Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for readers of any age.
Although this is the personal account of a fourteen year old girl's experience of tragically losing her arm in a shark attack while surfing, and her subsequent fight back to health, fitness and surfing again, it should not by any means be categorised as a "children's book". The book is ghost written by a professional writer, and reads well and quickly...
Published on 10 Jan. 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
I did find the story interesting - but not what I was expecting.
Did not take long to read - had it finished in a day.
Published 19 months ago by Adam Jacklin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for readers of any age., 10 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Although this is the personal account of a fourteen year old girl's experience of tragically losing her arm in a shark attack while surfing, and her subsequent fight back to health, fitness and surfing again, it should not by any means be categorised as a "children's book". The book is ghost written by a professional writer, and reads well and quickly. Bethany's courage and determination are an inspiration to anyone of any age. Her deep Christian faith, and that of her family as she describes their encouragement and support, are also inspirational. A book to be enjoyed at the time, and remembered long afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for christian elite child athletes and their parents. ideal section 48 material, 7 July 2011
A true 'can't put it down' read. There is no gore or any part that induces nightmares. the imfamous shark attack is recounted in small portions throughout the story. this can safely be read by a mature 8yr old and is mature enough to engage older teens. It wouldn't harm to read it first before your child as you will be blown away by her courage, aswell as answer any of your childs questions.
As a parent of an 11 yr old elite gymnast I find it really hard to find books that relate and encourage her. This is a true tale that inspires us all. Bethany expresses her own faith with level headed maturity without pressure. she is just herself and certain of her faith. do not avoid this book in fear of being Bible-bashed because it won't happen!
Bethany was 13 yrs old when the incident happened but was back on her board in less than a month. Much of sport is about overcoming adversities for children yet there is not much material to encourage and inspire them. This does both and more.
As a youth worker Soul Surfer is loaded with material to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 13 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This book is well written for children to understand. I'm 10 years old and I have just learnt to surf, this book really inspires me to get better at surfing. It also taught me to follow my dreams, no matter what happens. Believe in yourself and you can make them come true. Bethany Hamilton is now my heroine!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, but a little simplistic, 6 April 2007
I finished this book inside an hour. I found it to be illuminating and interesting, elaborating on an incident I had previously only read about in magazines. Hamilton is a brave young woman and very 'matter of fact' about the incident that changed her life - a shark attack that left her with only one arm. The Christian aspect of it is very interesting, as someone who is not particularly religious it was interesting to see how religion has helped her overcome obstacles. My only criticism of this book is that it is a little simplistic, it seems to have been written for pretty young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fully Alive!, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This video is a must for anyone aiming to be fully alive. The basic attitudes of optimism, courage, living in contact with society and with nature, love, faith, family, together with a realistic look at the ups and downs of life, are blended together to give a celebration of life for all! The beautiful backdrops and the surfing shots give the film a freshness that makes it an enjoyable watch, even though the themes dealt with are quite tough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 Jun. 2014
Absolutely incredible and completely inspiring- a must to read. I have never read a book quite like it-it made me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A amazing woman and an amazing true story, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bethany Hamiliton is a amzing woman a true gift from God. This is her account of her life changing event and how Bethany and her family with faith in God lived through all this heartache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is thrilling and moving and just amazing. You must read it!! I couldn't stop reading and am sad that I got to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did find the story interesting - but not what I was expecting.
Did not take long to read - had it finished in a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a true story of a girl called bethany hamilton who while out suefing lossing arm to a shark but as soon as she can she is back on the waves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Surfer: A True Story of Faith, Family, and Fighting to Get Back on the Board
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews