Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a very good book on DirectX
This is a very concise overview (as well as introduction) to DirectX. It doesn't only cover the latest version 11, but also compares the new features with previous version of DirectX too - which I find very useful as I have not been keeping up with the latest DirectX technologies for a while a reminder here and there comes in very handy.

It's not too big, it...
Published on 15 July 2011 by R. Zaghi

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Meh
Not really a book for beginners, a decent amount of c++ knowledge will definitely help, but you will still get two pages worth of unknown and seemingly random code thrown at you with just a couple of lines of it being explained after.

It maybe worth finding some actual beginner videos/tutorials online first so you can understand all of what is being presented...
Published 15 months ago by r brooks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a very good book on DirectX, 15 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Beginning Directx 11 Game Programming (Paperback)
This is a very concise overview (as well as introduction) to DirectX. It doesn't only cover the latest version 11, but also compares the new features with previous version of DirectX too - which I find very useful as I have not been keeping up with the latest DirectX technologies for a while a reminder here and there comes in very handy.

It's not too big, it doesn't focus on the same component for too long (though, D3D is always the major topic in any such book), and the text is clear.

What I also like about the book is that the authors dive into the topic without too much extra history/story that we can find plenty of on the internet and/or other books.

If you are new to DirectX or haven't done it for a long time then this is the best [re]start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK Dx11 entry text, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Directx 11 Game Programming (Paperback)
I bought this book to get a quick overview of the major areas of DirectX11 and provide starter code from which to expand. This book satisfies in that respect. If you have in the past been put off 3D programming by mammoth volumes from other authors that take 800 pages to get a single line drawn, fear not; this book will get you drawing textured cubes within 300 pages, with code that compiles.

The first 150 pages of the book are structured like a re-write of MSDN. It's a sort of reference book for the API with each major function call described parameter by parameter (perhaps in a little too much detail using space that could have been used for more useful coverage of collisions) preceded by a general introduction to what needs to be achieved. The remaining 200 pages are more interesting and you really start to feel you are getting somewhere!

The book makes reference to where code and theory would be applied to games, but does not really cover games code. Contrary to the book's title you will NOT be 'game programming'. You won't be able to build a game after reading the book, but will be able to perform basic manipulations of 3D objects (book focuses on a cube). I've not found any coded game demos within the book. I was disappointed to find that collision detection was not covered beyond a one page mention.

Suggestions for readers:
You may find that you cannot create a 'device'. Ensure you have the "DirectX debug runtime" installed or comment out the creationFlags temporarily.
You'll need to download the source because the author does not give instruction on where to place code snippets making it harder to 'code along with the book'.
For more detailed and brutal reviews, see the book on the American site (Amazon.com)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 29 May 2013
By 
r brooks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning Directx 11 Game Programming (Paperback)
Not really a book for beginners, a decent amount of c++ knowledge will definitely help, but you will still get two pages worth of unknown and seemingly random code thrown at you with just a couple of lines of it being explained after.

It maybe worth finding some actual beginner videos/tutorials online first so you can understand all of what is being presented in this book.

I can see the value of the book if you have worked with directX previously though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DirectX11 Game Programming Review, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Beginning Directx 11 Game Programming (Paperback)
Awesome book for getting you started with DirectX11 Games Programming. Gives you a great insight and basics into a little bit of everything so that you can then go out and try for yourselves. Highly recommended for anyone interested in getting into 3D games programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Beginning Directx 11 Game Programming (Paperback)
I'm a student with no previous experience of DirectX, however within just a couple of hours this book had me making my first DirectX application! I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone! A must have for wannabe game developers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 100% hate this book, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning Directx 11 Game Programming (Paperback)
I opened this book and read until i had to write the code. I copied the code into my 2012 visual studio and i got multiple errors. I cant seem to fix the errors, even though i have knowledge of c++ and error checking. I 100% agree with some people but i suggest you don't buy this book. I want to learn to create a game but this isn't the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning Directx 11 Game Programming
Beginning Directx 11 Game Programming by Allen Sherrod (Paperback - 12 May 2011)
21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews