Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading Book
This is an easy to follow book on Corel PaintShop Pro X4 with good examples to illustrate image and photo editing. The chapters are nicely structured for covering the main topics although, in my opinion, Chapter 10 (Discovering Drawing Tools) should come a bit earlier. It keeps the right balance with the depth -- neither too shallow nor detailed (as you find with...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by Kaio

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless
I found this book as about as useful as a Chocolate Tea Pot. It has very few examples of how to create a particular picture or effect. And is for ever referring to other chapters. See this see that. In my opinion a complete waste of money. Your better off just practising on PaintShop. A very dissaponting purchase.
Published 23 months ago by dexter luminol


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading Book, 21 Dec 2011
By 
Kaio (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X4 (Paperback)
This is an easy to follow book on Corel PaintShop Pro X4 with good examples to illustrate image and photo editing. The chapters are nicely structured for covering the main topics although, in my opinion, Chapter 10 (Discovering Drawing Tools) should come a bit earlier. It keeps the right balance with the depth -- neither too shallow nor detailed (as you find with step-by-step tutorial guides online) and covers the whole breadth of the important topics (e.g., selections, layers, raster and vector layers and objects, photo fixes, RAW files, etc. - just to make random mentions). If on the other hand you are looking for every fine detail, this is not the book for you; as an example, no mention of 'alpha channel' is made even in passing (and yes, you can do without alpha channels). Fortunately, Corel's online user guide is quite comprehensive and can be consulted where this book misses out.

There is an interesting side-line to this book whereby the author introduces each chapter with a "Picture Yourself ..." section that attempts to 'paint' an everyday scenario to highlight what is to follow in the chapter. You may like this, you may not. The good thing is if you want to, you can ignore this part and doesn't affect the content. The section on 'color representations' as interpreted by the Author (no other source given) is very intriguing indeed but less disquieting to know that this is unscientific.

Overall an average book and does what it says on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy only one PSP book, make it this one, 28 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X4 (Paperback)
I bought this latest version of PSP (Pro x4) as I now have a little more time to devote to sorting my vast collection of photo's in a more pro manner! I've followed 'help' topics and You-Tube vid's and found most pretty helpful. However, I bought this book so I could start at the beginning and work through it one page at a time and have the ease of picking up where I left off. It's been a real God's send. I have many 'How to' books, some ok, some a waste of money, but this one is a real boon to understanding and using while working through PSP. I can't recommend it highly enough. Very easy to follow, even the more detialed parts. Very well written by someone who obviously knows her stuff and with lots of pictures. Instruction manuals don't get better than this. If you buy just one book on this subject, make it this one. A 5 star publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X4 (Paperback)
I found this book as about as useful as a Chocolate Tea Pot. It has very few examples of how to create a particular picture or effect. And is for ever referring to other chapters. See this see that. In my opinion a complete waste of money. Your better off just practising on PaintShop. A very dissaponting purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PSP Pro 14 guide, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X4 (Paperback)
A comprehensive book that is easy to understand to get the basics of PSP. However, it doesn't show how to do things like montages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars corel PSP x4, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X4 (Paperback)
This is about one of the best books Iv come across on Paint shop pro x4.
Instruction books for Corel programs are few and far between,
But this one exceeds all on the Photo editing subject.
Well worth the cost and very explanatory covering most of the applications you are likely to need,
and set out in a very easy to understand graphical format.
I have purchased several Corel books ranging from Corel Photo Paint 9, up though the years to x4
I find this book to be full of valuable information.
If you have Paint Sop Pro x4 Then you need to buy this.You won't regret it.
Regards.
Mr G Watts.
("For Alpha Solutions")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paintshop pro, 23 April 2012
By 
Mrs. Julie Hall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X4 (Paperback)
An excellent program we are really pleased with it. My daughter has spend hours editing photos. Would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Picture Yourself Learning Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X4
Picture Yourself Learning Corel PaintShop Photo Pro X4 by Diane Koers (Paperback - 12 Sep 2011)
18.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews