Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars For the fans
This novel is the culmination of several plotlines of several earlier Star Trek: Deep Space Nine novels, so if you haven't read them, you'll be lost. But if you have, you'll find it a nice denouement to several of those stories, as well as a springboard to the next. It is also pretty clever how several chapters take place around events described in those novels...
Published on 12 Sep 2009 by S. Carey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm disapointed
The latest novel in the continuation series to DS9 follows on immediately from where the previous one left off... which is it's first mistake. It's been two years since the previous novel was released, and this one makes no effort to remind the reader of what had been happening, instead diving straight into a very complicated and confusing plotline.

I must...
Published on 29 Aug 2009 by Jim J-R


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm disapointed, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Key (Star Trek: Deep Space Nine) (Mass Market Paperback)
The latest novel in the continuation series to DS9 follows on immediately from where the previous one left off... which is it's first mistake. It's been two years since the previous novel was released, and this one makes no effort to remind the reader of what had been happening, instead diving straight into a very complicated and confusing plotline.

I must confess that I wasn't holding out much hope for this one as I found the previous novel, Fearful Symmetry, also by Woods, to be below par as well. This one does have its moments - there are a few scenes towards the end that stood out - but there are others (for example space battles which last half a page) which are deeply unsatisfying.

The books is rather arbitrarily split into six parts, but even within those the narrative jumps around between times and places - and when you have three characters who are almost the same person it can get quite confusing. The storyline seems to rely too much on jumping backwards and revealing things which happened earlier that we didn't see at the time - and it feels really forced, as if they are just there to switch the course that the series was set on in the previous novel.

I'm disappointed, because I thought the first few DS9 relaunch books were really good, and now they are just letting the series down. My advice is that if you are a fan then go ahead and read it, but re-read at least Fearful Symmetry (if not more of the previous novels) first to get your head back around the storyline!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fairly flat ending *warning minor spoliers*, 1 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Soul Key (Star Trek: Deep Space Nine) (Mass Market Paperback)
Set during "Season Nine" of Deep Space Nine, this book manages to tie up most of the plotline from DS9 Worlds:Bajor, Warpath and Fearful Symmetry. You need to read those books at the very least to have a clue what is happening.

Taran'Atar, a Jem Hadar sent by Odo to live among the "Solids" on DS9, has been manipulated into betraying his allies and his gods. Now he serves a new master - Illyana Ghemor, former operative of the Cardassian Obsidian Order. Realising that the Bajoran Wormhole has the power to access countless universes, she has become hellbent on destroying Kira Nerys in not just our universe, but all possible and parallel ones. Kira and Commander Vaughn go on a desperate mission to the Mirror Universe to stop her, and to ensure that that universe's equivalent of an Emissary of the Prophets can be found in time.

This whole story has been a bit flat. When they revealed the potential power in the wormhole in DS9 Worlds, I was rather intrigued, but the follow up was poor. Illiana is just a nutcase who has fixated on Kira (a weak parallel to Dukat's obsession with Sisko). Why Illiana's crew follow her so obsessively is never really made clear. The weaknesses of the Mirror Universe Saga from the tv show are repeated here - it never really made sense that the Terran rebels could stand up to the Alliance, and that is made even more obvious. Solving the problem of how to use the wormhole to access that universe is literally Deus Ex machina - but I don't mind too much, it's obvious the Prophets are maneuvering people and events to suit them. At least we finally get a snippet of the Ascendant plotline - perhaps that is the next major arc.

As the other reviewer commented, Season 8 was a very strong series of DS9 novels; Season 9 has fallen a bit flat so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the fans, 12 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Key (Star Trek: Deep Space Nine) (Mass Market Paperback)
This novel is the culmination of several plotlines of several earlier Star Trek: Deep Space Nine novels, so if you haven't read them, you'll be lost. But if you have, you'll find it a nice denouement to several of those stories, as well as a springboard to the next. It is also pretty clever how several chapters take place around events described in those novels.

As well as the novels, The Soul Key builds from episodes from the series such as "The Storyteller", "Crossover" and "Second Skin".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome as always, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Olivia woods is by far one of the top three best writers of Startrek! Loved the ending absolutely loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More showing and less telling, please (SPOILERS!), 12 Jan 2011
By 
Jason (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's too many parts of the book where Ileana's plans are described to us, instead of us actually following the character through her plans.

Its a confusing read at times, especially towards the end which features multiple versions of several characters. Ok, that's to be expected, Mirror Universe and all, but still, did we really need 3 Kira's near the end?

Its not bad, hell, its DS9! But its not great. I hope the relaunch books now focus on events in the 'real' universe, and leave the Mirror universe alone for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Soul Key (Star Trek: Deep Space Nine)
The Soul Key (Star Trek: Deep Space Nine) by Olivia Woods (Mass Market Paperback - 7 Sep 2009)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews