Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High-octane action with heart and humour
I bought Monster Hunter International (or MHI) based on a recommendation from a friend, and I'm very glad I did. MHI is a rock-and-roll ride from start to finish, and it's left me with the same kind of big smile I get from a well-made summer blockbuster movie. The plot isn't particularly deep and it reveals nothing new about the human condition, but who cares? MHI is...
Published on 16 Sept. 2009 by C. P. Halliday

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin
Well, when you see the title of the book, you kind of know what you are getting. MHI is a heavily action based urban fantasy about a private organisation that hunt all the creatures of legend while having to keep their existence (and that of the `monsters') a secret. New recruit is Owen Pitt, an accountant, but an accountant that is built like a brick outhouse, who is...
Published on 1 Dec. 2011 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High-octane action with heart and humour, 16 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter International (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought Monster Hunter International (or MHI) based on a recommendation from a friend, and I'm very glad I did. MHI is a rock-and-roll ride from start to finish, and it's left me with the same kind of big smile I get from a well-made summer blockbuster movie. The plot isn't particularly deep and it reveals nothing new about the human condition, but who cares? MHI is *fun*. The bad guys are very bad, the good guys are genuinely heroic, the action is fast-paced and tense, and the writing is of a high quality not normally seen in books of this genre. The basic set up reminds me of John Steakley's novel Vampire$, but MHI has more heart and humour. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for a sequel or three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If it tries to eat you, it's a? ....... Target!, 23 Dec. 2014
By 
John O'sullivan "narsil" (limerick, ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter International (Mass Market Paperback)
Woo hoo! A non stop monster bashing extravaganza. Jus what you want to read if your interests include weapons, lotsa weapons, and nasty monsters of all shades, this is the first book in the series and does not disappoint in its ability to draw you in and hook you in the monster hunting universe, loved the story line and direction.
Overall a great read with breakneck pace and plenty of blood and guts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Action & Wild Monsters, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
S. Slack (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Loved it! Guns, chicks, monsters, mystery, fights. Would make the perfect action / horror movie. One for the boys. Grab a beer and kick back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly likeable story that is easily the most enjoyable book I have read this year, 10 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Monster Hunter International (Mass Market Paperback)
Monster Hunter International is a book that normally I would never have picked up. The idea of a mercenary group of monster hunters sounded a bit like the literary equivalent of a straight to DVD action movie. But after reading this book I am not ashamed to say that I couldn't have been more wrong.

This book is without a doubt, the most enjoyable book I've read so far this year.

Considering it's an action packed urban fantasy written by an obvious gun nut who has pandered to a number of monster stereotypes, this book has a surprising amount of depth. The characters were well rounded and very likable, and the story was handled well enough that there was very little need to swallow your disbelief (at least not so much as I was expecting).

Overall this is a surprising story that is really worth a read. Yes, it is never going to be hailed as literary greatness but it doesn't try to be. It is just a good book that concentrates on likable characters, having fun and basically providing an enjoyable story.

I would recommend that even people who would not normally read this work give it a try, you might be pleasantly surprised like I have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the first book in the series before I realised there was an omnibus I have read a lot of books and I think investing in this series is worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you love guns and monsters this book is for you!!, 2 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Monster Hunter International (Mass Market Paperback)
pick this book up at random though might be filler book but when i started read it couldnt put it down. fast pace, funny and down right AWESOME!! if you like urban fantasy like Jim Butcher Dresden Files you'll love this!! this book is a MUST READ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gun nut's dream come true, 31 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Monster Hunter International (Mass Market Paperback)
Owen Zastava Pitt is an accountant with a horrible boss...but the last thing he expected is that said boss would one day try to eat him, and Owen is not the type to lay down and just take it when someone or something attacks him. Owen survives and is introduced to Monster Hunter International (MHI) and finds his monster problems are only just beginning.

This book was a bit of a suprise to me with the authors obvious love of guns and battles it goes into a great deal of detail on the hardware used to kill the various mosters in the book. There are no sparkly, romantic vampires in this novel, instead Owen finds himself on the hunt for the worst of the worst in the supernatural world. This is the first book in the series and I'm looking forward to the further adventures of Own Z. Pitt in Monster Hunter Vendetta (Baen Fantasy) - though I found the loving details of all the weapony exhausting at times I nevertheless enjoyed this book much more than I thought I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly worth reading!, 7 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Monster Hunter International (Mass Market Paperback)
Really fun stuff!

The gun obsession can get a bit much at times (happily the author seems to realise this himself in the second book, but it is fun, page turning, funny read with lots of violence and fairly cool ideas.

If you are a fan of the Desden books, you might like these. For me that is high praise indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved It, 25 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. P. Reeder (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter International (Mass Market Paperback)
There are some books you can read, put down and then come back to continue reading, and then there are some books that you just have to keep reading and reading and reading because they are so good you cannot put them down - this book is one of them. Fun filled and action packed is only one way to describe it. I already have book two in the series on order and cannot wait until it arrives. The author has taken fact and fiction and worked to bring them together in an action packed and fantastic mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars completely addicted to this series, Whitty, action packed ..., 27 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Monster Hunter International (Mass Market Paperback)
completely addicted to this series, Whitty, action packed and full of surprises. Listen on audio and get submerged into the world of the brave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monster Hunter International
Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia (Mass Market Paperback - 28 July 2009)
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews