Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent book with the odd flaw
My main peeve with this book is that it's using the Tao framework (which I understand hasn't been updated in some years and which follows more the C style) rather than something like OpenTK which is more frequently updated and is nicer to work with (such as enums instead of constants, support for .NET types like Color etc). Deployment of TAO also seems to be a pain, many...
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by Richard Moss

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some people just shouldn't write books
I bought this book based upon the content listing, which I have to say does look very appealing. The general scope of the book is fine, but Daniel Schuller is not a natural writer, and more importantly, he is not a teacher. Within the first few pages you immediately get the impression that he does not quite know where he is going, writing about many of the more advanced...
Published on 7 Oct 2010 by Orangeduck


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent book with the odd flaw, 18 Sep 2011
By 
Richard Moss (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# Game Programming: For Serious Game Creation (Paperback)
My main peeve with this book is that it's using the Tao framework (which I understand hasn't been updated in some years and which follows more the C style) rather than something like OpenTK which is more frequently updated and is nicer to work with (such as enums instead of constants, support for .NET types like Color etc). Deployment of TAO also seems to be a pain, many of the examples in the book will not run out of the box without first copying additional DLL's and in some cases missing assets. And if you don't have a gamepad expect some of the samples to crash without mercy as the author chose not to implement null checks when doing controller input processing.

Something else the book doesn't really make clear is the disadvantages of using the deprecated immediate mode, although it does provide batch handling using vertex arrays.

I did also spot a few errors in the books code listings, including the duplication of an earlier class rather than the brand new class that was being described.

Regardless of the above comments, I enjoyed this book. I have a number of other game books (dealing with DirectX rather than OpenGL) and I prefer this one the most - it describes quite a number of nice topics many of which I find extremely useful, and the game engine project seems to be an good starting point for your own projects. The issue of using TAO over OpenTK should be fairly easy to resolve as at the end of the day both these libraries map to the same OpenGL API commands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare thing a programming book that delivers., 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: C# Game Programming: For Serious Game Creation (Paperback)
I came across this excellent book after a colleague in the USA recommended it based on the reputation of the author. I purchased a copy and found it delivered as the title describes. I have since purchased several copies for several friends and colleagues initially from Amazon USA (a very expensive experience,shipping books across the Atlantic!)and more recently as it became available from the UK site. Each have commented on how it fills the gap that has long existed for technical programmers, who want to move into the serious game programming arena. Clearly as can be seen from the previous reviewer not a book for all tastes and not one for absolute beginners but for a professional taste of games programming it is a book that can transform your programming skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but needs more depth, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# Game Programming: For Serious Game Creation (Paperback)
This book is good for a primer, the math section especially does a good job of traversing the fundamentals of game engine math.

Thing is, it isn't gonna tell you how to create the next next-gen 3d engine. It only covers examples of 2D sprite engines.. BUT (and this is a big but).. those sprites use vertices, triangles, and texturing as a basic 3D engine would do it too, so it kinda redeemed itself for me. For instance, a sprite is rotated by applying a matrix.. and that is exactly the same process as advanced skinning animations do it in the top engines (plus all mesh manipulation really, even if you apply the values of the matrix via shaders on the GPU).. All the principles of 3D are there, but at the end of the book, Daniel points you in the direction of further reading, and lets you get on with it.

If you're new to game engines, and want a great read, and information that will show you exactly which steps to take next, then buy this book. If you don't have any memory of your A level maths lessons, this book will remind you. If you already know all about the math, and you're familiar with OpenGL and OpenAL, you won't get much here. but for me it turned out to be exactly what I needed, and I don't regret for a minute buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to both OpenGl and C#, 30 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. N. Sheehan "nick0062" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: C# Game Programming: For Serious Game Creation (Paperback)
Having read a brief introduction to C# online, I got this book simply to learn how to program a 3D engine. This book was excellent. Came with an unexpected CD with all the code used and utilities needed. It didn't matter that I was only begginer level at C# as everything was very clear and actually ended up teaching me programming as well as engine development.
I really liked the writing style as its more informal and fun, yet the code is explained really clearly with no corner cutting.
This is the only book I could find on programming in openGl and C#, but if you're like me and reguarly like to see the fruits of your programming on screen then this book is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some people just shouldn't write books, 7 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: C# Game Programming: For Serious Game Creation (Paperback)
I bought this book based upon the content listing, which I have to say does look very appealing. The general scope of the book is fine, but Daniel Schuller is not a natural writer, and more importantly, he is not a teacher. Within the first few pages you immediately get the impression that he does not quite know where he is going, writing about many of the more advanced topics of C# first, at the same time as attempting to explain some programming basics, such as the difference between references and values, which he does very badly. Most of the text is readable, but unclear, and so takes a lot of effort to crawl through the pages. This is not how a book should be constructed, and makes, what I believe to be an accessible and enjoyable field, difficult to comprehend at best.

Daniel - stick to programming. Leave the writing for writers, and those who have teaching talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

C# Game Programming: For Serious Game Creation
C# Game Programming: For Serious Game Creation by Daniel Schuller (Paperback - 16 Jun 2010)
£19.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews