Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last !
After the real let down of the previous two Typhon Pact novels we at last move away from the pointless 'tv episode' like stand alone adventures and get to a more adult political novel with some sweep and range. The Trek that has worked best over the past few years has all spun around the wonderful Articles of the Federation novel and this is all the better for it...
Published on 22 April 2011 by Relayer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
That`s what this book is. Wordy and uninspiring. Nothing much really happens. I kept on reading hoping something exciting would happen, some sort of adventure at least. Nothing but political intrigue. Ok if you like that sort if thing I was bored by it.
Published 19 months ago by Penny Napier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last !, 22 April 2011
By 
Relayer (The Black Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Rough Beasts of Empire: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
After the real let down of the previous two Typhon Pact novels we at last move away from the pointless 'tv episode' like stand alone adventures and get to a more adult political novel with some sweep and range. The Trek that has worked best over the past few years has all spun around the wonderful Articles of the Federation novel and this is all the better for it.
The background plot arc is advanced somewhat and the new Trek universe continues to take shape. Add to this major developments for both Spock and Sisko and you have a winner !
My only (minor) quibble is that the DS9 story still needs a lot of gap filling, but that will no doubt be coming in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Sisko returns!, 27 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Rough Beasts of Empire: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
Sisko returned in 2003's DS9 novel "Unity", but hasn't had a leading role in a Star Trek novel for a while since that. Rough Beasts of Empire changes all that and sees him taking on the Borg during their invasion (Star Trek: Destiny) and commanding a new ship. Spock also appears, continuing the storyline that began years ago in TNG's "Unification" episodes. A lot more information about the DS9 characters current status, that was only hinted at in "Zero Sum Game", a previous novel in the Typhon Pact, is also revealed. An essential novel for Star Trek fans and DS9 fans in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but filler mostly...., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, I love Mr George's Mission Gamma book, and the detail in that, but this one was a bit flat. I love Benjamin Sisko, he's my favourite with Archer a close second, but this felt like it was going through the motions with him, as if they didn't know what to do with him. To contrast, the Spock/Romulan story was incredible, showing the machinations of the two states under Tal'Aura and Donate as well as the welcome return of an old enemy of the Enterprise-D crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get through, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Personally i don't like political books without much action resulting from it, and this book contains chapters of chamber discussions. Just made for a bit of a hard book to stay interested in, with all those Romulan politicians names you have to keep track of it gets a bit boring. I liked the Taenkethi descriptions though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beyond ds9., 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sisko after the end of ds9. I would recommend this as a continuation of trek after the tv versions. On going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That`s what this book is. Wordy and uninspiring. Nothing much really happens. I kept on reading hoping something exciting would happen, some sort of adventure at least. Nothing but political intrigue. Ok if you like that sort if thing I was bored by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing addition to both the DS9 and Typhon Pact series, 22 Jan 2011
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Rough Beasts of Empire: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
I was surprised by my disappointment with this novel. I am a big fan of DS9 and its novel continuation, and really enjoyed both the preceding Typhon Pact novels and the Destiny trilogy before that. I also enjoyed George's earlier DS9 book in the Mission Gamma arc.

This novel, set earlier than the other two Typhon Pact novels, though it doesn't tell the reader that, focusses on the Romulans, and that is it's redeeming feature. The political machinations are the most interesting part of the story.

The thing that annoys me most is the glossing over of the continuing DS9 storyline. At the end of 'The Soul Key' the storyline was building up towards something good, but the publishers abandoned that plotline, leaving it on a cliffhanger, and jumped the story several years into the future. George makes vague references to events in this period, but the lack of detail and the extreme consequences of these unseen occurrences make aspects of this book unbelievable. The changes to the characters of Sisko and Kira are wild and warrant explanation, while very little is forthcoming.

That moan out of the way, this book is quite chaotically put together, with gaps of months between chapters which break the flow of the narrative and on the odd occasion it jumps the other way, and has unannounced flashbacks, which have the same effect.

Overall this book feels like a filler. While it does deal with the Romulans to a similar depth as the previous novels did with other Typhon Pact members, it doesn't really add anything new that we didnt know from earlier stories. The coverage of the Tzenkethi is vague and feels like padding. While the conclusion of the book feels necessary to the story arc as a whole, the ends fail to justify the means in this case, and like I said, it disappointed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being A Sci-Fi fan this book hits the spot, with a good story. Star Trek fans will enjoy this book, but I think it's lacking a bit of adventure that we come to expect from Star Trek. So this book does not get the 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Typhon Pact: Rough Beasts of Empire: Star Trek
Typhon Pact: Rough Beasts of Empire: Star Trek by David R., III George (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews