Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A smashing end to the Typhon Pact mini-series
The fourth and final book in the Typhon Pact mini-series is the Next Gen focussed novel and departs from the practice of the first three books by dealing predominantly with a Federation member species, the Andorians. Their planet ravaged by the Borg and species threatened with extinction by reproductive difficulties, Andor plays host to a conference of scientists and...
Published on 10 Feb. 2011 by Jim J-R

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is the way the Federation ends, not with a bang but a whimper
After the Destiny Trilogy and A Singular Destiny the Typhon Pact series was created it study the landscape of the Star Trek Universe after the Borg devistated the galaxy. Each book focusing on one of the Star Trek Franchises and one of the founding members of the newley established Typhon Pact. The Paths of Disharmony was the final book in the first wave of the Typon Pact...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Mr. P. Tindle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A smashing end to the Typhon Pact mini-series, 10 Feb. 2011
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) (Mass Market Paperback)
The fourth and final book in the Typhon Pact mini-series is the Next Gen focussed novel and departs from the practice of the first three books by dealing predominantly with a Federation member species, the Andorians. Their planet ravaged by the Borg and species threatened with extinction by reproductive difficulties, Andor plays host to a conference of scientists and politicians trying to find an acceptable solution.

To me, this is the adventure where the series of continuation novels has come of age for the next gen. The writers have the freedom now not to worry about putting the toys back in the box, and so events have lasting repercussions, granting the reader much more emotional involvement with the plot.

While some elements are clearly moving to set things into motion to fit back into the 24th century parts of the recent Star Trek film and it's accompanying literature, the characters are written in such a way that it feels a natural progression of their character arc. In this way, this book is far superior to it's predecessor, in which DS9 characters develop beyond recognition.

Although the story follows on from many of the events of the DS9 relaunch novels, and ties in with the TOS-era Vanguard series, there's no requirement to have read either to understand this action packed semi-political thriller. It's the best of the Typhon Pact novels and leaves plenty of room for Trek to continue for a long time. I look forward to finding out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is the way the Federation ends, not with a bang but a whimper, 20 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) (Mass Market Paperback)
After the Destiny Trilogy and A Singular Destiny the Typhon Pact series was created it study the landscape of the Star Trek Universe after the Borg devistated the galaxy. Each book focusing on one of the Star Trek Franchises and one of the founding members of the newley established Typhon Pact. The Paths of Disharmony was the final book in the first wave of the Typon Pact sounded so promising, saddly the book fails to deliver. To begin with the book is over a hundred pages too long and still manages to be over a hundred pages to short, however, I will get more to this in a minute.

The book focus's on the TNG characters and the ongoing Andorian reproductive issues, without spoliering anything a new treatment has been brought to the table which may solve the Andoiran crisis - whose population, like most of the Federation, are still trying to recover after Borg invasion - however the 'cure' comes at a price - it only rquires 2 of the Andorian casts to reproduce - and as a result the entire populice is up in arms not only aginst the treatment but against the Federation who they believe deserted them in the war with the Borg. And this remains the focus on the first 311 pages (the book is only 455 pages long), it is when the Tholian's arrive (and who only appear for a few chapters) that the entire landscape of the book, the Andorian people and the Federation is changed.

Saddly it takes over 300 pages for anything to happen, at one point I skipped over a hundred pages of the novel and was still able to continue reading the book without losing any of the plot. What happens after page 311 happens far too quickly and this is what I was saying about the book being too long and too short. the final hundred pages or so are enjoyable, tense and (while the ending is obvious from the first few pages of the book) is likely to have a huge impact on the Star Trek franchise going forward.

After reading the book I honestly can't help but feel the plot of the book would have been more suited to one of Keith DeCandino's polictical Star Trek Books (Articles of the Federation/Singular Destiny). The events of the book are too big to be studied from just the point of view of the Enterprises crew, we needed to see behind the closed doors.

Saddly when all is said and done the book feels more like a simple excerise in moving pawns into place (a lot of the book focuses on Picard and clearly getting him into postion for the events of Star Trek XI prequal graphic novel) rather than a study of the Typhon Pact.

Overall the book manages to be slow and uneventful while completly changing the landscape of the Federation and in the end its this lack of balance which makes the read incredibly disapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last in the Typhon Pact series delivers a good tale, but it's not really a "Typhon Pact" book, 5 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) (Mass Market Paperback)
Set a year after the events of the last Next Generation novel, "Losing the Peace", much has changed for Picard on the Enterprise. His son lives with he and Beverley aboard ship, and he is coming under more pressure to become either an Ambassador for the federation or accept an Admiralty. In addition to this, the Typhon Pact is causing mischief on Andor...

Firstly, how does this measure up as a Typhon Pact novel? If you're after more of the members' detailed descriptions a la the previous three books, you will be disappointed. The Tholians are the only Pact members to feature, and it's not until the end when they make what is little more than a cameo appearance. However, this is really a Star Trek: The Next Generation book, and if you treat it as such, it's very enjoyable.

