Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, not quite up there with the Destiny trilogy
Having really enjoyed David Mack's Destiny trilogy I was looking forward to finding out what he would do next to the Star Trek universe in the first of four Typhon Pact novels. I have to admit I was a little disappointed by it though.

The story follows Julian Bashir and Serena Douglas as they attempt to infiltrate a Breen shipyard to retrieve some stolen plans...
Published on 17 Nov. 2010 by Jim J-R

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great
The whole book has the feel of a TV episode, which means that while everything moves along at a decent pace it doesn't seem to go anywhere. It feels as if nothing has changed by the end of the book, the bad guys lost and the good guys won.

The book at least broadens the Breen, the late addition to the Star Trek DS9 universe, and they could be a setup for future...
Published on 15 Dec. 2010 by Russell G. Pottinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, not quite up there with the Destiny trilogy, 17 Nov. 2010
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
Having really enjoyed David Mack's Destiny trilogy I was looking forward to finding out what he would do next to the Star Trek universe in the first of four Typhon Pact novels. I have to admit I was a little disappointed by it though.

The story follows Julian Bashir and Serena Douglas as they attempt to infiltrate a Breen shipyard to retrieve some stolen plans. The Breen as a culture are explored in much more detail than ever before and Mack makes them seem very real. Sadly the same can't be said of the two Starfleet characters, whose genetic enhancements are played up, come across as superheroes whose power is a touch too awesome to empathise with.

The story starts in a style that I found quite similar to a television episode, with a lot of short scenes running back to back, setting up the plot, before settling down to the main part of the story. I find it quite irritating that a large period of Deep Space 9's story has been missed out between last year's The Soul Key and the Destiny books, which means a number of changes have occurred that are sprung upon the reader. I only wish that they had filled this gap with story rather than trying to gloss it over.

This book makes a traditional slightly dodgy attempt to do romance, which Star Trek has always been particularly bad at. Unfortunately it comes across quite cheaply, and doesn't really seem all that necessary to the plot, though it does serve as some motivation to the characters. Perhaps it is something that will be explored further in the rest of the series.

Although it was not what I would describe as an excellent read, it was better than a lot of Trek books and I'm still looking forward to reading the next three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
Russell G. Pottinger (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
The whole book has the feel of a TV episode, which means that while everything moves along at a decent pace it doesn't seem to go anywhere. It feels as if nothing has changed by the end of the book, the bad guys lost and the good guys won.

The book at least broadens the Breen, the late addition to the Star Trek DS9 universe, and they could be a setup for future storylines. It appears that the writers intend to bring the less well known members of the Typhon Pact more to the fore (Gorn, Kinshaya, etc) but we will have to see if they can weave them into a cohesive storyline.

Again this doesn't mean that it is a bad book, just don't expect it to be in the same league as the Destiny books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good post-Destiny read, 5 Jan. 2011
Like everyone else, I started this first novel in the Typhon Pact series having just finished the "Destiny" novels. FYI - having an Android tablet to read my ebooks on is a great new toy to play with !
This first book in Typhon Pact is again another well written piece from David Mack. When you look at it on paper the actual plot is pretty thin (Section 31, Jack Pack, Breen, Slipstream), but Mack revels in delving deeper into the nuances of these characters and Bashir in particular. He captures the self-doubting Doctor that we saw in "Inter Arma Silent Leges" and in a way this is probably a direct sequel to that particular DS9 episode.
The main plus point of this book has to be the Breen. From explaining the difference in ranks, planets, technology etc Mack gives us a detailed look into this mysterious race, and for once they don't come across as the usual "alien of the week" that you normally get in Star Trek. Sarina (from the Jack Pack) is given plenty of time to shine, although I couldn't quite swallow her transformation from "Savant" to "La Femme Nikita", for me just didn't work.
Overall a good (if not quite great) read that will satisfy those that watched DS9 and wanted to see the series continue. This would have made a fine episode for the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very Average..., 9 Feb. 2011
By 
Relayer (The Black Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
The Destiny trilogy has been somewhat over-rated in my opinion. Although it was an O.K. read, the plot was a little contrived but it did create the large scale change in the Trek universe that set up the subsequent books.
I really enjoyed all of the post Destiny novels such as A Singular Destiny and Losing The Peace (which follow on from the wonderful Articles of the Federation), and the Voyager Full Circle and Unworthy continuations. All of these are very superior Trek and set exceedingly high standards !
I was expecting as much if not more from the Typhon Pact novels and had been waiting anxiously for the first one. What we got was a rather uninteresting espionage novel, not particularly well executed which moved the larger plot on very little. There is very little of the political wrangling that the series seemed to promise and not much in the way of information about developments on DS9.
Very much a missed opportunity and it does not bode well for the other novels in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek meets Tom Clancy, 17 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
The Breen are the main race featured in Zero Sum Game and I'm sure fans of DS9 will pick up this novel to find out the secret of their species. The novel is very well written and moves along at a brisk pace. The second Typhon Pact novel Seize the Fire was a disappoint, so lets hope Rough Beasts of Empire can match Zero Sum Game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boldly not that good, 10 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
another typhon pact star trek novel which i had looekd forward to as it involved the mysterious breen zero sum game turned out to be a starfleet spy thriller that read like the looking glass war or firefox
set in the empire of the number nine star trek villains the masked and mysterious cyrogenic lifeform "the breen" the spy story explained the breen away as totally un-alien and so 1950's eastern european little better than errand of mercy klingons
the two fisted story of starfleet agents hacking into the breen security network composed as it was of CCTV, nodes. servers and routers completely out of content with the 24th century nothing is bold in this and imagination fails to reach the final frontier
TV episode novelisation only not the best of the typhon pact hopefully other writers do better with the gorn, tholian and the non franchise kinshaya perhaps even scope for the kelvans to join the pact but as their real form not humans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 1 May 2013
By 
Keith Sanderson (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
I wasn't sure what to expect from this book, but found myself pleasantly surprised. I liked the idea of sending Bashir on a spy-type mission, having seen him role-playing the same with Miles O'Brien on DS9.
Yes, at times he and his partner Sarina seem to manage to get out of certain situations almost too easily, but nevertheless, it didn't prevent this novel turning into an enjoyable read.
I particularly enjoyed learning about the Breen, who have been seen briefly on our screens but only ever in their suits and headgear.
!!Attention, potential spoiler...

I recently read the Cold Equations set, in which yet another of Worfs love interests is killed off (a ridiculous decision in my opinion and one which ruined the book for me). At one point I was convinced that the same was going to happen here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Continuation, 1 Nov. 2010
I've just fimshed the Destiny trilogy and was interested in what happened after those events. I believe that this book is also a part of a trilogy, with this book being the first. This book deals with the Typhon Pact and the actions the are taking to catch up technologically with the Federation.

The book kept me interested from the minute I opened it until I finished it. The only negative that I could level at the book is one of the characters seems to be a little bit too Jedi Knight and less human. But it did not detract from the story too much.

I would recommend this title to anyone with an interest in the Star Trek universe but if you haven't kept up to date with the previous novels then you will be left a little confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars star author, 16 Mar. 2012
By 
Dan Brierley "Dan" (At home, where do you think.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
David Mack does it aqgain, he makes every book fast paced by decribing things moving instead of the "the purple clouds appeared to have a concrete texture on this warm winter" type of shizzle other authors rely on for padding. I particularly like the continuity between all the books since Enterprise ended and i love the scenes with the federation president in them, This and the borg books trilogy 'Destiny' had lots of them. They would make a good tv series out of federation politics.
Oh no, the next book in the Typhon Pact series is written by Michael Martin, i hope its not as bad as the romulan war stuff he wrote with andy mangels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent premiere, 20 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek (Mass Market Paperback)
The first book of the Typhon Pact hopefully sets the scene for another good set of Star Trek books.

This one focuses on Bashir and Ezri who are teamed up to find out what happened to stolen Slipstream drive technology that was stolen by the Breen. The Breen have always been nice and mysterious and many people have wondered what the Breen look like - and well, David Mack came up with the very very good description that I won't spoil here. You won't be disappointed.

Explosions, espionage, wild plans that only succeed through the stubborness of Starfleet personnel - this one has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek
Typhon Pact: Zero Sum Game: Star Trek by David Mack (Mass Market Paperback - 9 Dec. 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews