45 workshops.
It is well written with plenty of tips and practical step-by-step guidance.
A must for all who 'dabble' in Mixed Media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, great ideas, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
Lots of ideas can be found in this book, especially for beginners.
beautiful examples and nice tips if the results are a bit less than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great techniques, 3 Mar 2012
This review is from: Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques (Paperback)
I love to explore with different textures and this book has enabled me to experiment with completely new techniques. It is full of great tips and ideas. I would recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques
Surface Treatment Workshop: Explore 45 Mixed Media Techniques by Sandra Duran Wilson (Paperback - 27 May 2011)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews