Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars26
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2008
This book was first published a hundred years ago (1908) and I got it as a set English literature text book at grammar school in about 1964, so lots of people must have read it at about the same time. The author, who really wanted to publish poetry, left Wales in about 1890 to travel around the United States, doing so as a tramp and in doing so meeting many other tramps. He writes about them and their lifestyles, the jobs they undertake or avoid, their ways of begging instead of working and fascinating asides, such as the reasons for spending the winter in prison - how to get in and so forth. He made some eighteen crossings of the Atlantic, many of them looking after cattle in transit and he lost a leg in a train accident whilst trying to hitch a ride to the Klondyke gold strike. By 1907 he was living day to day in a doss house in South London. He'd spent all his money getting a few anthologies of his poems printed and, on spec, he sent one to George Bernard Shaw with a note inviting the famous writer to buy it for half a crown, or bin it and think no more of the matter. Shaw liked it, ordered more copies and persuaded Davies to write this book, to which Shaw contributed the preface. There are vignettes in this book for students of social history - Davies was in the wild west just after the railways were built, so he saw Texas in the raw; he also experienced the degradation of the British Poor Law system of dealing with those who had no means of support in the days before the welfare state was created. His real charm, however, is the beautiful character descriptions of the various eccentrics that populate his pages. I am really pleased to have become re-acquainted with this old school book. I just wish I could remember what else I had to read at school!
22 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
A fascinating insight into a tramp's life at the end of the nineteenth century. Davies who went on to be recognised as a popular English poet writes in a leisurely laid-back style, his paragraphs are long but easy to read. He tells how he tramps his way across America, camping outdoors in the summer, how he rides on trains without paying, finds free bed and breakfast in US jails in the winter, compares the generosity of the US housekeeper with the terrible poverty he finds in England. He crosses the Atlantic on cattle boats and meets a great variety of rogues and vagabonds throughout his travels in both countries.

This book, long out of print, has now been reprinted on A4 size paper and in fairly large print. It is therefore particularly attractive for readers whose sight may not be as good as it was.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
The Autobiography of a Supertramp describes WH Davies' adventurous life as a drifter and how he came to be a published author. Davies, from a poor labouring family, abandoned his apprenticeship as a young man and in a spirit of adventure took to the road. He spent the next 15 years tramping across North America and England.

Taking to the road in late Victorian England, an age when people could, and did, starve to death was, to say the least, a difficult choice. Davies is thrown back on his own resourcefulness, the support of fellow tramps (who teach him essential begging and survival skills) and the charity of the general public. This spirit of charity seemed more evident in America and the contrast between the openness and abundance of life in North America and the condition of chronic want that pervaded England was particularly marked. No wonder people wanted to emigrate!

Davies himself came across as a remarkably enterprising and optimistic person. He makes the best of every situation and even the loss of one of his legs in a railroad accident doesn't really deter him. Davies quietly gives up on his dream of making it to the Klondike and returns to tramping in England. Here, he eventually makes a home, of sorts, for himself in a common lodging house and he begins hawking his self- published poems around London.

In writing this book Davies has recorded, at a time when working people had few opportunities to speak for themselves, the authentic voice of the Victorian poor.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
I have just finished this book and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a simple story of his day-to-day life, nothing sensational, no fast-paced action, but a lovely story by a very gentle man.

I would recommend reading the preface, written by G. Bernard Shaw, after finishing the book rather than before as it is a great way to round off the story and would have given too much away about a certain event had I read it before.
I feel the book can be summed up in this extract from the preface: "I have read it through from beginning to end, and would have read more of it had there been more to read. It is a placid narrative, unexciting in matter and unvarnished in manner, of the commonplaces of a tramp's life. It is of a very curious quality."

A lovely book. Highly recommended.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
A time gone by. Excellent read, and I love his choice of lifestyle, he is obviously a very capable chap who just decides to reject the rat race and adventure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
A fascinating depiction of life on the road in both America and England in the early part of the 20th century. Written from personal experience by an English man electing for a different lifestyle. He bummed and worked his way around America and England and relates all his trials and tribulations in a very easy to read style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
I remember a school teacher reading it to the class when I was 9 or 10 and always intended to read it again at the age off 69 I found I was not disappointed with the wait to read again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
I ordered this book for my husband who read it at school 40 years ago and wanted to read it again. He was pleased to be able to get a copy and was not disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
A great read and so wonderfully written given the authors life. Definitely worth a read - the introduction alone sells itself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
Absultely spell binding book - will read again and again. Highly recommendeed. Great delivery service from vendors.
Jeff G
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.