With the well-documented problems with Andorian reproduction mentioned in the DS9 series of novels, the issue comes to a head here, tying in events from the Star Trek: Vanguard series of novels. The subtle interlinking between the series' works well, creating a truly unified feeling amongst modern Trek fiction. This book is also a clear mirror to the last story to feature the Enterprise-E as Andor, a Federaion founder, appears to turn on its allies. Cue diplomatic tension, terrorists, and betrayal at every turn. It's a good story, with focus on the Enterprise crew but also the political situation at the Palais de la Concorde and the President herself.

A little slow-moving at times (the Andorian names are a headache to keep track of, a problem that blighted "Seize the Fire" also) but with decent characterization and print time for all the Enterprise regulars, it holds your attention. There are personal developments for some of the crew that's nice to see. And finally, the novel ends well, with the reader wanting to know how the political interstellar landscape will move forward. Too bad no real post-Typhon Pact stories seem to have been announced yet...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Total disappointment, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) (Mass Market Paperback)
After the Destiny trilogy that was exciting & had lots of action, cameos & brilliantly revealed how the Borg were created I wondered where the Trek series would go from there. David Mack started it off brilliantly with Zero Sum Game & from there on in anything that follows is going to have to be a great read to even get anywhere near. This sadly is one of those heavy let downs. The Andorian names makes you lose interest after the first few chapters, the focus of their antennae & colour of their skin is totally irrelevant.
I tried to persevere & it didn't work so I speed read the first 100 pages.
I skipped another 100 pages. Missed nothing & although the other reviews said the Tholians come in at the end I really couldn't take any more.
From the moment I opened the book & saw how small the print was & how many pages were in the book I knew it would be an uphill struggle. Sadly not a struggle that I would wish to endure. I didn't read all of this book, barely paid any attention to what I did read & strongly recommend you read only the back of the book & put it down.
I strongly doubt I have missed anything of any importance & will be using this book on the toilet.... Just not for reading.
A total waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Andorian blues, 7 Aug. 2011
By 
C. Capel "the_tingler" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) (Mass Market Paperback)
Pretty darn good, definitely my favourite of the Typhon Pact novels. While you don't necessarily need to have read the other books you do have to know about the massive Borg invasion in the recent Star Trek: Destiny trilogy (plus Losing The Peace would be helpful too). However, it did get a bit annoying when it started heavily bringing the Star Trek: Vanguard series, although as someone who's barely heard of those books (let alone read them) Dayton Ward does a good job of summing them up. It's only really annoying when I was expecting a huge build-up to something major from original Trek or Enterprise (which I'm also pleased to say is referenced) but was just something from Vanguard that I'd never heard of. Still, used well.

I enjoyed it, and it's especially good to see the current Enterprise crew continue to have new adventures - and good, exciting ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Instalment, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) (Mass Market Paperback)
The series started out with an amazing premise and the first novel (Zero Sum Game by David Mack) set the benchmark. Unfortunately Paths of Disharmony was more of a chore than an enjoyment to read. The Andorian conflict and vague reference to Vanguard and the "secrets" therein were far too drawn out for this novel.

One really had to battle through this to the conclusion which could have been portrayed much earlier. The characters had no depth and reminded one of a cardboard cutout. The writer (Dayton Ward) had the chance to throw off the shackles and explore the Star Trek universe more but found himself floundering in a political debate where the reader knew the conclusion before the mid point of the book.

All in all a very poor experience and not worthy of following on from the truly amazing Destiny series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb !, 6 Jun. 2011
By 
Relayer (The Black Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) (Mass Market Paperback)
After the let down of the first two Typhon Pact novels which were pointless 'tv episode' like stand alone adventures, Rough Beasts Of Empire was a step up - a more adult political novel with some sweep and range. The Trek that has worked best over the past few years has all spun around the wonderful Articles of the Federation novel and I am pleased to say that Paths Of Disharmony does too and is all the better for it.

The background plot arc is advanced again thanks to Pact intervention in the Andorian reproductive crisis with a nice nod to the superb Vanguard novel series. Developments in the personal lives of some of the main characters add to the mix, and the book finishes with (another) major upheaval in the Trek universe.

This is great - I can't wait for the continuation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring & tedious. Well written rubbish., 31 Jan. 2013
By 
Old Thingy (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am about half way through this book and am not sure if I will ever finish it. Boring trash with no real story line.
For example, the second chapter has Jordie La Forge fitting a modification to a sensor array. That's it. That, in one sentence is what the chapter is all about but you get a lot of tedious padding to fill up pages. You cannot give it no stars so I have given it One for boredom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely a step up from the previous instalment, the Enterprise's efforts to assist the Andorian home world. The book was amazingly written, the action incredible, and I was literally excited for what was next. There's also some nice foreshadowing of Star Trek: Countdown, the prequel to the 2009 film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars trek ongoing., 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A part of the trek legacy. These books get better and follow on realistically. I would recommend this book.good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek)
Typhon Pact: Paths of Disharmony (Star Trek) by Dayton Ward (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Feb. 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews