Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in the family
Mackenzie Phillips has written a BRAVE and Honest book about her troubled and amazing life.I just bought "High on Arrival" today,and went through the entirer book,but can't wait to read every word,but so far I can't put it down.
The most honest part is the sexual relationship with her father,John Phillips for ten years.He even wanted to run away with her to live...
Published on 25 Nov 2009 by Bob Waskiewicz

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She's Taking It One Day at a Time
Mackenzie Phillips's character Julie was my favorite on "One Day at a Time", so when I found out Ms. Phillips had written a memoir, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. It turned out to be a heart-wrenching account of a little girl who was given no boundaries and raised to believe that she was not accountable for her behavior. That a child is taught by a parent how to...
Published on 30 Sep 2010 by Carolyn Vines


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She's Taking It One Day at a Time, 30 Sep 2010
By 
Carolyn Vines (Voorschoten, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High on Arrival (Hardcover)
Mackenzie Phillips's character Julie was my favorite on "One Day at a Time", so when I found out Ms. Phillips had written a memoir, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. It turned out to be a heart-wrenching account of a little girl who was given no boundaries and raised to believe that she was not accountable for her behavior. That a child is taught by a parent how to roll joints and then later how to shoot up heroin is mind blowing. And then to discover that this same parent molested her was too much. While reading High on Arrival I longed to reach out and hug that child to let her know that not all adults/parents were so self-absorbed and untrustworthy. I couldn't hug her, but I was doing the next best thing: listening to her story.

High on Arrival reads more like a diary than an memoir, relating episode after episode of getting high, having sex and being molested. Halfway through the book I'd gotten tired of reading about drugs and liaisons with other celebrity kids. I wish Ms. Phillips had offered more self-reflection and insights into how her previous experiences have shaped her self-awareness, but then again, a diary is there to offer a safe space for the outpour of emotions. Ms. Phillips has enormous courage to lay bare her deepest, darkest secrets and certainly has been strong to withstand the backlash from her family that this book has caused. I applaud you, Ms. Phillips, and wish you all the success I can for your continued healing.

It's definitely worth reading to have an idea of what it can be like for child stars growing up in Hollywood. It certainly helps me to find compassion for the young startlets who are now in trouble: Lindsay Lohen, Brittney Spears, etc.

Carolyn Vines, author of memoir Black and Abroad: Traveling Beyond the Limitations of Identity
Black and Abroad: Traveling Beyond the Limitations of Identity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in the family, 25 Nov 2009
By 
Bob Waskiewicz (Wintersville, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High on Arrival (Hardcover)
Mackenzie Phillips has written a BRAVE and Honest book about her troubled and amazing life.I just bought "High on Arrival" today,and went through the entirer book,but can't wait to read every word,but so far I can't put it down.
The most honest part is the sexual relationship with her father,John Phillips for ten years.He even wanted to run away with her to live there lives as husband and wife.She ended the relationship when she got pregnet,and didn't know if he was the Father or her boyfriend,so she had an abortion.{Whats even worse is when John Phillips got his new liver,and he kept on doing drugs and drinking destroying his new liver.Just think of the person that could be alive today if John would have just said,"I'm not giving up my lifestyle,so give this gift of life to someone that deserves it")
I hope and pray by getting this out,Mackenzie can start her life all over again,One day at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incest with Father, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High on Arrival (Hardcover)
Excellent book and nothing that Mackenzie Phillips should ever have been ashamed to write. The book explains her parents separation and the poverty and wealth divided that followed Mackenzie, who chose to live with her Father and the rich people, where she found drugs easy to come by. Mackenzie starred in Films and TV serious in america where she found her own fame and fortune.

One night however when Mackenzie (Laura) Phillips was about 20 years old, she went to her Father's room and got some drugs off him, then passed out on the bed, however, at some point she realized that her Father John was making love with her. Mackenzie passed out again, and when she awoke her panties were around her ankles.

Confronting her Father later, he stated that they had made love.

Over the years that followed, Mackenzie would go to her Father John, for drugs, and knowing that he wanted to have her sexually she would willing go to bed with him, making it consensual sex.

Mackenzie Phillips states that it was never making love on her part, just sex while she was high on drugs. When she got pregnant and did not know if her Father was responsible for her love child or not, he paid her to get an abortion and she states that she did not sleep with him again, however, she has recently contradicted this and later in the book when she states that she did continue to sleep with her Father when they were on tour.

Plenty of name dropping in this book with Mick Jagger and the Rolling Stones, Paul McCartney and Donovan to name a few and the rest of her life is equally entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "What was I supposed to do -- change?", 25 May 2012
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: High on Arrival (Paperback)
Mackenzie Phillips' memoir is intense and disturbing. It's also bizarre, disgusting, and infinitely fascinating. She wrote it in 2009, after a news-making drug arrest and recovery, the latest in a long line of highs and lows that began when she took her first hard drugs at the age of twelve.

This book is very well-written; I didn't skip a single word, it was so interesting (as well as appalling). Born to an exceedingly bad father, experiencing fame in show business at a young age, and spending decades wrestling with the despair of drug abuse, Mackenzie tells about it all in detail, no holds barred. The book is exhausting to read and a very surprisingly look behind the red carpet. The main focus of her life has always been her complicated relationship with her father; because of his complete lack of parenting skills and total selfishness, it's amazing that Mackenzie is still alive, let alone as happy and hopeful as she is.

This is a shocking book, recommended for her fans and anyone affected by drug abuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive, 8 Oct 2012
By 
J. A. Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High on Arrival (Paperback)
A very well written book but in the end I felt I was party to one of those conversations wherein you're not drunk and the other person is and they keep repeating themselves.
There is only so many times you can read about drug abuse and waking up wrecked or not nearly waking up at all to start to want to scream "Yes love I get it, you gone done a whole lotta drugs"
So here is the book in a nutshell.
Young girl does drugs over and over and over again. Sleeps with father. Does more drugs. Goes to rehab. Gets clean.
Does more drugs. I should imagine you could repeat ad infinitum except the bit with the father as he's dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High on Arrival Mackenzie Phillips, 18 May 2011
This review is from: High on Arrival (Paperback)
Brilliantly written,easy to read.Couldn,t put the book down. Could relate to era in which it,s story-line was based upon.Daughter of lead singer of the 70,s Momma,s and Poppa,s,her life of abuse, drink and drugs to which she was exposed to whilst growing up and to present day struggle to keep clean and free from her demons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Papa Johns Daughter, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: High on Arrival (Paperback)
If you love the mamas and papas dont read this book the fact she was a serious drug addict I find it hard to believe she remembers so much Horrible Horrible read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High on Arrival
High on Arrival by Hilary Liftin (Paperback - 22 Feb 2011)
£9.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews