Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2013
This book really helped pull together my own understanding of the link between microbe -> man and -> the immune system, and the way that this complex but vital relationship has evolved over the course of human history. I really recommend this book if you want to understand our current predicament (at least, in more affluent societies) of rampant auto-immune dysfunction. If you leave out trauma, certain infections and some types of cancer, pretty much everything else the doctor sees in their daily practice life has some direct or indirect relationship with a disturbed immune system.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
This is an excellent well written book for anyone with allergic or autoimmune disease. Written with the scepticism of a scientist and not with a hidden agenda of someone trying to sell a miracle cure. It addresses all the complex issues surrounding the onset and potential causes of living with chronic illness and what, if anything can be considered in the future.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
This book is suitable for a wide readership. If you are simply interested in your health and the health of you family, or if you are a medical student, researcher or doctor then you will find the book a stimulating and eye opening read. Any of the terms used are explained in the back of the book and if you want more details then there are hundreds of useful journal references. An Epidemic Of Absence explains that the massive rise in autism and autoimmune diseases is due to the changes we have made both in our environment and also the ecosystems that exist within in. The book does not advocate a return to the dark ages when we had no understanding of germs, but that we need to stop thinking of all bacteria, virus's and parasites as enemies that have to be erradicated, and that a balanced peaceful coexistance with many of them is essential to our health.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
This book is incredible. It has totally blown my mind and changed the way I view the human organism. You need to read this book
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
I found this book to be both extremely well researched and hard to put down. It was so exciting to find out what I would learn next. I highly recommend this book to everyone, but especially anyone thinking of having children as it highlights how lifestyle before, after and during pregnancy can contribute to allergies in children.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Enticing and thorough based on the author's contact with many sources.The material about parasites is evocative but with out clear evidence. The author lets the reader to understand that. I would like to see some of this material to become useful to the people who suffer with the many auto-immune illnesses which are not easily helped with modern medicine. New ideas are needed in our medical systems to approach the difficulties of the many people who have little hope. Some of the writing gets confusing, Nevertheless, I like the book.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Simple and clear explanations of even very complicated scientific concepts. After you read this book you will know so much about the autoimmune diseases, that you would look at them with a totally new view and approach.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
This is a very much needed book giving details of how our war on the world of microscopic (and sometimes macroscopic) life has hijacked our health; and the insanity of not respecting our biological relationships with the rest of life on this planet. I have only given 4 stars because of the authors cavalier dismissal of the work of Andrew Wakefield. In his Lancet article Dr Wakefield never stated that the MMR causes autism, as the author (and everyone else) declares. He is not a neurologist but a gastroenterologist, and he simply stated that he had found the Measles vaccine virus in the guts of nine autistic children. No one could refute this finding, so they chose to malign his character instead, by alleging misappropriation of funds. This he denies, but he cannot afford to defend himself in court. Since then his findings have been supported by other research, including that done by the prestigious CDC -- although their findings were buried until one of their own lead scientists, Dr William Thomson, turned whistleblower. Even today this blatant fraud is not being exposed by the world's media -- I wonder why? The fact remains that vaccines schedules, in which immune immature babies are being exposed to multiple organisms or bits of organisms through the direct route of injection rather than through the mucous membrane, taps right into the author's thesis of derangement in our immune systems producing allergies and autoimmunity. This is beside the toxic levels of mercury or aluminium that accompany vaccines, and what these may be doing to our microbiota. Perhaps if the author ever considers an update of this book he could apply his forensic abilities to research this important topic?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
So well written and such an interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
the author is passionate, all he write is highly scientific and least but not last based on common sense, the style is enjoyable. the topic absolutely actual and urgently needed to better understand health and the human nature
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)