Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chocolate War, 13 Oct 2003
By 
I never read books. The only time that I like to read books is if I have to for school, or I really love the book. In this case The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier was one of them. My tutor recommended me to read this book. In the beginning of the book I was not sure that I wanted read it, but when I read more and more of the story it got more and more fascinating. I have never finished a book in one day but when you read this book you will never want to put the story down.
The story is about this new kid named Jerry Renault who goes to this school called Trinity. The school is pretty much ran by a gang. Jerry gets caught up in this game that ends up making Jerry's life a living hell. Jerry must over come harassment, ostracization, and many more horrible things. All through the story one saying is going through Jerry's mind and that is "Do I dare disturb the world?" The author uses these simple words to make you keep on reading the story till you finish. One great part I really enjoyed in the story was when ten people jumped Jerry. The author writes the book as if it was a movie. For example, you get to see each and every character in depth just like in the movies. The author also uses a lot of descriptive words to explain every event happening in the story.
I would recommend this book to everyone. This book will probably the best book that you have ever read. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. I give the book three thumbs up. I hope that you enjoy the book as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and serious exploration of high-school age social issue, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
This is a great book, very dark, very serious. It takes some hard looks at social and moral issues about community, forced community, and forcing schoolchildren to pimp goods door-to-door to help pay for their education, in this case, chocolates. Set in a US Catholic all-boys parochial school, for anyone that didn't attend this kind of school, the background may seem surreal; trust me, it's as real as it gets. Brother Anthony made the hair stand up on the back of my neck in recognition.
P.s. don't waste your time on the Hollywood movie, they rewrote the ending to appeal to some mythical "American sensibility" which I as an American, find ludicrous and repellent. The rewritten version *completely* destroyed the message of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do I dare disturb the universe?, 9 Aug 2012
Every year, Trinity High School raises money by recruiting its students to sell chocolates. One year, Jerry Renault says `no'. At first, this is on instruction, the result of a unique kind of bullying instigated by a select clique known as The Vigils; but soon Jerry is making a stand of his own - although he is not quite sure why. Warped Vigil mastermind Archie is behind Jerry's initial refusal, but his power is challenged when Jerry refuses to stand down. Can Archie regain control of the situation; and if not, will Jerry have proven or achieved anything? A war that is much bigger, and much more explosive than a box of chocolates has begun...

The Chocolate War could easily have been a straightforward exercise examining the fears and humiliation of peer pressure, bullying and conformity with a side-order of positivity and the championing of self-esteem, self-belief, self-awareness (etc), but Cormier goes much further in this chillingly human story, full of challenging ideas. There is a bleakness in the inherent corruption of the school and the lost innocence, or contamination of those who encounter it for the first time. Awareness dawns that life is not always happily ever after, and standing up for something that matters will not change the world - although it may change your perspective or perception of it. This novel asks more questions than it answers.

Cormier has an uncanny way of getting under his characters' skin, in prose that is clear and accessible, without excess. A `simple' school story about a boy dealing with the loss of his mother to cancer becomes a complex question of good versus evil. The refusal to offer pat solutions makes this young adult novel stand out from the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 15 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This is a really good book and it is a ingenious idea for this good but strange book on a chocolate sale in america. The vigils give it a sleaky thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 4 Jan 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a horrifying story about a boy's school where there is literally a chocolate war.

A secret society of boys, which the administration has always turned their back on, takes over a school chocolate sale. The boys are all asked to sell fifty boxes at two dollars apiece instead of the normal twenty-five at a dollar. And the leader of the secret society is one of the students who is pushing the sale. And he tells one student to refuse to sell the chocolate for ten days, but on the eleventh he is to take them. And he doesn't.

This book is interesting, and has a lot of twists and turns. I can see why a lot of schools use this book to teach with. There are a lot of moral lessons and many things that can be learned. I enjoyed reading this, and would recommend it to anyone who has ever had bully problems.

Reviewed by: Taylor Rector
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Chocolate War and how it started., 3 Jan 2004
By 
Zafron (Bagdad,Iraq) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chocolate War (Hardcover)
After I read the book The Chocolate War i was really amazed about how Robert Cormier was not afraid to speak his mind and talk about things even print them to public which other people would not dare do in there lifetime. I also enjoyed reading his book, which had a very strong, and sturdy plot that you could always relate to, he also made very interesting characters that had very distinct attributes, which people of many ages could relate to. The story also gave you a new sense in the ways you should react to things and it helped you understand a little more about life. Overall I really enjoyed reading this phenomenal exhilarating educational story. One other very interesting thing about Robert Cormier is that his writing style is so different he can get you all into this one part of the book and just jump to a whole new scene in the same chapter now that's what I call daring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this after reading 'Heroes' which is on my children's GCSE syllabus. If anything, it was even better than Heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my teenage Godson who thinks that books are soooo last year. However, he absolutely loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do I dare disturb the universe?, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Jack Heslop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Bleak", "violent" and "realistic" aren't words we normally associate with young adult fiction, which is why Robert Cormier's The Chocolate War, from 1974, is refreshing. Devastating yes, but also refreshing.

As a result of its harsh realism, coupled with frank depictions of violence and sexuality, it's been a frequent target for censors. (It's number three in the American Library Association's "Top 100 Banned/Challenged Books in 2000 - 2009″, behind Phyllis Reynolds Naylor's Alice series and, at number one, Harry Potter.)

Jerry Renault is a freshman at Trinity High, a private Catholic boys' school. His mother recently died of cancer and his father, a pharmacist, leads a mundane existence which depresses Jerry. Worse, Trinity High is secretly run by The Vigils, a student group whose power is maintained by Archie Costello, the Assigner. He assigns random students tasks which take the form of pranks, like removing all the screws in a classroom so its furniture collapses.

Brother Leon, Trinity's acting-headmaster, implicitly allows The Vigils' control, and even requests their help in the annual chocolate sale: each student must sell fifty boxes of chocolates, proceeds going to the school. But Jerry, for reasons he can't explain, refuses, creating a war between himself, Brother Leon and The Vigils.

The novel's themes are fascism and conformity. In one telling scene Brother Leon humiliates a student before a class, encourages them to join the abuse, then chides them for their pack mentality, comparing the class to Nazi Germany. His classroom theatrics aren't meant as a moral lesson, however. He's merely asserting his dominance, always doing the unexpected thing, so the students fearfully fall in line. Archie is the Goebbels to Leon's Führer, though maybe it's the other way around. Complex power dynamics are a strong part of The Chocolate War`s suspense.

A boxing-pro called Carter is The Vigils' president, but Archie as Assigner is its true wellspring of decision. He's smart and sadistic, always playing mental tricks on people, cowing much stronger kids into submission with his wits alone. The kids, especially The Vigils' secretary, Obie, often refer to him as "that bastard". Archie's assignments have earned him hate and grudging awe from his fellows, which he relishes.

The fascinating thing about Archie is that he doesn't really see himself as evil. He never personally lays a finger on anyone, and is even "kind" enough to share the burden of his assignments among several students. He does have one weakness, though: the black box. The box contains several white and one black marble. When Archie gives an assignment he must blindly choose a white marble, or face the assignment himself. This plot point creates a moment of almost painful suspense late in the story.

Jerry is a complex protagonist. He seems like an everyday kid; good at football, an average scholar, shy around girls, liked by Richard "The Goober" Goubert, a footballing peer. Yet he refuses to sell the chocolates. The sale is technically voluntary, of course, but one of the novel's underlying ideas is that adults will sometimes say one thing and mean another. The sale is described as "voluntary" only because the notion that a student won't sell never crossed anyone's mind, and something inside Jerry realises that. He sees his father's dull, work-driven existence and, when the sale's announced, finds himself saying... No.

This, of course, will not do in Brother Leon's world, and as Leon could cause trouble for them The Vigils take up the cause, especially when students start following Jerry's example and rebel against the school's accepted order. A recurring quote in the novel is Eliot's "do I dare disturb the universe?", from "The Love Song J. Alfred Prufrock". Does Jerry, in the end, dare disturb The Vigils' universe, and by extension Trinity's?

One of the things I admire most about The Chocolate War is its bravery. In an age where storytellers for young adults are afraid to include anything transgressive, whether it be strong language or even a story about boy wizards, Cormier's brute honesty is refreshing. He writes about masturbating, breasts and fights because, let's face it, that's what most teenage boys are thinking about. Like all the best young adult and children's fiction, The Chocolate War reveals the issues of reality through a kid's eyes.

Also, Cormier's prose is profoundly poetic (alliteration unintentional) at times. The ending, a perfect marriage of style and theme, almost made me cry. So yes, it's a sad novel. One which deals with grief, fascism, alienation and life's startling unfairness. But it's also suspenseful, as you keep turning pages in anticipation of The Vigils' next move, and deeply thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bullying... (not) your cuppa tea?, 14 April 2007
Did you ever wonder about bullying and being bullied? Maybe it has never happened to you but did you ever wonder what it would be like? This book showes you a fairly ordinary school situation and draws you into the dark world of being bullied... What triggers it? How do you handle it?

A book everyone should read to learn to what depths this sort of behaviour can lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chocolate War
The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier (Library Binding - 11 Aug 2008)
10.68
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews