Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, informative book for beginners
This book is extremely helpful with taking the first steps to learning C++. I am currently studying Games Technology in university and I cannot begin to describe how helpful this book has been for me! Everything is laid out clearly and the structure of the coding is perfect for showing different ways you could tackle a task, leading people to adapt their own coding style...
Published 9 months ago by Sion Jones

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book BUT not for the absolute beginner.
If you have a basic grasp of C++ then this book is perfect and fun.
If you are a complete novice with no prior programming experience then this is not the book for you. Like most "Beginners" books the first chapter or 2 is easy to follow then the pace picks up far too quickly and you get lost.
For the absolute beginner to C++ there is only 2 books to choose,...
Published on 4 May 2011 by A. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, informative book for beginners, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
This book is extremely helpful with taking the first steps to learning C++. I am currently studying Games Technology in university and I cannot begin to describe how helpful this book has been for me! Everything is laid out clearly and the structure of the coding is perfect for showing different ways you could tackle a task, leading people to adapt their own coding style with whatever method they prefer. Anyone wanting to begin programming video games should start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have patience..., 14 Oct 2013
By 
J. Scott "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
I initially gave this book a lukewarm review, saying the following:

"Basically this text suffers from one of the most common faults in 'Beginner' programming language books: The early chapters are easy, everything is fully explained, and you sail along with a real feeling that you're getting somewhere. Then, suddenly (usually around chapters 3-5), you find that you're not on a learning curve anymore, but standing facing a vertical cliff-face extending up into the clouds. The text, code, and explanations may as well be written in Martian."

Now that I've been using it for a little longer, I realise that this was because I was being just too impatient to learn the language. The book's not perfect, but it's much, much better than I thought after just a few chapters.

However, I still think anyone who's new to programming would do better to work through something like C++ Programming in Easy Steps, and THEN come to this book.

But yes, this is an EXCELLENT book. Don't expect to be programming GTA 17 or DOOM 12, though. Or even Space Invaders or Pong! All the games are very simple with text output - but they're a heck of a lot more fun than the usual business/science-orientated examples you find in many books.

To sum up: An EXCELLENT book, so as you've the patience to absorb each step before rushing on to the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good beginner's book, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. C. S. Huxley (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
I'm a practising engineer who needed to learn to write software to model physical systems and go on to develop a basic graphical user interface. I spent ages deliberating over what book to get. This book was GREAT at taking you through from absolute basics of C++ to some of the harder but very useful stuff to do with Classes, the dreaded pointers (gulp...) etc. It does not teach you how to do graphics, but having gone through the book carefully I was then able to learn to use a graphics library (I chose SDL, but could have tackled basic OpenGL) relatively easily, because I understood the underlying basics behind the language.

The author has a sense of humour which made it a digestible read. The book goes at a good pace for me, assumes no prior knowledge but doesn't dilly dally on the really easy stuff, then takes it steady on the more tricky bits. The example games included are very good, but I ended up inventing my own as it was more fun. I keep going back to this book for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book BUT not for the absolute beginner., 4 May 2011
By 
A. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
If you have a basic grasp of C++ then this book is perfect and fun.
If you are a complete novice with no prior programming experience then this is not the book for you. Like most "Beginners" books the first chapter or 2 is easy to follow then the pace picks up far too quickly and you get lost.
For the absolute beginner to C++ there is only 2 books to choose, Programming Principles and practise using C++ and C++ A Beginners guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
Very impressed as came in perfect condition. Have not finished the book yet but enjoying the why its the author delivers his points and keeps things simple. Expands on the same idea with different techniques which I find helps reinforce the lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but missing some important things, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
The book itself is well written and suitable for someone who doesn't have any experience in programming. Granted that it may be challenging, but that is the nature of software programming in low-level languages that you have to learn a lot and quickly.
Examples in the book are solid and based on real-life examples, you won't be writing FooBar code, instead you will be writing inventory system for your hero, program alien spaceships and even write a game of blackjack. With that approach learning the fundamentals is easier as you learn what to do with them in practice instead of some abstract example.

The biggest problem of this book is that it's too short and doesn't cover some later-important topics like templates or header files, so don't expect to know everything after going through it, but it will give you good fundamentals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Aj Dudzinski (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
Very very very good book for my boy to support them in learning. Effective aid in learning process! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
Good book to start off game programming as need knowledge of C++ as a basis and this book meets that requirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
Such a good book for the beginners !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serve yourself Mr. Dawson..., 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning C++ Through Game Programming (Paperback)
Great book from the lead developer (and star) of the memorable 1990s adventure game Dark Seed. That is up until the chapter Chapter 8 (classes). I did my best to understand all the previous chapters and felt like I'd done pretty well. For example, this is a quote from Chapter 7 (pointers):

"A constant pointer to a constant combines the restrictions of a constant pointer and a pointer to a constant."

Obviously this is nonsense to a noob when quoted out of context, but the book does a good job of explaining this earlier in the chapter. I learnt enough from the book to be able to deconstruct and explain this in my own words:

1. A "pointer" is a reference to (the memory address of) an object, which can be reassigned to a different object. The value of the object to which it points can be changed via the pointer.
2. A "constant pointer" is the same as 1, but it cannot be reassigned to another object.
3. A "pointer to a constant" is the same as 1, but the value of the object to which it points cannot be changed via the pointer.
4. A "constant pointer to a constant" is a combination of 2 and 3, so the pointer cannot be reassigned to a different object and the value of the object to which it points cannot be changed.

Simple eh? However, while the less advanced topics do a lot to help the reader understand the concepts, this seems to drop off when you get to the later chapters. Maybe the book simply exceeded my attention span, but before I knew it I found I had been dumped at WTF International Airport. In spite of this and the few typos here and there (e.g. "integral" instead of "integer" and such) this is still a very good book and I would recommend it.

I think I need to take an aspirin from the bathroom cabinet and re-read the last quarter of the book, in the hope that I can get the most out of it before the alien embryo in my brain causes my head to explode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning C++ Through Game Programming
Beginning C++ Through Game Programming by Michael Dawson (Paperback - 17 Oct 2010)
21.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews