Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Swagger is getting old
Not the old Bob Lee kill em and eat em type stuff, Bob is getting on so is becoming a background operator, hence the introduction of Cruz, the new Bob Lee! Hunters usual good story lines and perhaps too much technical info on the guns and ammo but I've read everything he's produced and have yet to be disappointed, keep writing them Stephen and I'll keep buying em!
Published on 20 Nov 2011 by Mick H

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Going downhill
I used to love the hunter novels, but found them a bit long in the tooth since 47 Samurai. I was quite excited to be getting back to old swaggersniper books, but after this i doubt i will read him again. The sense of suspense is gone and instead we have cheap soap opera style twists worse than 24. Its also blaringly obvious Hunter has no handle and passion for Afghanistan...
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by Adil Ehsan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Going downhill, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Adil Ehsan "adilsan" (Pakistan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I used to love the hunter novels, but found them a bit long in the tooth since 47 Samurai. I was quite excited to be getting back to old swaggersniper books, but after this i doubt i will read him again. The sense of suspense is gone and instead we have cheap soap opera style twists worse than 24. Its also blaringly obvious Hunter has no handle and passion for Afghanistan like he had for vietnam or even WW2. His main villain could be from a bad bond novel. Seriously what happened?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, but an odd writing style, 4 Sep 2012
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I like Stephen Hunter's stuff, but I haven't read them all and tend to dip in and out and often not in sequence. But he has made Bob Lee Swagger an iconic character and done very well to keep rolling out stories on the fairly limited subject of snipers.
Here we have an older semi-retired Swagger being asked to help out the FBI in tracking down a top marine sniper that is almost a younger version of Swagger himself. The sniper has gone off the range to complete a compromised mission and in addition to the legitimate forces after him, there is also a very well informed kill squad. The plot and the characters work pretty well as Swagger starts to wonder who the good guys and the bad guys actually are. So it moves quickly and is a good page turner. That's the good news, the bad news is a slightly odd writing style that I don't remember from previous books. It's almost like the author is, at times, almost winking and having a private joke with the reader as part of the narrative. I found it annoying but not overly intrusive and the action was enough for me to be able to move on past it. But for me, it takes the book down from a potential four stars to a three star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
as always a great story and engrossing read but style of book makes it a not too pleasent read, too narrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Swagger is getting old, 20 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Not the old Bob Lee kill em and eat em type stuff, Bob is getting on so is becoming a background operator, hence the introduction of Cruz, the new Bob Lee! Hunters usual good story lines and perhaps too much technical info on the guns and ammo but I've read everything he's produced and have yet to be disappointed, keep writing them Stephen and I'll keep buying em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not his best, 3 Feb 2011
i couldnt wait for this book to come out i have read all the" bob the nailer"books he is without a doubt my favourite character and stephen hunter is 1 of only 2 authors i pre-order but this book is perhaps 1 story too far about bob lee swagger ,im sorry but i want the main character in my action book to be involved in the action and in this book he isnt.having said that it does have plenty of action and is an enjoyable read but if i watch james bond i dont want to see him advising m.
overall a good read but not what i expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct 2014
This review is from: Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Bobs still nailing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 27 Sep 2013
By 
John M. MCCULLOUGH "rpc" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
In good condition and state. It arrived within the time frame given. i was quite satisfied with the service given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why wait, 21 Jun 2011
i don't understand why it takes amazon uk so long to get paperback versions. i bought this book from amazon usa for 8 bucks in paperback months ago, and it has been on the newsstands here in switzerland for a long time also. not to mention you can always download any latest bestseller for free from usenet and put it on your kindle

as for the book, not the best in the series but certainly worth buying for fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another masterclass in thriller writing the biggest and best in the game. Dark, intense and rivetting - no one does pure macho action like Hunter and this is amongst his best work. Also promisingly, Hunter introduces a new generation of the Swagger warrior clan, so long may Hunter-the-genius rule and bring on the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Novels)
Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger Novels) by Stephen Hunter (Mass Market Paperback - 30 Aug 2011)
£6.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews