Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix and match
Brilliant set of short stories, very useful for a busy lifestyle where you just read a wee bit at a time. I bought it for the Diana Gabaldon story as I'm an avid fan and it was a great side story to the main books. The rest of the stories were mainly really good, though there were a few of the fantasy ones that were slightly odd. I highly recommend this book for anyone...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by EmmaP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a parson's nose...
I, like others, bought this book specifically for the Diana Gabaldon short story. That was brilliant, so I definitely got my money's worth.
The rest of the book. Hmmmm. Well, at best I would say that it's 'variable'. There are some very well-written short stories in there. Some interesting ideas, and some that have made me think. Some that have taken me along for the...
Published on 25 July 2012 by Mariask


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix and match, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant set of short stories, very useful for a busy lifestyle where you just read a wee bit at a time. I bought it for the Diana Gabaldon story as I'm an avid fan and it was a great side story to the main books. The rest of the stories were mainly really good, though there were a few of the fantasy ones that were slightly odd. I highly recommend this book for anyone with an appreciation of scifi, fantasy, romance or just good stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 26 Mar 2013
By 
L. A. Cook "Sweet cheeks" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok book, bought it for the story about Roger's parents by Diana Gabaldon as I am a big fan of the voyager series she has written.Some other good stories in there too but a few real duffers!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good short stories, 22 Mar 2013
By 
G. M. Colvin "millysmam" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
sometimes feel like novels are like a 10 course banquet and sometimes you just feel like a snack, this book filled with good "snack" stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a parson's nose..., 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, like others, bought this book specifically for the Diana Gabaldon short story. That was brilliant, so I definitely got my money's worth.
The rest of the book. Hmmmm. Well, at best I would say that it's 'variable'. There are some very well-written short stories in there. Some interesting ideas, and some that have made me think. Some that have taken me along for the ride, and been absorbing and compulsive. But *some* of them are trite, predictable or just so clichéd in their genre that I couldn't bear to read more than the first page.
So, IMO, this is a book to cherry pick through. Take what you like, and leave the rest. Chances are that other people will like the stories that I found unreadable - tastes differ.
Ah. And one final thing. The book LOOKS cheaply produced. The narrow margins and paper quality make me think that this book has been produced on a shoestring: cram as many words as possible onto each page, then have very narrow trims on the pages to cut down on paper. Not a good look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I need to be really honest..., 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs of Love & Death: All-Original Tales of Star-Crossed Love (Hardcover)
I only bought this book to read the tale by Diana Gabaldon as it links in with her other books (Outlander series)but I am pleased to say that the rest of the stories are excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed reading them. Just a shame its not on the Kindle but that is down to the Publishers and I am SICK of waiting for the other Diana Gabaldon books to come out on Kindle in the UK (rant over!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outlander must read!, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Songs of Love & Death: All-Original Tales of Star-Crossed Love (Hardcover)
Again, I am outlander fan who bought the book to read what happened to jerry mckenzie - a must for all fans of diana gabaldon :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great anthology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs of Love & Death: All-Original Tales of Star-Crossed Love
Songs of Love & Death: All-Original Tales of Star-Crossed Love by Peter S. Beagle (Hardcover - 16 Nov 2010)
Used & New from: £2.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews