Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book in the Typhon Pact series
Definitely the best book in the series and works well as a stand alone novel. The story is well paced and the characters engaging. Well worth the read.
Published 3 months ago by Robert Mansergh

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a regular Titan novel - too standard for a special
The second book in the Typhon Pact mini-series, which is also the second Trek book that Michael Martin has written solo, is a fairly run of the mill adventure. When a natural disaster destroys a Gorn breeding planet, two factions set out to find a replacement. The discovery of an ancient terraforming technology looks promising, but Will Riker and the crew of the USS...
Published on 15 Dec 2010 by J. R. Johnson-Rollings


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a regular Titan novel - too standard for a special, 15 Dec 2010
By 
J. R. Johnson-Rollings (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
The second book in the Typhon Pact mini-series, which is also the second Trek book that Michael Martin has written solo, is a fairly run of the mill adventure. When a natural disaster destroys a Gorn breeding planet, two factions set out to find a replacement. The discovery of an ancient terraforming technology looks promising, but Will Riker and the crew of the USS Titan are afraid it could also be used as a weapon.

This novel occurs roughly simultaneously with the first Typhon Pact novel, but other than a few mentions it could have occurred anywhere in the Trek canon. It's a fairly standard story of alien technology, prime directive problems and arguments with the Gorn which seems to have almost no bearing on the continuing storyline. This is a little disappointing as I was hoping for something that would continue developing the plot.

The plot itself seems quite slow moving, and made hard to read by the Gorn speech being rendered in a 'Gorn phonetic dialect' which seems unnecessary given that they wouldn't be speaking English anyway. The action tends to stay in one place, and the different factions and number of named Gorn become a little confusing.

In terms of style it is very similar to the Bashir book which precedes it - both focus on one of the Typhon Pact's member races, showing them to be more than just a warmongers, and dealing with aspects of racism that pervade in the characters. It's more similar though to the earlier Titan novels, but it's far from the best of the bunch. I personally feel that Martin's writing has lost something since he stopped collaborating with long time writing partner Andy Mangels.

Overall I was a little disappointed. I was expecting something a little more grand and focussed on the Typhon Pact plot rather than a day in the life of the Titan. Hopefully the remaining two books in the mini-series will get things back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what Star Trek needs right now..., 20 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked up the first book in the series and couldn't put it down. The second one I was hoping for more of the same... However, this was just a very poor effort by all involved.

Instead of focusing on the Breen as the first book in the series did, this one focuses on the Gorn. The Gorn who appear to act all too human except they have names that have apostrophes and all too many s's and h's. That's about it to be honest... It doesn't really focus on the whole Typhon pact as a whole, and could probably have been done for a better effect as a short Titan story. Even for a short book as it is, it still feels too long and there are many pages where all you can think is "Get on with it" as the crew of the Titan seem to do not very much at all as they wait for a civilization to be destroyed by a random and handily found world sculpting artifact.

All in all, this was not a good book. If you skip this, you won't have missed anything of any interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The cold war hots up...., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really ramped up the tension, showing a great peek into the Gorn society. I loved that this was an entire crew (Titan) rather then purely from the perspective o fine person in the previous book (Bashir). If this is a sign of things to come in the series, it's going to be an amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book in the Typhon Pact series, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely the best book in the series and works well as a stand alone novel. The story is well paced and the characters engaging. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars part of the whole., 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book with a good story line. Value is always good on kindle. Different star trek to what gene Roddenberry imagined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Start trek typhon pact #2, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The adventure continues with the crew of Titan. A typically good read read in the star trek world. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., 5 Feb 2012
...out of all the Typhon Pact novels, this is the only one that took me longer than 2 sittings to get through. In fact it took me over 3 weeks to plod through it. It just didn't engage me at all, I just felt I had to read it for completeness' sake. I wish I hadn't bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire: Star Trek, 20 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
I have enjoyed just recently the Titan series of books the story lines were fantastic, I ordered The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire, even before I'd finished the other book, I wasn't disappointed I couldn't put it down and was sorry when it ended, what a fantastic read, give me more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Typhon Pact, 9 Feb 2011
By 
Relayer (The Black Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
The Destiny trilogy has been somewhat over-rated in my opinion. Although it was an O.K. read, the plot was a little contrived but it did create the large scale change in the Trek universe that set up the subsequent books.
I really enjoyed all of the post Destiny novels such as A Singular Destiny and Losing The Peace (which follow on from the wonderful Articles of the Federation), and the Voyager Full Circle and Unworthy continuations. All of these are very superior Trek and set exceedingly high standards !
My expectations werre certainly not met in the first Typhon Pact novel which was a major disappointment - it was uninteresting, not particularly well written and failed to move forward developments in the larger Trek universe much at all.
I am afraid that much the same can be said of this one. The writing is certainly better, but again we have an (almost stand alone) adventure only indirectly concerning the larger story of the Federation and Typhon Pact.
The Titan novels have so far been as near to 'hard' sci-fi as Trek gets and some interesting concepts have gone some way to offsetting the (to me at least) somewhat unappealing crew. This novel has not changed my mind about the crew and and the concept of the novel is not ground breaking. There is still very little of the political wrangling that the series seemed to promise and not much about wider developments such as on DS9.
Let's hope the next novel in the series is more successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Villans to conquer, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent book which sets the scene for new nasty villans (the Typhon Pact) for the Federation to vanquish, assimilate or befriend now that the Borg have been dealt with.
Great to see Captain Riker in charge and also an insight to the emotional turmoil that Tuvok sometimes has to face and the price he pays.
Super to have the continuing timeline and new stories in the Star Trek universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire: Star Trek
The Typhon Pact: Seize the Fire: Star Trek by Michael A. Martin (Mass Market Paperback - 6 Jan 2011)
5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews