Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lumix GF1
Very informative and extends the basic manual information. Easy to read through and indexed nicely. Lots of clear photographs and figures to highlight each chapter. Excellent book, highly recommended.
Published on 5 Jun 2011 by Janette Crawford Ross

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This seemed like a good choice - but I confess to being more than a little disappointed. The handbook that arrives with the camera is linguistically challenged - and consequently not ideal for sorting out what everything actually does. This book (a quite substantial tome on heavy art-quality paper) - I thought - would fill in some, if not all, of the missing gaps. It...
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by Thomas Cambrensis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Guide to Digital Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
This seemed like a good choice - but I confess to being more than a little disappointed. The handbook that arrives with the camera is linguistically challenged - and consequently not ideal for sorting out what everything actually does. This book (a quite substantial tome on heavy art-quality paper) - I thought - would fill in some, if not all, of the missing gaps. It doesn't: it leaves much to be desired offering a wealth of information - much of it surrounded by extraneous waffle - that was for me irrelevant and which I found frustrating.

What I missed was the sub-title of the book which is "guide to digital photography" - its not really just a guide to the GF1.

If you are looking for a clear and concise explanation of each of the menu functions, how to access them and what effect they have on the results the camera can produce, which would have been ideal, then you need to look further. If instead you need the basics then you will find yourself happily ploughing through "The Panasonic GF1 comes in an impressive box filled with stuff ..... the first thing is to carefully unpack the camera ...

As a serious adjunct to the original handbook then - its pretty poor. To be honest, even as a guide for the complete beginner, it lacks suitable structure and clear guidance - delving into things that are much more adequately explained elsewhere and in a more appropriate context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superfluous Padding. 5***** returns from Amazon., 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: David Busch's Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Guide to Digital Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
Disappointed in this book. It's very heavy so you'd think it would be full of useful information. But alas it's style is verbose and unnecessary, perhaps to appeal to an American reader. How a whole paragraph can be written explaining that a 4GB memory card has half the capacity of an 8GB card, and that a 2GB card will take half as many files again, and that the capacity of a 1GB card is half of the 2GB card, I don't know. The first few pages are spent telling you how to insert a battery and turn the camera on. I find it hard to believe there are many users who will buy a 500 camera, and not unilaterally figure out what the on/off switch does. I learnt nothing of any use despite trying a number of different sections. The weight is mostly superfluous padding. There may be some nuggets of help in there, but you're a more patient reader than I am if you're prepared to wade through it all looking for them.

That said, the returns department and service from Amazon is five-star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars David Busch's book overrated, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: David Busch's Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Guide to Digital Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
Bought this book from a local vendor and found that the information was a repeat of the little booklet that came with the camera although with larger images and readable text. The only section which I really valued was Chapter 3 - 50 pages - on the menus and menu set-up. That which was not there was information pertaining to how one set-up or choice can affect another choice down the line.
Having a Mac computer I thought the book on the GF1 would be just as valuable as the book for my Mac entitled Missing Manual but it was/is not.
Another point of fact, everyone knows that the book is all about the GF1 by Panasonic but numerous references are made to this fact throughout the book and that is kind of tedious reading.
Maybwe interesting for a beginner but I am sure there are more informative snd interesting books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lumix GF1, 5 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Guide to Digital Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
Very informative and extends the basic manual information. Easy to read through and indexed nicely. Lots of clear photographs and figures to highlight each chapter. Excellent book, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 23 May 2011
This review is from: David Busch's Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Guide to Digital Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
Bought this in spite of the reviews as its the only GF1 book out there. Its OK as an intro to the camera, especially given the awful users manual, but I doubt that I'll ever look at it again. Most annoying feature is the way the author tries to sell the book to you in the text - a bit pointless when you've already bought it. The book takes you through all the features of the camera but only occasionally stops to offer advice or any real insight to guide you. One gets the impression that the book was slung together according to a blueprint - theres no real passion in it for the camera. Just a little more effort could have produced something so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lumix DMC-GF1 Book, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: David Busch's Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Guide to Digital Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
A very good book which explains the complexities of the cameras menu system. Also excellent as a reference book to check out things you have forgotten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Guide to Digital Photography (David Busch's Digital Photography Guides) (Paperback)
Good Product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews