Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars31
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2014
Having read Richard A. Knaak's Moon of the Spider book, in my opinion a wonderful read, I was looking much forward to reading his Stormrage. The book being about the impressive night elves and their headstrong leaders Malfurion Stormrage and Tyrande Whisperwind, I imagined to dig into some powerful writing, but was, unfortunately, let down. The book feels costly rushed and the strong characters seem vague and ill-described. While A. Knaak manages to maintain a comfortable pace of storytelling, I miss some detail and feeling. It feels shallow and almost as if A. Knaak is not interested in Malfurion's tale, and that is a big shame. The book is interesting, and it would be a shame and a lie to say I did not enjoy reading it. Had it been probably 100 or maybe less pages longer, I could have enjoyed it more. Such characters and such tales of fright just need more attention. It wasn't one of those books I just couldn't put down, but that being said, it was well worth my time and especially the last part of the book was interesting.
If you are a fan of the warcraft universe, the book is worthy of a read (:
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Loved it. I have always been a fan of the author although so many readers seem to look down on him for what characters he has chosen from the Warcraft universe to write a history for - something I have never understood as an author has to pick characaters, they can't not have characters nor can they choose all.

Anyway. I have read his previous Warcraft books, and especially loved this one for being up to date and set in the WoW universe that players are currently actually experiencing in game. So it's set after the fall of Arthas and relates to that in some ways. What I am interested in seeing is whether the events of this will be a part of the pre-Cataclysm events in game as Blizzard have mentioned there will be several different ones. Not to mention this would explain how Malfurion Stormrage was rescued from the Emerald Dream and is back in the game in Cataclysm.

One of the things I especially love about this author, and this book, is that he captures the beauty, power and intensity of the actual spells used by druids and priests, and transforms them into words. I especially thought the end was well written, beautiful and a long time coming. You'll have to read the book to understand what I mean by that ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
This was by far the hardest wow book i have ever read. I am a wow lore junkie and was really looking forward to this book as it covers really interesting bit of the wow story, this is not one of Richard Knaaks best books. The story goes round and round once a character has been described it is almost like that is copied and pasted every time their name is mentioned. There are a few nice bits of lore but there really was a tough battle to get through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
Im a Warcraft lore fan and I really enjoyed this book.
Nice and easy to read. Recommended if you're a fan of the game.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
It was a nice reading overall but it leaned toward the game side of the story and it didn't feel like a book written by a real author but rather a gamer who just decided to write a novel. When you buy a Warcraft book you expect and even know that the whole story is inspired by a big franchise, but the way this story was written leaves most imagination out, also at points you need to know characters that have appeared on other books/manga and for newcomers is something I wouldn't recommend because their role and existence is at best poorly described. At least it gets interesting on the end, anyway have fun and judge for yourselves
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
While I got the book in time and was perfectly happy with the purchase itself and the seller, this book is really not well written. This was at first completely baffling to me since I have read all the other books from Richard Knaak in the WoW series, but seriously, this one does not read well and the style is very weird. Also the story could have been amazing but the way it is presented is quite underwhelming. Sad :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
The book arrived really fast in perfect condition.
There isn't much to say about the story itself, regrettable.
It is predictable and not really impressive, at moments i actually got bored.
If you don't expect too much(yes it's a computer game story after all), it can be rather enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
i bought these for my son, he likes WOW and has a lot of books to do with with this. he says they are very enjoyable to read and would highly recommend to anyone that likes this sort of thing, and especially if you play the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Great for warcraft lovers who also enjoy reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
After thoroughly enjoying previous excursions into the World of Warcraft through the War of Ancients trilogy and the Warcraft Archive, I was rather looking forward to reading this book for 2 reasons:
1. Malfurion Stormrage is undeniably one of the most exciting characters in the series
2. Richard Knaak has proved himself a very capable writer in this genre

I was disappointed on both counts from this book. The main reason was that the story is dragged on 200 pages longer than what it deserves. The story lets Stormrage down by depicting a situation where he's more or less helpless, for a major part of the book. This immediately belies the godlike abilities he displayed in the Ancients trilogy. Knaak then continues to draw out the conflict with the story's main antagonist to the point where I was ready to throw in the towel if there was even one more mention of Stormrage almost giving up and then finding a bit more strength to make one last effort (how many last efforts can one make!!)
The story also almost reduces to a joke the powers of the Aspects. The other characters of the book, including the other druids, night elves and Thura the orc are poorly developed and didn't engage me to the point of caring what happened to them.

Final verdict? This book is worth a read only if you enjoy reading stories about WoW and Azeroth. If you're a Stormrage fan or expect this book to be as good as earlier efforts by Knaak and Golden, steer clear of it, because very simply, it isn't.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse