Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a beginner
I bought this book knowing absolutely nothing about programming. It begins at the very start, with the basics and explains the concept of everything you learn. I haven't finished the book yet, but so far it has been great. It does have a website paired with it, that I thought was a little tricky to navigate, but that is only necissary in downloading python. Even then,...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by Clara

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, but not so great for Mac Users
I have only gone through the first few chapters, but the book seems well written and easy to follow for people who don't know much about computers.

However there are some problems with it. One major one is specific to Mac users. This book is written for people using a PC and using Python version 3. The biggest problem with this is that Macs come with Python...
Published 15 months ago by pigrah


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who are interested, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
For those who may be wondering, the book is written in Python 3 :) Its a great book from what I've done so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners to Python., 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I worked threw this book quite fast and it kept my interest mostly which is unique as I normally lose interest, FAST!. It starts out with all the basics on how to setup all the programs needed step by step and then goes into the basics of Python scripting.

After it gets you familiar to the Python code it then teachs you how to apply that code and create a GUI using the "tkinter" package which is great and will boost your confidence and motivation with Python.

Lastly it will introduce game programming threw a GUI using a modified pygame package, I would recommend skipping this and just learning Pygame, its alot more rewarding than using the modified package they teach and you will get alot more out of it as you will probably continue using Pygame far beyond this book.

Note: When I talk about packages I am refering to code created by other people to make things easier for you by allowing you to use their code of 100 lines by typing just 5 lines, more or less.

Thanks for reading. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE!, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
Wicked book! I have found it so useful for my uni assignments. =] It couldn't get any easier to learn python than this legendary book! =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Start, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I am a programmer turned teacher and now have my Raspberry Pi on order. I program a number of languages and I need to learn this to teach to my students. Good start and I'm getting there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to Python, 6 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
Although I haven,t been using this book for long, it seems to reflect it's previous reviews. Item itself was in good condition and received quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic foundation for all python users, 11 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
If you are interested in learning python, and already understand basic programming concepts, this is a great place to start. I learnt a great deal from this book and will continue to use it as a reference. The examples are useful and relevant which can often make or break these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 2 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
this is an easy to follow book , a great starting place for the beginner, I recommend this to anyone wishing to learn Python.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little labourious, 19 Nov 2013
By 
M. Webster - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
Had problems with the downloads and had to download Python from elsewhere.

The book is very slow in getting going and to be honest over complicates a lot of issues. It has pages on print which could be moved to a reference or later learning section
No use for kids as they will be very bored. I use it as a second reference now and use a different book which gets going a lot quicker and had my son programming in a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We have a problem..., 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
Ordered on the 3rd received 7 August...so far so good.

However the web links (@ [...] etc) are broken or the publisher has withdrawn support. You can download Python-3.1.msi (or v3.2.2) from the Python site - but that does not help you with the course material if you do not want to type it all in (xcross check your work for errors).

Noted that the earlier version(s) of the book included this on CD (see flash on book cover).

I expect the book contents are good but will rate as one until content material is restored/reprovided.

Final word of caution...whilst searching for alternative sources for this Dawson book out there found one or more web sites have a nasty trojan: just make sure your web antivirus is turned on.

T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a snake, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
Well I am getting a bit long in the tooth but I am fighting my way through this lot. Ugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner
Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner by Mike Dawson (Paperback - 31 Jan 2010)
14.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews